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Attorney General Austin Knudsen

Dear Future Driver,

Learning to drive is an important step toward adulthood. It will
give you a new independence, but it also brings responsibilities
you probably haven’t had before. When you get behind the
wheel, it's not just your safety that's on the line — the lives of your
passengers and fellow drivers are also in your hands.

Study this manual closely, as it contains the rules you'll need to
know to stay safe and out of trouble. You'll also find information
on how to obtain your driver’s license, what to do in case of
roadside emergencies, and how to check your vehicle before a
long trip.

So follow the way of the road — leave sooner, drive slower, stay
alert, and live longer.

Drive safely,

Austin

The Montana Driver Manual will give you information on safe driving rules and practices to help you become a safe
driver. Be sure to read the manual carefully. Unless you know the information that it contains, you cannot pass

the written and road tests.

This driver manual paraphrases Montana’s motor vehicle laws and is not intended to be a complete legal reference.
Courts go by the actual language of the Montana Code Annotated, not this text. Further information may be obtained
from: a public library, law enforcement agency, or driver examiner; the web site at www.mvdmt.gov; or, the Motor
Vehicle Division at P.O. Box 201430, Helena, MT 59620-1430 or 1-406-444-1772.

An adapted illustrated driver manual is available from the Office of Public Instruction on their website at http://www.
opi.mt.gov/Programs/DriverEd/ or by calling 1-406-444-4396.
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SAVE TIME - GO ONLINE

www.mvdmt.gov

The Motor Vehicle Division offers several online services for your
convenience:

Appointment Scheduling

Online appointment scheduling lets you schedule, view, edit, or cancel an appointment for driver
licensing services from the convenience of your computer 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Scheduling online also helps you avoid waiting on the phone when Customer Care Center lines
are busy.

Driver License Renewal

The length of a standard driver license (without REAL ID) has changed to 12 years (8 years with
REAL ID). Customers may renew their driver license online by meeting the following requirements:
Customer is a U.S. Citizen, between the ages of 21-63, Eligible for renewal (6 months prior or
within 1 year after expiration date), has a valid driver license, a license that has not been
suspended or revoked in any state, prior renewal was not online or by mail. The customer will also
need a photocopy of two acceptable forms of identification, an Eye Evaluation (22-1801), Medical
Evaluation (20-1900), Online/ Mail-in Renewal Standard Driver License (21-1900A). You can
access online services by visiting: https://cars.dojmt.gov/

Status Check

Enables customers to verify the current status of their Montana driver license. They may check the
license status, commercial status, Commercial Medical Examiner Certification (MEC) status by
entering the customer’s name, driver license number, last four digits of the customer’s SSN, and
the customer’s date of birth.

Vehicle Registration Renewal

Enables customers to renew their vehicle registration online by entering the title number, vehicle
identification number (VIN), or vehicle number (found on newer titles). This service is available to
the public.

Vehicle Search

Allows users to instantly search for and view vehicle record information including owner
information, title history, and registration information. This is available to businesses and the
public.
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Authorized users can instantly view driver record information by validating their user information
and entering the name, driver license number, and birth date of the driver whose record they are
requesting. The records do not display the driver’'s Social Security number, address, or any
previous driver license numbers. The service is available to anyone who has a Montana driver
license or state-issued identification card. Available to the public and to authorized businesses
such as insurance agencies and trucking companies that routinely request large numbers of
driving records.

Temporary Registration Permits
Available to Montana vehicle dealers, vehicle services staff in County Treasurer offices, and the
Title and Registration Bureau.

Fillable Forms & Downloadable Manuals

More than 80 forms and manuals are available at no cost on the MVD website (www.mvdmt.gov).
Most forms can be filled out on your computer.
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Chapter 1 - The Priver License

CHAPTER 1 - THE DRIVER LICENSE

» DRIVER LICENSING QUICK REFERENCE

Drivers must always have a valid Montana driver license in their possession and motorcycle endorsements are
required to operate a motorcycle or motor scooter.

New residents must apply to convert their valid license within 60 consecutive days (30 consecutive days for
commercial). Written, vision, and a road test are required for your firstlicense.

A basic driver license (Class D) is valid for a maximum of four to eight years, typically expiring on the holder’s
birthday.

For residents under 21 years old, the minimum age for a license is 16 years (15 years with driver education) and

is valid until 21st birthday.

Fees: To see exact fees, refer to Fee Section on Page 8 (https://mvdmt.gov/licensing-fees).

Starting January 1, 2018 there will be a 3% administrative fee on all motor vehicle transactions. This does not apply
to county retained fees.

Pay for a license at a MVD Driver License Station. Full and current fee list available at https://mvdmt.gov/licensing-
fees/. Pay by cash, check, or credit/debit card (excluding AMEX).

For online scheduling* visit https://cars.dojmt.gov/.

It is mandatory to have and carry evidence of vehicle liability insurance on the vehicle being operated.

m *Appointment Scheduling

Appointments are available at all driver license station locations; likewise, some driver license stations require
scheduled appointments.

e Visit https://cars.dojmt.gov/ and click Appointment Scheduling to determine if a station in your area offers an
online appointment scheduling service. If so, you may schedule your appointment online from this site. At
participating stations, appointments are required for all services except Montana license renewal and Montana
license replacement.

m Driver Licensing Identity Verification

Your identity is important. Identity theft is now the top-reported form of crime in the United States. The name and birth
date on your application for a driver license or ID card must match the primary document you provide and will be
checked with the Social Security Administration. This is to help protect you against fraud. It's important to fix
discrepancies now to avoid problems in the future for you and your family. You will need to provide your Social
Security number when applying for a Montana driver license or ID card. Please make sure the full legal name and
date of birth you're going to use on your application for a driver license or ID card matches what is on file
with the Social Security Administration.

» TYPES OF MONTANA LICENSES, PERMITS, AND ENDORSEMENTS

m Class D Standard Driver License (non-commercial license)

A Class D basic driver license allows you to drive any non-commercial vehicle under 26,000 pounds gross vehicle
weight.

In order to obtain your license, you need to pass the vision, written, and road tests. You may not have to test if you
hold a valid license from another jurisdiction.

m Commercial Driver License (CDL)

The operator of a commercial vehicle must have a Montana Commercial Driver License (CDL). To obtain a license,
you will need to pass the vision and written tests as well as a road test in the size of vehicle you wish to drive. To
prepare for the CDL (Class A, B, or C), you will need to study a copy of the Commercial Driver License Manual
[https://mvdmt.gov/forms-driver-license/].

If you want to obtain a CDL, there are other requirements listed in the CDL manual.
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Chapter 1 - The Driver License

m Identification (ID) Card

Any person who is a Montana resident and has a valid driver license from a jurisdiction other than Montana is not
eligible for a Montana identification card. You must provide proof of full legal name, authorized presence, address, and
birth date (a list of acceptable documents starts on page 4), pay the appropriate fee, and have your photo taken.

The card is valid for four or eight years.

m Learner License

“Learner license” is a general term that includes the following:
m Traffic Education Permit (TEP)

A TEP allows a student who is enrolled in a state-approved traffic education course* to operate a motor vehicle during
traffic education training, while under the direct supervision of a traffic education instructor.

The TEP is only valid for the period in which the student is enrolled in the course.
B Learner license issued in traffic education

A learner license may be issued to any person who is at least 14 % years of age and who is participating in or
successfully completed a traffic education course* approved by the Department of Justice and the Superintendent of
Public Instruction.

A learner license is good for the operation of a Class D vehicle when accompanied by a licensed driver education
instructor, parent or legal guardian, or other adult with parent or guardian permission occupying the seat beside the
driver.

Contact your local high school for details regarding state-approved traffic educationcourses*.
m Learner license

A learner license is good for the operation of a Class D vehicle when accompanied by a licensed driver education
instructor, parent or legal guardian, or other adult with parent or guardian permission occupying the seat beside the
driver.

To be eligible for a learner license, the applicant must be at least 16 years of age (without traffic education) or 15
years of age and successfully completed an approved driver education course*. To obtain the learner license, the
applicant will be required to present the appropriate documents (identification, authorized presence, proof of Montana
residence), pay the licensing fees, and pass the written test and vision test at the driver exam station.

If the teenage driver is under the age of 18, he/she must have a consent form signed by a parent, guardian or
responsible adult before testing may begin. Signing obligates the parent, guardian, or responsible adult to accept
financial responsibility for any damage resulting from the minor’s operation of a motor vehicle. The licensing receipt is
good for one year from the date it is purchased.

Learner license permits are issued when the primary written test for the license type is passed and are valid for one
year.

The learner license must be used for six consecutive months by any new driver under 18 years old.

*Note: Traffic education courses must be approved by the Office of Public Instruction and the Department of
Justice. Online or 3" party traffic education courses are not approved. Contact your local school district for details
regarding traffic education.”

m Motorcycle Endorsement

A motorcycle endorsement is necessary to operate a motorcycle or any motorized two-wheel vehicle on public
roadways. A three-wheel vehicle does not require an endorsement.

To be eligible for a motorcycle endorsement you must hold or be eligible for a basic driver license. You must pay the
licensing fee and pass the vision, written and road tests.

To prepare for the written test, you will need to study the Motorcycle Operator Manual
[https://mvdmt.gov/forms-driver-license/].

The road test may be waived if you have successfully completed and passed a Montana Motorcycle Safety
Foundation (MSF) course in the past year and provide a Montana MSF certificate upon application. Find out more at
motorcycle.msun.edu and learn how to be a safe, responsible rider. You may also call 1-800-922-2453 for more
information.

The written and road tests may be waived if you are converting an out-of-state license with a motorcycle endorsement.
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m Motorcycle Learner License
A motorcycle learner license is obtained by paying the licensing fee and passing the motorcycle written test.
The motorcycle learner license is valid for one year.

Licensees must have immediate possession of their motorcycle learner license and be under the immediate and
proximate supervision of a licensed driver who has a motorcycle endorsement.

m REAL ID

Through the REAL ID Act, passed by Congress in 2005, The Federal Government established a minimum-security
standard for state issued identification, such as driver licenses. All other forms of ID that do not meet the standards
set by the Federal Government as REAL ID cannot be accepted to board commercial flights.

In 2017, the Montana Legislature passed SB 366 authorized Montana to issue REAL ID compliant credentials. MVD is
acquiring the necessary equipment and staff to issue REAL ID complaint credentials, and will start issuing compliant
credentials starting January, 2019. Montana received an extension from the Department of Homeland Security until
June 1, 2019.

After May 3, 2023, all travelers boarding domestic, commercial flights within the U.S. will need a REAL ID compliant
license or ID card or acceptable alternative form of identification approved by TSA.

REAL ID license or ID cards are valid for 8 years. Standard license or ID cards are valid for 12 years.
For more information and current updates, visit https://mvdmt.gov/real-id/.

» WHO CAN APPLY FOR MONTANA LICENSES

You cannot apply for, be issued, or retain a Montana driver license if you are suspended or revoked in any other state
or jurisdiction.
You can obtain a driver license if you:
Are 18 years of age or older:
m are able to submit acceptable documentation toprove:

0 Authorized Presence (see page 4)

o ldentity (see page 4)

0 Residency (see page 6)
B pass the required driver license tests
®m turnin any other driverlicenses
m pass the needed medical requirements for the type of driver license desired
m have not been found by a court to be mentally incompetent, alcoholic, or a habitual user of illegal drugs
Are under 18 years of age:
m If minor is 16 years old -OR- is 15 years old and successfully completes a state-approved traffic educationprogram

(online courses are not approved)

B have parent, guardian, or responsible adult consent for licensure and accepting financial responsibility
m Submit acceptable documentation toprove:

0 Authorized Presence (see page 4)

o ldentity (see page 4)

0 Residency (see page 6)

Note: Refer to the Graduated Driver License section on page 6 of this manual for complete requirements.

m New Residents

If you move to Montana from another state and establish a permanent residence here, you must obtain a Montana
driver license (if you have a commercial driver license, refer to the Commercial Driver License Manual
[https://mvdmt.gov/forms-driver-license/]).

If you have a valid driver license issued by the jurisdiction you moved from, you can use it for up to 60 consecutive
days, after which you must surrender it and qualify for a Montana license. Out-of-state drivers who hold a valid out-of-
state license, and have it in their immediate possession, may exchange their basic driver license for a Montana driver
license without a written or road test.

Applicants who may lack functional ability to safely operate a motor vehicle on the highway may be required to
complete written and road tests. You may have only one valid driver license, issued by any licensing jurisdiction, at
any time.
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m Military
Active-duty military personnel and their dependents may retain their valid out-of-state license and drive in Montana
unless they become gainfully employed. If employment is secured, a Montana license must be obtained. Military
personnel who present an active-duty military card and who otherwise meet Montana driver licensing requirements
will be issued a driver license with a standard license term, typically eight years, and the notation for military
exemption on the back of the license: “Valid for 90 days after honorable discharge.” Once the military exemption has
been added to the driver license, the holder may apply to renew the driver license outside the usual “six months
before and up to one year after” renewal window.

A licensee who has a military exemption may apply to renew that license at any time throughout their ongoing military
service. Those who have the military exemption may drive on that license for up to 90 days after honorable separation
from the military.

A driver has a grace period of 1 year after the expiration date (90 days after honorable discharge) to renew to avoid
the penalty of testing.

You may have only one valid driver license issued by any licensing jurisdiction at any time.

m Veteran Designation

Starting January 1, 2014: If you are a veteran and want the designation on your driver license or ID card, contact your
Montana Veterans Affairs Division for details, or visit https://mvdmt.gov/military-resources/.

» PROOF OF AUTHORIZED PRESENCE, IDENTITY, & RESIDENCE

All applicants for a Montana driver license or identification (ID) card must provide the required documents
from gach of the following three categories. REAL ID requires specific steps and documents explained on

page 7. For a current list of acceptable documents, visit https://mvdmt.gov/required-documents/

1. PROOF OF AUTHORIZED PRESENCE

Applicants for a Montana driver license or ID card must provide proof that their presence in the United States is
authorized under federal law — that is, they must prove that they are either a U.S. citizen or legally authorized to be in
the U.S.

Per § 61-5-105, MCA, in order to issue a Montana driver license or ID card to a foreign national, their authorized
presence in the U.S. will be verified using the federal Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements (SAVE) system
(see www.uscis.gov/save). A driver license issued to a person who is a foreign national and whose presence in the
U.S. is temporarily authorized must expire no later than the expiration date of the official document issued to the
person by the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS).

Below is a list of acceptable documentation:

m an original or certified copy of a birth certificate issued by a U.S. jurisdiction. (To obtain a certified copy of your
birth certificate, contact VitalChek [www.vitalchek.com] or, for Montana birth certificates, the Office of Vital
Statistics [www.dphhs.mt.gov].)

m a certification from the U.S. Department of State or a U.S. embassy of the birth abroad of a U.S. citizen (Consular
Report of Birth Abroad, form FS-240 or Certification of Report of Birth, form DS-1350)
m avalid, unexpired passport issued by the U.S. Department of State
a valid, unexpired passport card, issued by the U.S. Department of State
m avalid, unexpired passport issued by a jurisdiction other than the U.S. with:
0 an attached U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) record of arrival and departure (form 1-94)
(same name with an unexpired endorsement of the nonimmigrant status)
OR
0 an unexpired permanent resident I-551 stamp
m avalid, unexpired certificate of naturalization (form N-550, N-570 or N-578)
m avalid, unexpired certificate of citizenship (form N-560, N-561 orN-645)
m avalid, unexpired Northern Mariana card (form 1-551) with “Northern Mariana” imprinted instead of “permanent
resident”
m avalid, unexpired American Indian card (form 1-551) with “American Indian” imprinted instead of “permanent
resident”
m avalid, unexpired U.S. Citizen identification card (form 1-179 or 1-197)
m avalid, unexpired permanent resident card (formI-551)
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m avalid, unexpired temporary resident identification card (form|-688)

m avalid, unexpired U.S. re-entry permit (form1-327)

m avalid, unexpired refugee travel document (form1-571)

m avalid, unexpired employment authorization card (form 1-688A, 1-688B or|-766)

m avalid, unexpired record of arrival and departure, stamped “refugee” (form 1-94) without a valid passport but
stamped “refugee” with a photo affixed

m adigital identification card issued to the applicant by a federally recognized Native American Tribe, whose

reservation is located in Montana, that contains a digitized image of the applicant, the applicant’s date of birth and
tribal enrollment number

2. PROOF OF IDENTITY

If you are applying for a Montana ID card or driver license, you will need to bring in the following documentation to
prove FULL LEGAL NAME, DATE OF BIRTH, and MONTANA RESIDENCE:

m Proof of Full Legal Name and Date of Birth

You must provide two documents—either two primary documents, or one primary and one secondary document
listed—to an examiner at a Montana driver license station to show proof of Full Legal Name and Date of Birth.

Primary Documents can include:

m a color photo driver license or identification card, not expired for more than four years, issued by a U.S. or
Canadian jurisdiction

m a certified birth certificate issued by a U.S. or Canadian jurisdiction

Note: a certified birth certificate typically has the registrar’s unique seal (e.g., raised, embossed, impressed or multi-

colored), the registrar’s signature and the date the certificate was filed with the registrar’s office

m a certification from the U.S. Department of State or a U.S. embassy of the birth abroad of a U.S. citizen (Consular
Report of Birth Abroad, form FS-240 or Certification of Report of Birth, form DS-1350)

m adigital identification card issued to the applicant by a federally recognized Indian tribe whose reservation is
located in Montana, that contains the applicant’s digitized image, date of birth and tribal enrollment number

B an unexpired military identification card issued by the U.S. Department of Defense (active duty, reserve, retired
personnel or dependent of active-duty personnel) that contains a color photo or digitized image of the applicant
and the applicant’s date of birth

m avalid, unexpired passport issued by the U.S. Department of State

m avalid, unexpired passport card issued by the U.S. Department of State

m avalid, unexpired passport issued by a jurisdiction other than the U.S. and either:

0 an attached U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) record of arrival and departure, form 1-94
(same name with an unexpired endorsement of the nonimmigrant status) or
0 an unexpired resident permanent resident I-551 stamp
m one of the following valid, unexpired documents issued by the USCIS:
o Certificate of Naturalization, form N-550, N-570 orN-578

Certificate of Citizenship, form N-560, N-561 or N-645

Northern Mariana card, form I-551 with “Northern Mariana” imprinted instead of “permanent resident”

American Indian card, form 1-551 with “American Indian” imprinted instead of “permanentresident”

U.S. citizen identification card, form 1-179 or 1-197

permanent resident card, form [-551

temporary Resident Identification card, form 1-688

U.S. re-entry permit, form [-327

refugee travel document, form I-571

employment authorization card, form [-688A, 1-688B or I-766, or

record of arrival and departure, stamped “refugee”, form 1-94 without a valid passport but stamped “refugee”

with a photo affixed

B a U.S. or Canadian-issued instruction, learner’s driving permit or receipt of driver license or permit, if it is current
and contains the applicant’s photo and date ofbirth

m aPrison Inmate Identification card issued to the applicant by the Montana Department of Corrections that contains
a photo or digitized image of the applicant and the applicant’s date of birth and adult offender number

B an emergency identification photo issued and certified by the driver licensing authority of a U.S. or Canadian juris-
diction that includes the applicant’'s name and date of birth - not acceptable for mail renewals or mail duplicate

O O0OO0O0OO0OO0OO0OO0O0Oo

Secondary Documents can include:
B asecond primary document
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3.

an original U.S. Social Security card or Canadian social insurance card

a certified copy of a marriage certificate or license issued by a government jurisdiction

a U.S. or Canadian driver license or identification card that has been expired for more than one year but not more
than five years

a current U.S. or Canadian government jurisdiction employee photo identification card

a U.S. or Canadian driver license or identification card that is current but does not have a color photograph

a certified copy of a court order or judgment from a U.S. or Canadian court of competent jurisdiction containing
the applicant’s full legal name and date of birth

any USCIS document approved as a primary document, but that is not expired for more than one year

a certified copy of a birth certificate issued by a jurisdiction other than by a state, territory, or possession of the
United States, the District of Columbia, or the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico or a province or territory of Canada
a certification of release of discharge issued by the U.S. Department of Defense

a Medicare, Medicaid or health insurance card with the applicant’'s name and individual Medicare, Medicaid or
health insurance identification number

an unexpired, color photo firearm or concealed weapon permit issued by a chief of police in an organized, full-time
police department or the county Sheriff in a local jurisdiction within the U.S.

a current pilot’s license issued by the U.S. Department of Transportation, Federal Aviation Administration

a certified copy of school records or a transcript containing the applicant’s full name and, preferably, date of birth
and issued by an elementary, secondary or postsecondary school

a certificate of completion of a Montana department-approved traffic or driver education course containing the
applicant’'s name and date of birth

a current school photo identification card with the student’'s name and student identification number

a certified copy, fax or photocopy of a certified copy of the birth certificate of the applicant’s child, if the certificate
lists the applicant’s name and date of birth as parent

PROOF OF MONTANA RESIDENCE

Upon original application for a driver license or identification card, an applicant must present evidence of the
applicant’'s Montana residence address. If the applicant does not receive mail at the residence or street address, a
Montana post office box or mailing address also must be provided. The department accepts the following documents
as evidence of a Montana residence address, provided the document shows the applicant’s name and Montana
residence address as it appears on the driver license application. (Bring in one of the following documents to prove
your residential address.)

any primary or secondary document as listed in Administrative Rules of Montana 23.3.131
a U.S. or Montana income tax return for the previousyear
a Montana Voter Registration card
a receipt for personal or real property taxes paid within the last year to the state of Montana or a Montana county
a current automobile or life insurance policy or statement
a certified copy of school records issued by the school the applicant is attending or attended within four months of
the application
a written statement from the applicant’s parent, guardian, responsible adult or adult child that the applicant
resides at the same address as the parent, guardian, responsible adult or adult child, along with a copy of a
document permitted under this rule that shows the Montana residential address of the applicant’s parent,
guardian, responsible adult or adult child
the original copy of a rental agreement or rent payment receipt signed by the landlord or rental agent that includes
the applicant’'s name and residentialaddress
home mortgage or equity loan papers showing the applicant’s name and residential address — a rural address will
be accepted when there is no other physicaladdress
any of the following, dated or issued not more than four months prior to application:

o0 a payroll check or payroll check stub

0 a bank statement

o a utility bill or utility hook-up order

0 canceled mail addressed to the applicant
if the applicant is homeless, a descriptive address of the location where the applicant actually resides, e.g., “under
the west end of the East Street bridge.” The applicant must also provide a separate mailing address and present
a written statement from a social service agency on the agency'’s letterhead verifying the applicant's homeless
status and the descriptive address given by theapplicant
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» REAL ID REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION

All applicants for a Montana REAL ID driver license or ID card must provide the required documents from
each of the following three steps. Some additional steps may apply to customers based on their situation. All
documents must be unaltered. Some documents must be certified by the issuing agency. MVD must verify
some documents. Turn to page 87 for the REAL ID checklist of all acceptable documents. To download the
checklist or for a current list of acceptable documents, visit https://mvdmt.gov/real-id/.

STEP 1: NAME, DATE OF BIRTH AND AUTHORIZED PRESENCE

Applicants for a Montana REAL ID driver license or ID card must provide proof that their presence in the United States
is authorized under federal law — that is, they must prove that they are either a U.S. citizen or legally authorized to be in
the U.S. They must also prove their current legal name and date of birth. For a current list of acceptable documents,
visit https://mvdmt.gov/real-id/.

STEP 2: SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

Applicants must prove they have been issued a social security number (SSN). This number will be checked through the
Social Security Administration. The provided document must have the applicant’s full SSN and name displayed on it.
For a current list of acceptable documents, visit https://mvdmt.gov/real-id/.

STEP 3. MONTANA RESIDENCY

Applicants must prove their Montana residency by establishing a residential address or physical location. Residency
requires two acceptable documents, and all documents must have the applicant’'s name, current physical address and
be unexpired or dated within one year of expiration. Documents may be the same type (such as two postmarked, first-
class mail listing the applicants name and residential address). For a current list of acceptable documents,
https://mvdmt.gov/real-id/.

ADDITIONAL: DOCUMENT ALL NAME CHANGES

This additional step may not apply to all applicants. Applicants must prove legal name changes when the current legal
name does not match the documents submitted in Step 1 or 2. The applicant must prove the legal name change(s)
back to the original legal name displayed on required documents. For a current list of acceptable documents, visit
https://mvdmt.gov/real-id/.

» GRADUATED DRIVER LICENSING (GDL) PROGRAM

The Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) program is a three-step progressive program that allows new drivers under 18
to develop and improve their driving skills in the safest environment possible. Motor vehicle crashes are the leading
cause of death and injury for teenagers because teens lack driving experience. All new drivers — even honor roll
students and “good kids” — are more likely than experienced drivers to be involved in crashes due to driver errors,
scanning, and speed. The GDL program limits the number of passengers and driving in the dark, which helps reduce
the crash risk for teen drivers.

Each step is designed to progressively increase the skills, privileges, and responsibilities of a new driver. The GDL
program includes an instruction permit, first-year restricted license, and full-privilege driver license.

A person cannot apply for, be issued, or retain a Montana driver license if he/she is suspended or revoked in any
other state or jurisdiction.

GDL Step 1: Instruction Permit — Driving with Supervision
Requirements:

B Supervised Driving Practice:
0 Teen drivers must acquire at least 50 hours of supervised driving experience, including 10 hours at night
for a minimum of six months.
o Adriver with a learner license must be supervised by a licensed parent, guardian, responsible adult, or a
licensed adult driver who is authorized by the parent, guardian, or responsible adult.

B Seatbelt Use: Everyone in the vehicle must wear a seatbelt.
m No Alcohol or Drug Use: The teen driver must not receive any traffic violations or alcohol/drug offenses in the six-
month period before advancing to GDL Step 2: First-Year Restricted License.
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m Permit Prerequisites:
0 The teen driver must:
= Pass the required driver license writtentest.
= Turn in any other driver licenses.
= Pass the needed medical requirements for the type of driver license desired.
= Have not been found by a court to be mentally incompetent, alcoholic, or a habitual user of illegal drugs.
m Permit Types and Age Requirements:

1. Ateenager may obtain a learner license as early as 14 % years old only if he/she is participating in
or has successfully completed a state-approved traffic education program (online courses are not
approved).

2. Ateenager may obtain a learner license from a driver exam station if he/she is 16 years old OR is 15
years old and successfully completes a state-approved traffic education program (online courses are
not approved).

= Ateenager under 18 must hold a learner license for a minimum of six consecutive months before applying
for a first-year restricted license.
= The learner license is valid for up to one year.

GDL Step 2: First-Year Restricted License

Once all of the requirements of GDL Step 1 are satisfied, the teenager may obtain a first-year restricted license. To do
this, the teenager will need to pay for all associated fees and bring all required documents, including the completed
“Graduated Driver Licensing Parent/Legal Guardian/Responsible Adult Certification” form, to the driver exam station
(see https://mvdmt.gov/new-driver-license/). Initially, the driver license will show a restriction code on the front and
back. This restriction will remain on the driver license for one year. A teenager’s highest lifetime crash risk is in the
first months of solo driving and first 2000 miles. Restrictions on night driving and passengers help reduce risk.
Restrictions of the first-year restricted license:
m Seatbelts Required: Everyone in the vehicle must wear a seatbelt.
m Night Driving: Fatal crashes are more likely to occur at night for all ages, but the risk is highest for teenagers.
0 Teenage drivers with a restricted driver license may not drive between 11:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. There are
limited exceptions to this rule, including:
= emergencies, farm-related activities, travel to and from school, church, or work and specific, parent,
guardian, or responsible adult-authorized purposes
= |aw enforcement officials may contact the parent, guardian, or responsible adult of the teen driver to verify
the purpose for
which he/she is authorized to drive between the time restrictions.
m Passengers: Crash risk increases when teens drive with teen passengers.
0 One passenger: For the first six months, unless supervised by a licensed adult driver, a teenage drivermay
have only one unrelated passenger under the age of 18 in the vehicle.
0 More passengers: For the second six months, unless supervised by a licensed adult driver, a teenage driver

may have three unrelated passengers under the age of 18 in thevehicle.
Penalties for any step 2 first-year restricted license violations
If a restricted driver violates any of the license restrictions, he/she will be penalized.
m First Offense: Between 20 to 60 hours of community service.
m Second Offense: Suspension of the teenager’s driver license for six months.

GDL Step 3: Full-Privilege Driver License

The first-year restricted license restrictions automatically end on the date indicated on the back of the teenager’'s
driver license, or when the individual turns 18 years old, whichever occurs first. Once the teenager reaches Step 3,
his/her driver license confers full privileges.

» FEES/RECEIPTS

The length of time a driver license will be valid determines the fees you will pay. The length of a driver license

depends on several factors including:

m If you are under the age of 21, your license expires on your 21sthirthday

m If you are between the ages of 21 and 75, your license expires on your birthday eight years or less after the date of
issuance or on your 75th birthday, whichever occurs first

m If you are 75 years of age or older, your license expires on your birthday four years or less after the date of
issuance

m Aforeign national’s license expires on the expiration of their legal presence documents
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Chapter 1 - The Driver License

The fees for a Montana license and/or identification card are*:

m Any Class D basic license or a learner license listed...........cccvvviiiiiiieie i $5.00 per year
I Vo] (o] {0y [ =T oo [ ] 67=1 0 0 =1 o | USSP $0.50 per year
B Mail renewal NOLIfICALION FEE........iiiiiii i $0.50
m Identification (ID) card for residents 21 and Older...........ccccuiiiiiiie e $16.00
m Identification (ID) card for residents UNAEr 21.........ccccuuiiiiiiieieee s ee e e e e e e s snnreeee e e $8.00
B ReplaCemMENt ICEBNSE .. ...ttt e e e e e e e s e $10.00

*Fees in this manual are subject to change. Starting January 1, 2018, a 3% administrative fee will be added to all
MVD products and services. For a current and complete list of fees, go online to https://mvdmt.gov/licensing-fees/ or
call 1-406-444-1772.

Driver license receipts are valid for one year. For those testing, the receipt allows the applicant three attempts within
that year to successfully pass all required examinations. Receipts are not renewable. If the licensing process is
not completed within one year, the applicant will need to re-apply and start the licensing process over.

» REAL ID FEES

m Change a Montana license or ID card during renewal cycle
o Customers who are eligible for renewal (6 months before and up to 1 year after expiration date) will pay
an extra $25.00 for REAL ID in addition to regular license fees (vary by type).
m Change a Montana license to REAL ID outside of renewal cycle
o Customers who are not eligible for renewal (more than six months before expiration date) will pay a
REAL ID fee of $25.00 in addition to the replacement fee of $10.30.
m New Montana REAL ID driver license
o Customers applying for a new Montana REAL ID driver license will pay a REAL ID fee of $25.00 in
addition to regular license fees (applies to out-of-state license transfers or first-time drivers).
m Renew or replace an existing Montana REAL ID license
o Customers renewing or replacing their current Montana REAL ID will pay a REAL ID fee of $25.00 in
addition to regular license fees.

» DRIVER LICENSE RENEWAL

You may renew your license up to six months before the expiration date of your license. If your license has expired it
is not valid for operation of a motor vehicle; however, a renewal may be completed within 1 year after the expiration
without retesting. Your privilege to drive ends when your license expires if you do not renew it. If you are found
driving after the expiration date, you are driving in violation of the law and you could receive a citation.

If your license has been expired for more than one year, you must reapply as a new driver. You will need to
provide acceptable documentation to prove identity, residency and authorized presence; you will also be
required to pass all applicable licensing tests. Also, make sure the full legal name and date of birth you're
going to use on your application for a driver license or ID card matches what is on file with the Social
Security Administration.

In order to renew your driver license, you must present the proper identification (the list starts on page 4), pay the
appropriate fee, make a personal appearance at an exam station, pass the vision test, and have a new photo taken.
Applicants who may lack functional ability to safely operate a motor vehicle on the highway may be required to
complete written and road tests.

A person may not apply for, be issued, or retain a Montana driver license if he/she is suspended or revoked in
Montana or any other state and/or jurisdiction.
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Chapter 1 - The Driver License

» LOST OR DESTROYED LICENSES

If your license is lost or destroyed, you may apply for a replacement at your local licensing station. You will be required
to pay a $10 fee and present the proper identification (the list starts on page 4) to verify your full legal name and date of
birth. This identification is needed not only to establish your identity, but also to ensure no one else obtains a
replacement license in your name.

» CHANGE OF ADDRESS

To make sure your driver license is kept current, you must notify the Driver Services Bureau of the Department of
Justice within 10 days of any change of address. Forms for this purpose can be obtained at https://mvdmt.gov/forms-
driver-license/, from most County Treasurers, a Montana Highway Patrol trooper, or any driver license examiner. This
is important, as the licensing authority may wish to contact you regarding your driver license at any time. If they are
unable to contact you, you could lose your driving privilege because you were not aware of orders or requirements
that affect your privilege to drive.

» NAME CHANGE

To change the legal name on your license with the Montana Motor Vehicle Division, you need to complete the

appropriate application and present one of the following documents:

m a certified copy of the applicant’s marriage certificate from the issuing government jurisdiction

m a certified copy of a decree or judgment granting a name change from a court of competent jurisdiction

m a certified copy of a divorce decree or dissolution of marriage granted the applicant that specifies the change of
name required

m a certified copy of a Department of Homeland Security (DHS), U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
(USCIS), certificate of naturalization (Forms N-550, N-570) issued to the applicant

Also, make sure the full legal name and date of birth you're going to use on your application matches what is
on file with the Social Security Administration.

» DRIVER LICENSE STATIONS & APPOINTMENTS

For the locations and hours of Montana'’s driver license Stations, visit https://mvdmt.gov/driver-license-exam-stations/.

All driver license stations require scheduled appointments. To schedule your appointment online, visit
https://cars.dojmt.gov/
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Chapter 1 - The Driver License

CHAPTER 1 QUIZ

1. If you move, you must report your change of address to the Driver Services Bureau within:

A. 2 weeks
B. 15days
C. 10days
D. 1 month

2. When signing for their child under 18 years of age, parents, guardians or responsible adults are indicating
that:

Their child has passed a driver education course.

Their child is a careful driver.

They are affirming their child’s correct date of birth.

They are accepting financial responsibility for any damage that results from the minor operating a motor

vehicle.

00w

3. What is the earliest a Montana driver license can be renewed prior to the license expiration date?

A. 3 months
B. 6 months
C. 9 months
D. 12 months
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Chapter 1 - The Driver License

CHAPTER 2 - MOTOR VEHICLE EQUIPMENT

It is up to you to decide if you are physically and/or mentally capable of driving safely. Before you drive, make sure
that your trip is needed. If you drive, your safety and that of the public depends a lot on what you do before driving,
including adjusting your seat and mirrors, using safety belts, checking your vehicle, maintaining a clear view, and
securing the vehicle.

» TRIP PLANNING

The best way to save on fuel and prolong the life of your car is to use it as little as possible. Trip planning can make
your life easier and help cut down on your driving.

Take public transportation when it is available.

Avoid driving during heavy traffic. It causes extra wear and tear on you and the vehicle.

Use carpools or share rides whenever possible.

Plan and then combine your errands; this will cut down on the number of trips you need to take. Make a list of the
things you need and the places you need to go. Go to as many places as possible on any one trip. Take the
shortest distance between places. Try to reduce the number of places you need to go.

m Call ahead to make sure that they have what you need or that what you are picking up is ready.

By doing these things, you can help cut down on the amount of traffic on the road, cut your travel costs, and save
yourself time and effort.

» CHECK THE VEHICLE

How safely you can drive starts with the vehicle you are driving and what condition it is in. It is the duty of drivers to
make certain that the vehicles they drive are safe to operate. A vehicle that is in bad shape is unsafe and costs more
to run than one that is maintained; it can break down or cause a collision. However, if a vehicle is in good shape, it
can give you an extra safety margin when you need it; you never know when you will need it.

You should follow your vehicle owner’s manual for routine maintenance. Some you can do yourself, some need to be
done by a qualified mechanic.

A few simple checks will prevent trouble on the road.

m Braking System

Only your brakes can stop your vehicle properly. It is very dangerous if they are not in good working order. When your
brakes are making a lot of noise, smell funny, or the brake pedal goes to the floor, have a mechanic check them.

m Lights

Make sure that turn signals, brake lights, taillights, and headlamps are operating properly. These should be checked
from outside the vehicle. Brake lights tell other road users that you are stopping. Turn signals tell them you are
turning. Driving with headlights on all the time helps other drivers see your vehicle during the day and at night.

An out-of-line headlight can shine where it does not help you and may blind other drivers. If you are having trouble
seeing at night, or other drivers are flashing their headlights at you frequently, have a mechanic check the headlights.
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m Windshield and Wipers

Keep your windshield clear so you can focus on the road ahead. Damaged glass blocks your view of the road and can
more easily break in a minor collision or when something hits the windshield. Have the windshield replaced if the
glass is damaged.

Windshield wipers keep the rain and snow off the windshield. Make sure they are in good operating condition. If the
blades have not been working well, replace them. Remove snow and ice from all windows before you drive to
clear your view of the road.

m Tires

Worn or bald tires can increase your stopping distance and make turning more difficult when the road is wet.
Unbalanced tires and low pressure cause faster tire wear, reduce fuel economy, and make the vehicle harder to steer
and stop. If the vehicle bounces, the steering wheel shakes, or the vehicle pulls to one side, have a mechanic check
it.

Worn tires can cause hydroplaning and increase the chance of having a blow out during a trip. Check the tire air
pressure with an air pressure gauge when the tires are cold. Check the vehicle owner’s manual for the proper
pressure.

Check the tread with a penny. Stick the penny into the tread “head” first. If the tread does not come at least to
Abraham Lincoln’s head, the tire is unsafe, and you need to replace it.

m Steering System

If the steering is not working properly, it is difficult to control the direction you want to go. If the vehicle is hard to turn
or does not turn when the steering wheel is first turned, have the steering checked by a mechanic.

m Suspension System

Your suspension keeps your vehicle balanced, helps you control your vehicle, and provides a comfortable ride over
varying road surfaces. If the vehicle bounces a lot, keeps bouncing after a bump or after you stop, you may need new
shocks or other suspension parts. Have a mechanic check it out.

m Exhaust System

The exhaust system helps remove toxic gases from the engine, helps reduce the noise from the engine, and helps
cool the hot gases coming from running the engine. Fumes from a leaky exhaust can cause death in a very short time.
It can also make you drowsy while driving. Never run the motor in your garage. Never sit in the car with the motor
running without opening a window.

Luckily, most exhaust problems are leaks, which are easily heard; have them fixed.

m Engine
A poorly tuned engine may lose power that is needed for normal driving and emergencies, may not start, gets
poor fuel economy, pollutes the air, and could die on you when you are on the road, causing you and other traffic
a problem. Follow the procedures recommended in the owner’s manual for maintenance.

m LooseObjects

Make sure that there are no packages or other objects on the rear shelf or back seat that could hit someone on the
head in the event of a sudden stop or crash. Make sure there are no objects on the floor that could roll under the
brake pedal so that you cannot slow or stop the vehicle.

m Horn

The horn may not seem like it would be important for safety, but as a warning device it could save your life. It only
should be used as a warning to others.
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» MOTOR VEHICLE EQUIPMENT

Montana law requires that certain equipment be installed on all motor vehicles and that certain vehicles, such as
larger trucks and trailers, have lighting and other equipment not needed on passenger cars. The equipment that is
required on every vehicle is listed below, followed by a listing for each type of vehicle that requires special or
additional equipment.

When the law specifies a level of performance for the equipment (the distance lights must be visible, etc.), that level

is listed. For more detailed information on topics such as the equipment location on the vehicle or specific installation
requirements, refer to § 61-9, MCA. Generally, copies of Montana law are also available for reference in each county
courthouse and mostlibraries.

m Headlights & Tail Lights

Drive with headlights on for safety so other vehicles can see you.

Vehicles manufactured after January 1, 1956, must emit white or amber light to the front and red or amber light to the
rear, visible for 500 feet. Headlights and tail lights may not be tinted, covered by, or treated with a tinted or colored
material, substance, system, or component unless part of the original or optional equipment is in compliance with
federal manufacturers’ regulations.

Headlights should be capable of illuminating persons or vehicles for a distance of 350 feet on high beam and 100
feet on low beam. High beam must be dimmed when meeting other vehicles at 1000 feet and when overtaking other
vehicles at 500 feet. Head lamps are required to be in use at all times from a half hour after sunset to a half hour
before sunrise and any other times when, due to weather or blowing dust, visibility is less than 500 feet.

m Vehicle LightDistances

1000 feet Dim high beam headlights when meeting other cars

500 feet Turn off high beam headlights when 500 feet behind other vehicles
500 feet Turn on headlights if you can’t see 500 feet ahead

500 feet Taillights distance

350 feet High beam (brights) headlight distance

300 feet Brake light distance in sunlight
300 feet Turn signal distance in sunlight
100 feet Low beam (dim) headlight distance
50 feet License plate light
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m Turn Signals

Vehicles manufactured after January 1, 1956, must emit a white or amber light to the front and red or amber light
to the rear, visible for 300 feet in the sunlight. A vehicle must be equipped with turn signals (signal lamps) when
the distance from the center of the steering post to the vehicle’s left outside limit is more than 24 inches, or when
the distance from the steering post to the rear limit of the vehicle or load is more than 14feet.

m Brake Lights

Brake lights (stop lamps) indicate a vehicle is slowing or stopping. Vehicles manufactured after January 1, 1956, must
emit a red or amber light visible for 300 feet in normal sunlight.

m License Plate Lamp

Vehicles manufactured after January 1, 1956, must emit white light to illuminate the license plate for 50 feet to the
rear. License plate lighting that is not original manufacturer’'s equipment is prohibited.

m Red Reflectors (rear)
Must be visible at night when in front of high beam headlights for all distances between 50 and 300 feet.

m Muffler
Must prevent excessive or unusual noise.

m Mirror
Vehicles manufactured after January 1, 1956, must provide 200-foot visibility to rear of the vehicle.

m Brakes and Parking Brakes

Must control the movement, stop, and hold of the vehicle under all conditions of loading and on any grade incident
to its operation.

m Horn
Must provide warning audible for 200 feet.

m Parking Lights

During the time head lamps are required, any vehicle which is parked or stopped on a roadway must be equipped with
and display parking lights which must display a white or amber light to the front and a red light to the rear, visible for a
distance of 500 feet.

Note: Flashing, blinking, sequential, rotating, or pulsating lights (other than turn signals) are prohibited except for
emergency or authorized vehicles. Undercarriage decorative lighting that rotates, flashes, oscillates or displays a color
for use by police or emergency vehicles is prohibited.

m Windshield and Windshield Wipers

A front windshield with safety glass (if manufactured after January 1, 1956) is required in motor vehicles. Windshields
must be in good condition so as not to obstruct the driver’'s view. Materials that restrict the driver’'s view may not be
attached to any window.

Windshield wipers are required and must be in good working order to clear rain, snow, or other moisture from the
windshield.
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m Window Tinting and Sun Screening

Montana law applies strict standards for tinting and sun screening. You may want to check with your local examiner,
County Treasurer, or any law enforcement officer.

m Seatbelts

Vehicles manufactured between January 1, 1965, and January 1, 1968, must have seatbelts for the left and right
front seats. Vehicles manufactured after January 1, 1968 must have seatbelts for every designated seat.

Seatbelts must always be in good working condition. No person may drive a motor vehicle in Montana
unless each occupant is wearing a properly adjusted and fastened safety belt.

» ADDITIONAL EQUIPMENT REQUIRED ON CERTAIN VEHICLES

m Clearance Lamps and Side Marker Lamps

If over 80 inches in width, every bus or truck, and every trailer or semi-trailer in excess of 3000 pounds GVW
must have on the front and rear two clearance lamps, one at each side.

Every truck tractor must have on the front two clearance lamps, one at each side.
Every pole trailer in excess of 3000 pounds GVW shall have on each side one clearance lamp.

Any vehicle manufactured after January 1, 1956 shall be equipped with two tail lamps mounted on the rear, except
motorcycles, motor-driven cycles, quadricycles, and truck tractors.

Clearance lamps on the front or side of the vehicle shall display an amber light, and clearance lamps mounted on
the rear of the vehicle shall display a red light. All clearance lamps shall be visible for 500 feet when required.

m Reflectors

Every vehicle, whatever its size, must have on the rear: two reflectors and a stop light, in addition to the clearance
lamps required; have reflectors with, or in combination with, clearance lamps which shall reflect the same color as
the required clearance lamp. Required reflectors shall be visible at all distances between 600 feet through 1000
feet from the vehicle when illuminated by upper beam headlamps. Every truck or bus, whatever its size, must be
equipped with two clearance lamps, reflectors, and a stoplight.

m Projecting Load Lamp or Flag

Whenever any load extends four feet or more beyond the body of the vehicle, there shall be, during the time head-
lamps are required, a red light visible for 500 feet attached to the extreme rear end of the load. At all other times
there shall be a red flag, not less than 12 inches square.

m Special Lighting for Farm Tractors & Implements of Husbandry

During the time head lamps are required, any farm tractor or implement of husbandry, moved on the highway,
must display a white light to the front, visible for at least 500 feet and a red light to the rear, visible for 500 feet.
These lamps shall be mounted so as to indicate the extreme left projection of the vehicle.

m Spot Lamps & Auxiliary Lamps (Fog Lamps)

Any vehicle may be equipped with (not to exceed two) spot and/or auxiliary (fog) lamps. Spot lamps must be
turned off when approaching another moving vehicle from either direction, and fog lamps may be used with lower
head lamp beams if they do not project a beam stronger than the low beam head lamp.
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m Additional Brake Requirements

Every trailer, semi-trailer and pole trailer equipped with air or vacuum brakes, or which has a gross weight in excess of
3000 pounds, must have “break-away” brakes, which are activated if the vehicle is separated from the towing vehicle.

m Maintenance of Brakes
All brakes shall be maintained in good working order and shall be adjusted to operate on all wheels equally.

m Certain Warning Devices Prohibited

No vehicle shall be equipped with, nor shall any person use upon a vehicle, any siren, whistle, or bell, except as
permitted for authorized emergency vehicles.

m Mud Flaps Required

Trucks, buses, truck trailers, trailers/semi-trailers, or pole trailers, or vehicles of 8000 pounds or less GVW shall have
fenders, splash aprons, or flaps on the rear most wheels or set of wheels, that extend down to a point not more than
20 inches above the surface of the highway, when the vehicle is empty.

m Safety Chains

Every trailer, semi-trailer or pole trailer of 3000 pounds GVW or less must have on the front a steel chain or cable,
which shall be fastened securely to the towing unit. Such chain or cable shall be no less than 1/4 inch in diameter.

m Certain Vehicles to Carry Flares or Other Warning Devices

Every truck of one-ton capacity or larger, passenger bus and truck tractor must be equipped with at least three flares,
or three red electric lanterns, or three portable red reflectors. All must be capable of being seen at a distance of not
less than 600 feet under normal atmospheric conditions at night. Reflectors used must display a minimum of 24
square inches of reflective surface and at least three red fuses (if red reflectors or red lanterns are not carried) and
two red cloth flags at least 12 inches square with standards to support and display such flags.

Note: Vehicles transporting explosives, flammable liquids, compressed gases, or using compressed gases as a fuel
may not carry any warning device, which produces a signal by flame.

As an alternative to the equipment required above, three emergency reflective triangles conforming to USDOT Motor
Vehicles Safety Standard 125 may be carried.
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m Display of Warning Devices When aVehicle is Disabled

Whenever any truck, passenger bus, tractor, trailer, semi-trailer, or pole trailer is disabled on the highway or shoulder
of the highway when lighted lamps are required, the following warning devices shall be displayed:

A warning device as previously described shall be immediately placed at the traffic side of the vehicle in the direction
of approaching traffic. Then place warning devices as follows:

m 1-100 feet (200 feet if divided highway) in back of the vehicle in the center of the lane occupied by the vehicle
m 1-100 feetin the front of the vehicle (same direction if divided highway) in the center of the same lane
m 1 - at the traffic side of the vehicle not less than 10 feet, in the direction of nearest approaching traffic

Whenever any of the above vehicles is disabled within 500 feet of a curve, hill or other obstruction to view, the
warning signal in that direction shall be placed no less than 500 feet from the vehicle and so as to afford ample
warning to approaching traffic.

Whenever any of the above vehicles is disabled on a roadway when the above warning devices are not required, the
driver shall display two red flags in the lane occupied by the disabled vehicle or at a distance of 100 feet to the front
and rear of the vehicle.

Whenever any motor vehicle transporting explosives, flammable liquid or compressed gas, or any vehicle using
compressed gas as fuel, is disabled at any time or place mentioned above, the driver shall immediately display one
red electric lantern or portable red emergency reflector at the traffic side of the vehicle, one red electric lantern or
portable red reflector 100 feet to the front and one red electric lantern or portable red reflector 100 feet to the rear of
the vehicle in the center of the traffic lane occupied by the disabled vehicle.

Flares, fuses, or signals produced by flame shall NOT be used as warning devices for vehicles transporting
explosives, flammable liquids or compressed gases or vehicles using compressed gas as fuel.

m Slow Moving Vehicles

Any slow-moving vehicle or equipment, animal-drawn vehicle, or road construction or
maintenance machinery normally operating at or under 25 miles per hour must display an
emblem on the rear of the vehicle as described below, except for road construction or
maintenance machinery engaged in actual construction or maintenance work and guarded by
flagger or warning signs.

The emblem is a triangle of fluorescent yellow-orange color with a base of 14” and 14” in
height. The triangle must have a border with reflective red stripes one and three-quarters
inches wide and be mounted in the center of the rear of the vehicle at a height of three to
five feet above the roadway.

On a two-lane highway when the slow-moving vehicle does not leave a clear lane for overtaking traffic and passing
vehicles, the slow-moving vehicle must, at the first safe opportunity, with sufficient room for turnout, pull over to allow
other vehicles to pass.

» CLEAN ALL WINDOWS AND GLASS SURFACES

It is important that you are able to see clearly through the windows, windshield, and mirrors. Here are some things you
can do to help:

m Keep the windshield clean. Bright sun or headlights on a dirty windshield make it hard to see. Carry liquid cleaner
and a paper or cloth towel so you can clean your windshield whenever it is necessary.

m Keep your window washer bottle full. Use antifreeze wash in areas where the temperature could fall below
freezing.

m Keep the inside of your windows clean, especially if anyone has been smoking in the vehicle. Smoking causes a
film to build up on the inside glass.

m Clear snow, ice, or frost from all windows. Clean the front, sides, and back before youdrive.
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m Do not hang things from your mirror or clutter up the windshield with decals. They could block your view.

m Keep the headlights, backup, brake and taillights clean. Dirt on the lenses can cut the lights’ effectiveness by
50%.

» ADJUST SEAT AND MIRRORS

You should always check your seat and mirrors before you start to drive. Many vehicles have multiple drivers who are
different sizes.

m Adjust your seat so that you are high enough to clearly see the road. If necessary, use a seat cushion. Do not
move the seat so far forward that you cannot easily steer.

m Adjust your rearview mirror and side mirrors. You should be able to see out the back window with the rearview
mirror, and to the sides with the side mirrors. A good adjustment for the side mirrors is to set them so that when
you lean forward slightly, you can see the side of your vehicle.

m If you have a day/night mirror, make sure it is set for when you are driving.

m Head restraints are designed to prevent whiplash if you are hit from behind. They should be adjusted so the head
restraint contacts the back of the head.

» SAFETY BELTS REQUIRED
(§ 61-9-419; 61-13-103, MCA)

No person may drive a motor vehicle in Montana unless each occupant is wearing a
properly adjusted and fastened safety belt. Montana law places responsibility on the driver
to ensure each occupant is properly buckled or in a child safety seat. A driver who violates the
law will be fined $20.

Buckle up — every trip, every time — even on short trips at low speeds. Before you drive away,
always fasten your safety belt and make sure all your passengers are using safety belts or child
restraints at all times. Also, remember to lock the vehicle doors.

It is imperative that you and your passengers use safety belts. Studies have shown that if
you are in a crash and are using safety belts, your chances of being hurt or killed are greatly
reduced. A quick click is all it takes to save lives and promote life-saving habits.

Here are more reasons to wear a safety belt, from the Montana Department of Transportation’s
Buckle Up Montana website:

B Atjust 30 mph, a person not wearing a seat belt in a crash has the same experience as
falling from a 3-story building or getting rammed by a three and half-ton elephant.

m There are actually three collisions in every crash: the vehicle collision; the human collision;
and the internal collision (inside your body).

B You're not the only one who will get hurt if you're not wearing your seatbelt in a crash.
Unbuckled bodies can collide at crash force into other people in the same vehicle, seriously
injuring or even killing them.

B For many serious injuries, the first hour of care is critical. However, response time is greater
in rural areas due to factors such as distance and geography. If you are seriously injured, will
EMTs reach you in time? If you buckle up, you are less likely to suffer a serious injury and
you have a much better chance of surviving until EMTs reach you.

Air bags are only part of a total occupant protection
system. If your vehicle has a two-part safety belt
system, wear both the lap belt and shoulder belt.
Wearing either part alone greatly reduces your
protection. If you have an automatic shoulder belt,
buckle your lap belt as well. Otherwise, in a collision
you could slide out of the belt and be hurt or killed.
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Chapter 2 — Motor Vehicle Equipment

Exceptions to the seatbelt law include:

m If the vehicle was manufactured prior to January 1, 1968.

m If an occupant has a written statement with them from a physician that he/she is unable to wear a seatbelt for
medical reasons.

m If you are an operator of a vehicle licensed as special mobile equipment (vehicle not designated or used primarily
for the transportation of persons or property and incidentally operated or moved over the highways, including farm
tractors, road construction, or maintenance machinery, ditch digging apparatus, concrete mixers, and other such
vehicles that are within the general terms of § 61-1-104, MCA).

m If a child, 6 years old and weighing less than 60 pounds, is a passenger in a motor vehicle, that motor vehicle
must be equipped with one child safety restraint for each child in the vehicle and each child must be properly
restrained.

m If you make frequent stops with a motor vehicle in your official job duties, you may be exempted by the
Department of Justice. See MVD-SE1 (https://mvdmt.gov/forms-driver-license).

P CHILD RESTRAINTS REQUIRED
(§ 61-9-419 & 61-9-420; 61-13-103, MCA)

Babies and children up to age 6 and 60 pounds must be buckled in a child safety seat. Booster seats are
recommended for older children until the vehicle’s lap and shoulder belt fits properly, which is usually when children
are about 4’9" tall.

Remember to lock the vehicle’s doors.

Air bags are only part of a total occupant protection system. If children must ride in the front seat of an airbag-
equipped car, they should be secured in a child safety seat using the car’s seatbelt system or a booster seat using the
car’s lap and shoulder belt system. The vehicle’s seat should be moved back as far as possible from the active airbag.
This will hold children in place for air bag protection in a frontal crash, while protecting them against side, rear, and
rollover collisions. Never place a rear-facing car seat in the front passenger seat with an active air bag.
Whenever possible, children under age 13 should be secured in the backseat.

If you hold your child while riding in a vehicle, you could crush the child during a crash. In a 30-mph crash, a
100 pound adult becomes a 3,000 pound force against the child. That is why it's important for each passenger in a
vehicle to be independently and properly restrained with a seatbelt or a child restraint.
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Chapter 2 — Motor Vehicle Equipment

CHAPTER 2 QUIZ

1. Headlights are required at any time you cannot see persons or vehicles for 500 feet (because of snow,
dust, etc.) and:

A. When traffic is very heavy

B. During daylight savings time

C. From 1/2 hour before sunset to 1/2 hour after sunrise
D. From 1/2 hour after sunset to 1/2 hour before sunrise

2. A leaking exhaust system can:
A. Cause excessive oiluse
B. Make your vehicle need a tune-up sooner than normal
C. Make you drowsy while driving
D. Set grass fires on country roads

3. Turn signals must be visible for:

A. 500 feet
B. 250 feet
C. 300 feet

D. Only visible at night
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Chapter 3 — Signs, Signals, & Markings

CHAPTER 3 — SIGNS, SIGNALS, & MARKINGS

The language of the road is spoken in signs, signals, and pavement markings. It is a language you must know well if
you are to drive safely.

» KNOW SIGNS BY THEIR SHAPE AND COLOR

Each type of sign has a special color to help you recognize the sign at a glance. The colors are illustrated below.

In addition to color, the shape of a traffic sign also helps you identify the sign and what you must do to obey it. In
poor visibility conditions, such as heavy fog, you may be able to make out only the shape of a sign. It is important
for drivers to get to know both the colors and shapes of highway signs.

Red - used for STOP and YIELD signs, multiway
supplemental plates, DO NOT ENTER and WRONG WAY

signs, for legend or symbols on some regulatory signs,
and as part of Interstate and some state route markers

Yellow - used as background color for warning
signs (except temporary signs) and school signs

A 4 Fluorescent Yellow-Green - used as background
color for pedestrian, bicycle, and school
warning signs

White - used as background color for most requlatory
signs and some route markers, and as legend color
on signs with red, green, blue, brown, and
black backgrounds

Green - used as background color for quide and
information signs, and for legend on
permissive regulation and parking signs

Blue - used as background color for traveler services
information signs, emergency evacuation route signs,

and as part of Interstate and some state route markers

Brown - used as background color for guide
and information signs related to points
of recreational or cultural interest

Black - used as background color for ONE WAY, night speed
limit, and truck requlatory signs, and as legend color on
signs with white, yellow, orange, fluorescent pink,
and fluorescent yellow-green backgrounds
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» SIGNS, SIGNALS, AND ROAD MARKINGS

The United States is moving toward an international-type system of traffic control devices, which emphasize picture and
symbolic signs rather than written messages.

lllustrated on the next few pages you will find these new signs along with their counterparts, some of which will be in
use for some time. Changes to the new signage are being made only when the old-style signs are replaced due to
repairs or maintenance.

A thorough knowledge of traffic signs, signals, and road markings is necessary for all drivers. You must be able to
recognize and obey these signs without hesitation.

Signs, signals, and road markings are placed on our highways to inform, warn, and regulate drivers. They must be
obeyed; violators will be arrested.

The types of traffic signs are classified according to function. They are regulatory, warning, and information guide signs.

m Signs

Intersection Traffic Control Signs

Intersections may be dangerous. Traffic control devices, such as signs that prohibit certain actions or movements, are
shown in this section.

These signs help increase safety by controlling the flow of traffic through intersections. Remember: red always means
stop, yield, do not enter, or wrong way.

The STOP sign is the only eight-sided traffic sign. It means that you must come to a complete
stop before entering the intersection ahead and yield to traffic close enough to be an immediate
hazard. If there is a crosswalk, stop before entering it.

The YIELD sign means slow down to a reasonable speed and yield right-of-way to all vehicles
on the roadway being entered.

DO NOT
_ The DO NOT ENTER square means the road ahead is a one-way roadway, or all vehicular

traffic is not permitted. DO NOT ENTER.
ENTER P

The signs below prohibit certain actions. When you see a sign with a red circle and a red slash mark across a black
arrow or symbol, it means don’t do whatever is shown.
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Regulatory Signs

The following signs tell you what to do. They show the driver's maximum speed or other required action. The signs
shown are examples of regulatory signs, but there are many more such signs in use. Regulatory signs are rectangular
with black words or symbols on a white background. You must obey the rules on all regulatory signs.

PASS
WITH
CARE

DO
NOT
PASS

DO NOT PASS DO NOT ENTER PASS WITH CARE
You must not pass any vehicles going in ~ The road ahead is a one-way roadway or When you have passed this sign, you
the same direction as you are while you  all vehicular traffic is prohibited. are again allowed to pass other vehicles
are in this area. with care.

KEEP

P

RIGHT

NO U TURN NO LEFT TURN KEEP RIGHT
You cannot turn about to go in the You must not make a left turn at this Traffic is required to keep to the right of
opposite direction at this intersection. intersection. obstruction.
SPEED LIMIT SPEED ZONE AHEAD
This indicates the maximum speed limit You are approaching an area where a
that you may travel on the road from reduced speed limit has been

where this sign is posted until a different established.
speed sign is posted. Since visibility is

limited at night, your speed may be limited

also.
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Warning Signs

Warning signs are black and yellow. These signs are used to warn you of dangerous conditions ahead where you are
required to drive with great caution. Warning signs are usually diamond shaped. However, the “railroad crossing ahead”
sign is round. It is the only round warning traffic sign. There are many different warning signs, not all of which are

shown here:

A four-way intersection
is ahead. Be alert for
cross traffic entering
the roadway.

Sharp Right Turn
There is a sharp turn

to the right in the road
ahead.

The road ahead is
winding with a series of
turns or curves.

Turn
The road ahead turns
sharply to the left, then
right.

You cannot go straight

ahead. Road turns to

both right and left.

Curves

The road ahead curves

to the right and then
the left.

LOOSE ONE LAN
GRAVEL BRIDGE

School Ahead
There is a school
ahead. Slow down and
watch for children at all
times.

ICY
ROAD

Icy Road
This sign is used when-
ever the road is icy and
dangerous.

Loose Gravel
The highway ahead
is covered with loose
gravel.

NARROW
BRIDGE

Narrow Bridge
The bridge ahead may
be too narrow to meet or
pass a truck. You must
be careful.

One Lane Bridge
There is not room on
the bridge to meet or
pass another car or
truck.

SCHOOL
BUS STOP
AHEAD

School Bus Stop
Ahead
This sign warns you
that there is a school
bus stop ahead. Begin
slowing now.

There is a side road
ahead that enters the
highway at an angle.

.‘_ﬁ_____‘/‘
Railroad Crossing
There is a railroad
crossing ahead.

Range Cattle
Where there are no
fences, cattle and horses
may be on the highway.

There is a side road
ahead that enters the
highway ahead from
the right.

N

Narrow Bridge
The bridge ahead is
narrower than the road
you are on. However,
there is room to meet
and pass.

ROAD
NARROWS

Road Narrows
The road ahead is not
as wide as the road
you'’re on; however,
there is room to meet
and pass.

\ STOP
\ / AHEAD

Stop Ahead
There is a stop sign ahead. Begin slowing now.

25

M.PH.

Right Curve
(with safe speed

indication)
There is a right curve
ahead. A suggested
safe speed for the
curve may appear just
below the sign.

Montana Driver Manual www.mvdmt.gov \. 25




Chapter 3 — Signs, Signals, & Markings

AN

1 BLOCK

School Crossing
Ahead
You are approaching
a school crossing.
Slow down and watch
for children at all
times.

SCHOOL
CROSSING
AHEAD

DIVIDED
HIGHWAY

Divided Highway
Begins

A median or divider
ahead splits the
highway into two
separate roadways,
and each roadway is
one-way. Keep to the
right.

STOP

WHEN OCCUPIED

School Crossing
School children cross
the roadway at this
point. You must stop
if pedestrians are
waiting to cross.

SCHOOL
CROSSING

. DIVIDED

HIGHWAY

ENDS

Divided Highway
Ends

The highway ahead
becomes a single
roadway with traffic
going in both
directions. Keep to
the right.

DIVIDED
HIGHWAY
ENDS

PED
XING

Pedestrian
Crossing

Be alert for people
crossing your path.
Slow down and be
prepared to stop.

Deer Crossing
Deer often cross the

highway in this area.

Be alert. Slow down
if you see a deer.

DEER
CROSSING

LOwW
CLEARANCE

Low Clearance

The overpass has
a low clearance. Do
not proceed if your
vehicle is too tall to
pass under.

LOow
CLEARANCE
12ft 6in

CATTLE
XING

Cattle Crossing
A highway quite
often splits a farm.
This sign indicates
a point where the
stock is driven from

one area to another.

> & @

HILL

Hill
A steep grade is
ahead. Check your
brakes. You may need
to shift into a lower
gear.

SLIPPERY
WHEN WET

Slippery When Wet
Pavement is
unusually slick when
wet.

Reduce your speed;
do not brake hard or
change directions
suddenly. Increase
the distance
between your
vehicle and the
vehicle in front of
you.
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Construction and Maintenance Signs

Various traffic control devices are used in construction and maintenance work areas to direct drivers or pedestrians
safely through the work zone and to provide for the safety of the highway workers.

The most commonly used traffic control devices are signs, barricades, drums, cones, tubes, flashing arrow panels and
flag persons. Orange is the basic color for these devices.

* Signs

Construction and maintenance signs are used to notify drivers of unusual or potentially dangerous conditions in or
near work areas. Most signs in work areas are diamond shaped. A few signs are rectangular. They are warning the
highway ahead is being repaired, approach with caution. Also, there are men and women working ahead.

It is a violation to exceed the posted speed in construction and work zones. The fines for violation of a work zone are
double the amount. In addition, a person who knowingly or negligently drives a motor vehicle in a highway

construction zone in such a manner as to endanger persons or property, or if a person purposely removes, ignores or
intentionally strikes a traffic control device, is guilty of a misdemeanor and the penalty is the same as reckless driving.

STREET
CLOSED
1000 FT.

* Devices

Barricades, vertical panels, drums, cones and tubes are the most commonly used devices to alert drivers of unusual
or potentially dangerous conditions in highway and street work areas and to guide drivers safely through the work
zone. At night these devices are often equipped with flashing or steady burning lights.

The diagonal stripes on the barricade or vertical panel guide the driver toward the direction to which traffic is to pass.
Stripes sloping downward to the right mean the driver should bear to the right. Conversely, stripes sloping downward
to the left mean bear to the left.

Bear Left Bear Right
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* Flashing Arrow Panels
Large flashing or sequencing arrow panels may be used in work zones both day and night to guide drivers into certain

traffic lanes and to inform them that part of the road or street ahead is closed.

* Flaggers
Flaggers are often provided in highway and street work zones to stop, slow down, or guide traffic through the area.
Flaggers wear orange vests, shirts, or jackets and use red flags or stop/slow paddles to direct traffic through work

zones.

» CONSTRUCTION ZONE

Traffic fines double in work zones. There is not a standard speed limit in construction or work zones. The
Department of Transportation, local authority, utility company, or private contractor sets a speed limit specific to each
zone.

You may be charged with Reckless Endangerment of a Highway Worker if you knowingly or negligently drive a motor
vehicle in a highway construction zone in a way that endangers persons or property, or remove, ignore, or intention-
ally strike a traffic control device.
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» SCHOOL ZONE SAFETY STANDARDS

Develop the habit of checking your speed and slowing down near any school at all hours. Traffic congestion at school
pick-up and drop-off times increases confusion in parking lots and adjacent streets. Plan a route that avoids school
zones when you can. Mixing speeding or distracted driving with child pedestrians and bicyclists is dangerous because
children are difficult to see due to their size and tendency toward unpredictable behavior.

Children walking or bicycling to school often ignore or don’t understand traffic control so they cross streets and
parking lots wherever it is convenient. They often do not check for an appropriate gap or for the right of way when
crossing streets. Children need time to develop the ability to accurately judge the speed and distance of oncoming
traffic. Young children may think that a car is able to stop when in fact it can’t. Also, children may think that if they can
see a driver, the driver can see them.

e Slow down for school zones.
e School zone speed limits may be as low as 15 mph (§ 61-8-310, MCA)
e Watch out for children near schools and parks day and night.

e Stop and stay stopped for pedestrians in crosswalks and atintersections.

m School Zone

School zone means an area near a school beginning at the school’s front door, encompassing the campus and school
property, and including the streets directly adjacent to the school property and for as many blocks surrounding the
school as determined by the local authority establishing a special speed limit. See § 61-1-101(68), MCA.

m School Crossings

Drivers must always vyield to pedestrians in school crosswalks. There may or may not be school crossing guards to
assist with safe pedestrian crossing. Drivers should stop before crosswalks so other drivers can also see pedestrians.

Drivers can't drive through a column of school children crossing a roadway, or past a school crossing guard while the
crossing guard is directing the movement of children across a roadway and while the crossing guard is holding an
official sign in the stop position. See § 61-8-502, MCA.

m School Speed Limit

School speed limit signs indicate posted speeds or where reduced speeds have been authorized by local authorities.
Watch for signs, markings, and/or flashing lights as indicators of speed limit changes. See § 61-8-310(1)(d), MCA.

m Parking and Stopping

Signs may be used to prevent parked or waiting vehicles from blocking travel lanes and views for both drivers and
pedestrians, keep school bus loading zones clear, and increase visibility of school zones.

m FinesDoubledin SchoolZones

Montana law enforces a strict policy on speed violations in or near school zones. Fines are doubled in all school
zones throughout Montana.
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» TRAFFIC SIGNALS

Traffic signals are used to control drivers of vehicles and pedestrians at some intersections and mid-
block crosswalks. Signals promote better movement of traffic on busy roads by assigning right of way.
Generally, if a signal is not working, stop as you would if there were stop signs in all directions. Common
courtesy says the driver who stops first should get to go first. However, stay cautious and be sure it is
safe to proceed even when you are the first vehicle to reach the intersection.

m Pedestrian Signals

These are special stop and go signals for pedestrians. When used, pedestrians
must obey these signals rather than red-yellow-green traffic lights. Pedestrians
facing a WALK signal may start from the curb or sidewalk to cross the street.

If aDON'T WALK signal is showing or flashing, pedestrians must wait until a
WALK signal appears before starting to cross the intersection. Pedestrians
who are in the crosswalk when the DON'T WALK signal begins flashing should
continue crossing the street. An upheld orange hand means DON'T WALK. A
white pedestrian figure means WALK.

m Vehicle Signals

A steady red signal means “STOP.” Stop before a stop line on the pavement. If there is no stop
line, stop before entering the nearest crosswalk or before entering the intersection if there is no
crosswalk. When entering a two-way street, you may cautiously turn right after stopping. You may
make the right turn unless a sign or police officer tells you not to turn against the red light. Yield
to pedestrians, bicyclists, and traffic in the intersection. Look for pedestrians to the left, right, and
ahead. When entering a one-way street from a one-way street, you may also turn left after
stopping for the red light. Yield, if needed. Pedestrians facing a red light must not enter the street
unless a pedestrian signal directs otherwise.

A steady red arrow means “STOP.” Stop and remain stopped except for allowed turns on red.
(Review above)

A flashing red signal means the same as a stop sign. Come to a complete stop. Look to the left,
right, and ahead, yield to traffic and pedestrians and proceed when it is safe to do so.

A steady yellow signal means “CAUTION.” Cautiously enter the intersection. The signal is about
to turn red. Do not enter an intersection against a steady yellow light unless you are too close to
stop safely. Pedestrians facing a yellow light must not start across the street unless a pedestrian
signal directs otherwise.

A steady yellow arrow means that the time to make a “protected” turn is about to end or stop.
Vehicles making a turn should clear the intersection. Be prepared to obey the next signal, which
could be an arrow with a green or red light.

A flashing yellow arrow means left turns are allowed, but you must first yield to oncoming traffic
and pedestrians. Oncoming traffic has a green light. You must determine if there is a safe gap
before turning.
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A flashing yellow signal means “PROCEED WITH CAUTION.”
It usually means you need to slow down.

A steady green signal means “GO.” Cautiously enter the intersection. Look both ways for
oncoming traffic that may run the red light. Pedestrians facing a green light may cross the street in
a marked or unmarked crosswalk, unless directed by other signs or pedestrian signal.

A steady green arrow means that you have a “protected” turning movement. If there is no green
arrow, left and right turning traffic is “unprotected” and must yield right of way to oncoming traffic
and pedestrians.
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» ROUNDABOUTS IN MONTANA

Roundabouts are circular intersections designed to reduce traffic crashes, delays, and speeds. These rules will help
you navigate your way through a Montana roundabout:

1. Slow Down — Driving speeds in roundabouts are 15 mph orless.

2. Lookto the Left —Yield to vehicles that are already in the roundabout; they have the right-of-way. Traffic
flows in a counterclockwise direction.

3. Stay Right — Enter the roundabout and stay to the right of the center island. Do not stop if the way is clear.
Never pass or overtake another vehicle after entering a single-lane roundabout.

4. Travel Around the Circle — Travel around the circle until you reach your desired street; use your right-turn
signal and exit the roundabout.

Roundabouts are easy to navigate and are safer than traditional intersections. When entering and exiting a round-
about, watch for and yield to pedestrians in or waiting at the crosswalk.

m Large Vehicles

Give large vehicles the space they need. Roundabouts are designed to handle all sizes of vehicles, including
truck and trailer combinations. The center island of the single lane roundabout is built with a gradually sloped and flat
curb, called a truck apron. The rear wheels of a large vehicle will cross over the truck apron. The driver of the smaller
vehicle should drop back behind the larger truck as it completes its travel through the roundabout.

m Pedestrians

Yield to pedestrians. All pedestrians must cross at the designated crosswalks. Never cross to the central island.
Although vehicles are required to stop for pedestrians, pedestrians should always exercise caution when crossing.

m Bicyclists

Walk your bicycle and use the crosswalks. Bicyclists are encouraged to walk their bicycles on the sidewalks and
use the pedestrian crosswalks. If you are comfortable riding in traffic, ride on the circulatory roadway of the round-
about like a car, but obey the same traffic rules as motorized vehicles. Clearly signal your turning intentions.

m Emergency Vehicles

Do not pull over or stop in the roundabout when approached by an emergency vehicle. Continue and exit as
normal, then pull to the right where there is room for the emergency vehicle to pass. If you are approaching the
roundabout, pullover if there is room for the emergency vehicle to get by; if there is not room, continue through the
roundabout and pull over after exiting.
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» RAILROAD CROSSING WARNING SIGNS/SIGNALS

Many railroad crossings have signs or signals to warn drivers. Never try to beat a train across the tracks. Stop if there
is any question about safety. Never start to cross until there is room for your vehicle on the far side. It is wise to not
shift gears when crossing railroad tracks just in case you might stall.

Public railroad grade crossings have been marked with warning devices for your safety by both highway departments
and the railroad companies. Learn what they are and watch for them. With these warning devices and caution on your
part, railroad grade crossing crashes should never happen.

You are required to STOP at railroad crossings as close as practicable but not less than 15 feet from the nearest rail
when warning signals, crossing gates, stop signs, or human watchmen indicate the approach of a train, or when the
train is within 1500 feet of the crossing or if clearly visible and an obvious hazard.

m Advance Warning Signs '
Advance warning signs are located in advance of the crossings. They tell you to slow down, look,

listen, and be prepared to stop at the crossing ahead. ‘
m Pavement Markings

Pavement markings consisting of a STOP LINE, an X and letters RR may be painted on the pavement in front of
crossings. This warns you to be alert to the crossing ahead.

m Railroad Cross Buck Signs

’po Railroad cross buck signs will be found at all public crossings. If there is more than one track, a sign
%> below the cross buck indicates the number of tracks. Be prepared to stop at the tracks if a train is
coming.

m Flashing Light Signals

Flashing Light Signals are used with cross buck signs at many railroad crossings. Always stop when the lights begin
to flash. This means that a train is coming. If there is more than one track, make sure all tracks are clear before
starting to cross.

m Gates

Gates are used with flashing light signals at certain crossings. Stop when the lights
begin to flash before the gates lower across your road lane. Remain stopped until
the gates are raised, and the lights stop flashing.
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» ROAD MARKINGS

A broken yellow line as the centerline may be crossed. Don't cross the centerline unless overtaking or passing. A
solid yellow line on your side means that you cannot pass over the centerline. A double yellow line may not be crossed
by traffic moving in either direction. Crossing a solid centerline is permitted only as part of a left turn maneuver. Heed
other pavement markings, such as pedestrian crosswalk strips, warning signs, etc.

» PAVEMENT MARKINGS

Lines and symbols on the roadway divide lanes, tell you when you may pass other vehicles or change lanes, which
lanes to use for turns, define pedestrian walkways, and where you must stop for signs or traffic signals.

m Edgeand Lanelines

Solid lines along the side of the road show you where the edge of the road is located. Lines separating lanes of traffic
moving in the same direction are white. Lines separating traffic moving in opposite directions are yellow.

White Lane Markings

A dashed white line between lanes of traffic means that you may cross it to change lanes if it is safe to do so. A solid
white line between lanes of traffic means that you should stay in your lane unless a special situation requires you to
change lanes.

Crosswalks and Stop Lines

When required to stop because of a sign or signal, you must stop before your vehicle reaches the stop line, or if there
is one, a crosswalk. Crosswalks define the area where pedestrians are to cross the roadway. You must yield to
pedestrians in or about to enter a crosswalk. Not all crosswalks are marked. Be alert for pedestrians when crossing
intersections that do not have defined crosswalks.

Yellow Lane Markings

A dashed yellow line between opposing lanes of
traffic means that you may cross it to pass if it is
safe to do so. Some passing zones have signs
that tell you where you can pass and where you
cannot pass. Where there is both a solid and

a dashed yellow line between opposing lanes
of traffic, you may not pass if the solid yellow
line is on your side. If the dashed line is onyour
side, you may pass if it is safe to do so. Two
solid lines between opposing lanes of traffic
means neither side can pass. You may cross a
solid yellow line to turn into a public or private
parking lot, private driveway, or a roadway if it
is safe to do so.

\ 34 Montana Driver Manual www.mvdmt.gov


file://mvdfiles/workgroup/CSQA%20Share/Communications%20Unit/Technical%20Writer/Forms/New%20Form%20Layouts/DSB/www.mvdmt.gov

Chapter 3 — Signs, Signals, & Markings

m Other LaneControls

Reversible Lanes

Some travel lanes are designed to carry traffic in one direction at certain times and in
the opposite direction at other times. Double-dashed yellow lines usually mark these
lanes. Before you start driving in them, check to see which lanes you can use at that
time. There may be signs posted by the side of the road or overhead. Sometimes
special lights are used. A green arrow means you can use the lane beneath it; a red
“X” means that you may not. A flashing yellow “X” means the lane is only for turning.
A steady yellow “X” means that the use of the lane is changing, and you should move
out of it as soon as it is safe to do so.

Reserved Lanes

On various roadways, one or more lanes may be reserved for special vehicles.
Reserved lanes are marked by signs stating that the lane is reserved for special use,
and often have a white diamond posted at the side of the road or painted on the road
surface.

m “Transit” or “Bus” means the lane is for bus use only.

B “Bicycle” means the lane is reserved forbicycles.

m “HOV” stands for High Occupancy Vehicles and indicates lanes reserved for
vehicles with more than one person in them. Signs say how many people must

be in the vehicle, as well as the days and hours to which it applies. For example,
“HOV 3” means that there must be at least three people in the vehicle.

Shared Center Lane

These center lanes are reserved for making left turns (or U-turns when they are

permitted) but can be used by vehicles traveling in both directions. On the pavement, left-turn arrows for traffic in one
direction are alternate with left-hand arrows for traffic coming from the other direction. These lanes are marked on
each side by a solid yellow and dashed yellow line.

imE 2> ¢

m No Lane Markings

When there are no signs or lane markings to control the use of lanes, there are rules that indicate which lane is to be
used. These rules cover general driving, passing, and turning (see Rules of the Road, Section Five).

Montana Driver Manual www.mvdmt.gov \. 35



Chapter 3 — Signs, Signals, & Markings

CHAPTER 3 QUIZ

1. The sign pictured at the right means that:
There is a bus stop ahead.

There is a stop sign ahead.

There is a caution sign ahead.

You must stop when other cars stop.

Oowp

2. The sign pictured at the right means that:

You must drive slowly and sound horn.

You must watch for children in this area.

You must watch for children during school hours.

School ahead - slow down and watch for children at all times.

Cow>

3. The sign pictured at the right means that:

The highway ahead turns only to the right.

The highway ahead turns sharply to the right.

The highway ahead turns to the right and then to the left.
The highway ahead turns to the left and then to the right.

oDowp

4. The sign pictured at the right means that:

Trucks are permitted on a narrow bridge.

The bridge ahead is open to one-way traffic only.

The bridge ahead is wide enough for one car at atime.

The bridge ahead may be too narrow to meet or pass a truck, you must be careful.

OCow>

5. The sign pictured at the right means that:

There is a detour ahead.

You must stop for flaggers.

The road ahead is closed to traffic.

The highway ahead is being repaired, approach withcaution.

oDOowp

6. The sign pictured at the right means that:

There are trucks hauling gravel ahead.

The highway ahead is under construction.

The highway ahead is covered with loose gravel.

The highway ahead has been sanded for icy conditions.

Cow>

7. The shared center lane is reserved for:
A. Making left turns.
B. U-turns when they are permitted.
C. Can be used by vehicles traveling in both directions.
D. All of the above.
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Chapter 4 — Driving Rules

CHAPTER 4 — DRIVING RULES

» GENERAL DRIVING

Drive at a speed that is safe for conditions.

Respect other road users, share the road, and drive courteously.

Only move a vehicle when it can be done safely and without interfering with traffic.
Walk around your parked car before backing up.

Never back up or stop in any travel lane for any reason (confusion, breakdown, letting out a passenger); keep
moving until you can safely pull off the road.

LAWS AND REGULATIONS KEEP YOU SAFE

The first rule of the road is OBEY:
e OBEY the orders of highway patrol, police officers, and flaggers.

e OBEY all traffic control devices.

e OBEY traffic laws.

Some basic, important laws are:
e Drive in a careful and safe manner.

e Use a proper turn signal 100 feet before turning in town, 300 feet before turning on ruralroads.
e Stay in the right lane, except to pass on a road with three or more lanes traveling in the same direction. If
there is a lot of traffic entering, use the center travel lane.

e If you approached a turn in the wrong lane or forgot to signal, you should proceed, get into the proper
lane, go to the next intersection, signal, and thenturn.

e Unless told to do so, never drive on the shoulder of the road.
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» SPEED LIMITS

Always obey the posted speed limit and take road conditions into consideration. If the road or weather is bad, you
may need to drive below the speed limit.

CARS and LIGHT TRUCKS HEAVY TRUCKS*
DAY NIGHT DAY NIGHT
Interstate Highways 75/80 75/80 65 65
Urban Area Highways** 65 65 65 65
Two-Lane Highways 70 65 60 55
*Trucks in excess of one-ton Manufacturer's Rated capacity.
**Applies to interstates within the Billings, Great Falls, and Missoula areas.

Vehicles traveling on a two-lane road may exceed the speed limit by 10 miles an hour in order to overtake and pass
another vehicle and return safely to the right lane.

» PASSING

Pass only when it can be done safely.

On two-lane roads, you can drive to the left of the centerline of a highway when overtaking and passing another
vehicle.

On multi-lane roads, the left-most lane is intended to be used to pass slower vehicles.

If you pass on the right, the other driver may have difficulty seeing you and might suddenly change lanes in front of
you. Passing on the right is legal only when the vehicle you’re passing is making or about to make a left turn, or on a
road with unobstructed pavement wide enough for two or more lanes of vehicles legally going in the same direction
as the vehicle you're passing. You cannot pass on the right by driving off the pavement or main-traveled portion of the
road, which means never passing on the shoulder (whether it is paved or not). Other drivers will never expect you to
be there and may pull off the road withoutlooking.

» TURNING

Where there are no signs or lane markings to control turning, you should turn from the lane that is closest to the
direction you want to go and turn into the lane closest to the one you came from. This way, you will cross the fewest
lanes of traffic. When making turns, go from one lane to the other as directly as possible without crossing lane lines or
interfering with traffic. Once you have completed your turn, you can change to another lane if you need to.

m Right Turns

On right turns, avoid swinging wide to the left before turning to make the turn easier. If you swing wide, the driver
behind you may think you are changing lanes or going to turn left and may try to pass you on the right. If you swing
wide as you complete the turn, drivers who are in the far lane will not expect to see you there.

m Left Turns

When making a left turn, avoid cutting the corner so sharply that you run into someone approaching from the left.
However, you must leave room for oncoming vehicles to turn left in front of you.
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m Turning Around

Common sense should tell us never to try
turning around on a busy street or near a
curve or hill. Not only is it illegal, but also

it is dangerous to turn around in any of
these situations. You may turn around on
a roadway where the driver has 500 feet

in both directions (almost two average city
blocks) of unobstructed view and no
vehicles are approaching. Remember that
most city ordinances prohibit U-turns in
the middle of a block, and some prohibit
U-turns entirely.

Above all, remember that no vehicle shall be
turned at any time unless it is in the proper
lane, and it is safe to do so.

» RIGHT-OF-WAY

Where vehicles or pedestrians are likely to
meet one another, and there are no signs or
signals to regulate traffic, there are rules that
say who must yield the right-of-way. These
rules tell drivers who goes first and who must
wait in different traffic situations.

The law says who must yield the right-of-

way; it does not give anyone the right-of-way.

You must do everything you can to prevent
striking a pedestrian or another vehicle,
regardless of the circumstances.

m Pedestrians
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To a driver, a pedestrian is a hazard, or should that be the other way around? In either case, drivers and pedestrians
must share our roadways and each MUST be aware and alert for the other.

Obviously in any conflict between a vehicle and a pedestrian, the pedestrian is going to be the loser. This would seem
to indicate that those on foot have the responsibility to stay out of trouble with vehicles. To a certain extent, this is true.
These laws are well and good, but it is still the driver’s basic responsibility to be alert for pedestrians and to yield the
right-of-way, even if the pedestrian is wrong. Just as a stop sign does not cause a vehicle to stop if the driver ignores
it, pedestrian laws don't keep people off the streets, especially if they are young. Be alert at all times for pedestrians—
especially in residential areas where children may be playing.

In addition to simple common sense, there are traffic laws and safety rules that govern pedestrians:

B Pedestrians using a guide dog or carrying a white cane have absolute right-of-way. Do not use your horn because

it could confuse or frighten the blind pedestrian.
Drivers must yield the right-of-way to pedestrians crossing in a crosswalk, but no pedestrian can leave a curb and

walk into the path of a vehicle.

People walking along the highway at night should wear light-colored clothing or carry a light.
Where sidewalks are provided, it is against the law for pedestrians to walk on the roadway.
When people are walking on the roadway, they must walk on the left (facing oncoming traffic).
Pedestrians must cross streets at intersections, using crosswalks asprovided.

Pedestrians must obey all the traffic laws and rules that apply to them.
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m Intersections
The following right-of-way rules apply at intersections:

m Drivers crossing a sidewalk, entering or exiting a driveway, alley, or parking lot must yield to pedestrians. It is
illegal to drive on a sidewalk, except to crossit.

m Drivers turning left must yield to oncoming cars going straightahead.

m Drivers entering a traffic circle or rotary must yield to drivers already in the circle.

m At an intersection where there is no stop sign or traffic signal, drivers should yield to vehicles coming from the
right. However, a driver should always be prepared to yield to avoid a crash. Do this by taking your foot off the
accelerator, cover the brake, and look left, right, and left again.

m At a four-way stop, the driver reaching the intersection first gets to go first (after coming to a complete stop).

m Drivers entering a road from a driveway, alley, or roadside must stop and yield to vehicles already on the main
roadway.

m Drivers may not enter an intersection unless they can get through it without having to stop. You should wait until
traffic ahead clears so that you are not blocking the intersection.

m Avyield sign means that you must slow to a reasonable speed and yield right-of-way to all vehicles.

B Atintersections controlled by a light, unless there is a sign that says you cannot turn right, you may turn right
AFTER YOU HAVE STOPPED (if vehicle is in the proper lane) and you have determined it is safe to do so.
Montana law also permits turning left from a one-way street to a one-way street under the condition stated above
for turning right on red. When you reach a red light and wish to make a right turn and your car is in the left lane,
drive to the next intersection, get into the proper lane, and then make the turn.

m Crosswalks

m Drivers must exercise care to avoid hitting pedestrians.

m Drivers must yield the right-of-way to pedestrians crossing in a crosswalk, but no pedestrian can leave a curb and
walk into the path of a vehicle.

m When a vehicle is stopped at a marked crosswalk or at an unmarked crosswalk at an intersection, the driver can
make a right turn if the pedestrian is in the opposite half of the roadway and is not in danger.

m When a vehicle is stopped at a marked crosswalk or at an unmarked crosswalk at an intersection to let a
pedestrian cross the street, other drivers approaching from the rear may not pass the stoppedvehicle.

m Overtaking Vehicles

Drivers overtaking a vehicle traveling in the same direction must yield to that vehicle, even if the vehicle is slowing or
coming to a stop.

m Emergency Vehicles

You must yield the right-of-way to a police vehicle, fire engine, ambulance, or other emergency vehicle using a

siren or air horn and a red or blue flashing light. Pull over to the right edge of the road or as near to the right as
possible when you see or hear an emergency vehicle approaching from any direction. Follow any instructions
given over the emergency vehicle’s loudspeaker. Also, stop and remain stopped until the vehicle has passed. If you
are in an intersection, drive through the intersection before you pull over and stop.

m School Buses

Let’s give our children a “brake.” Every child is a human caution sign and as unpredictable as Montana’s weather.
Upon meeting or passing from either direction any school bus stopped with its red lights flashing, the driver of a
vehicle must stop at least 30 feet from the bus and cannot proceed until the red lights are turned off (Diagrams 1 and
2). If you approach a bus from either direction that is slowing down in preparation to stop to load passengers, or a bus
displaying a yellow flashing light, you must slow down and proceed carefully. Keep in mind that the bus is about to
stop, and children may be in the road. You do not need to stop if meeting or passing a school bus that is on a different
road (Diagram 3) or is stopped in an adjacent loading zone where pedestrians are not allowed to cross the road.
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When driving past a school, slow down and watch for children DAY and NIGHT. Kids go back to use the playground at
all hours. Develop the habit of checking your speed when nearing any school. BE ALERT.

School bus requirements for stopping at railroad crossings are in § 61-8-349, MCA.
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m Funeral Procession

The state of Montana has some unique right-of-way provisions when driving in or encountering a funeral procession
(§ 61-8-380 through 61-8-384, MCA). By state definition, a funeral procession means two or more motor vehicles,
including a funeral lead vehicle and a funeral escort vehicle, one of which is carrying the remains of a deceased
person, in the daylight hours (§ 61-1-415, MCA).

State law requires that pedestrians and operators of motor vehicles not part of a funeral procession shall yield the
right-of-way to a motor vehicle that is part of a funeral procession being led by a funeral lead vehicle or a funeral
escort vehicle.

The driver of a vehicle that is not part of a funeral procession cannot drive between the vehicles forming the
procession while the procession is in motion unless the driver is authorized to do so by a police officer, or is driving
an emergency vehicle. A driver may not join a funeral procession to secure the right-of-way that the procession
enjoys or pass a procession on a multiple-lane highway on the procession’s right side unless the procession is in the
farthest left lane.

In addition, the driver of a vehicle not part of a procession may not enter an intersection when a funeral procession
is proceeding through a red traffic-control device unless that driver can do so without crossing the path of the funeral
procession.

When the funeral lead vehicle arrives at an intersection, it must comply with the requirements of any official traffic-
control device, right-of-way provision or local ordinance. At the point that the lead vehicle proceeds, others in the
procession may follow through the intersection despite any official traffic control device. However, the operator must
exercise reasonable care toward any other vehicle or pedestrian.

When driving in a funeral procession, a driver must follow the preceding vehicle as closely as possible. An ordinance,
law, or regulation requiring that motor vehicles be operated to allow sufficient space between them to enable another
vehicle to enter and occupy that space without danger does not apply to vehicles in a funeral procession.

A driver in a funeral procession may not drive faster than 55 miles per hour on a highway where the speed limit is 55
miles per hour or more or may not drive more than 5 miles per hour below the posted speed limit on other streets or
roads. All headlights and taillights must be illuminated. In addition, turn signals must be flashing simultaneously as
warning lights on a vehicle that is the first vehicle in a funeral procession or believed to be the last vehicle in a funeral
procession.

A driver in a funeral procession must yield the right-of-way to an approaching authorized emergency vehicle giving an
audible or visual signal.

Remember, however, nothing in the state law relieves a driver from the duty to drive with due regard for the safety of
all persons using the highway.

» BICYCLISTS & MOTORISTS

m Same Road —Same Rules — Same Rights

More and more people of all ages are riding bicycles for a variety of reasons, including: health and fitness, enjoyment,
energy conservation, and for commuting to work and school less expensively. Bicyclists are not only found traveling
on city streets; many are using rural roadways now, as well.

Motorists and bicyclists need to share the roadway safely and courteously with each other. Under Montana law,
bicycles are considered vehicles and are governed by the same traffic laws that reasonably apply to their
operation. It is important for motorists to realize that bicycles and mopeds travel at a slower speed and make the
appropriate adjustments when passing or sharing the roadway with a bicycle or moped.
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One of the most hazardous situations is when a motorist approaches a cyclist from behind on a high-speed, two-lane
roadway. In this case, the safest way to pass the cyclist is to view it as any other legitimate slow-moving vehicle, such
as a farm tractor. If there is no oncoming traffic, carefully cross the center line to give the cyclist a recommended five-
feet distance between them and your motor vehicle. If there is oncoming traffic, slow to the speed of the cyclist and
wait for it to be safe to pass.

Do not assume that a cyclist is riding on the shoulder of the road; instead, assume that to safely pass the cyclist you
will need to wait for a safe time to leave that driving lane in order to pass the cyclist in a safe manner. Also, do not
assume a cyclist is riding alone. Many times, cyclists travel in groups and ride in a single-file line. It will require more
time to safely pass all of the cyclists.

Bicyclists are required by law to ride as far to the right as practical. This does not mean the cyclist is always on the
shoulder of the roadway. Many bicyclists will often ride further into the lane (approximately 18-24 inches) to
discourage motorists from trying to attempt a dangerous in-lane pass. It is recommended that motorists wait for a safe
passing zone to pass the bicyclist.

Shared Lane Markings (also known as sharrows) are pavement markings to help bicyclists A
position themselves in the right location and in the right direction in a lane that is shared with motor A
vehicles. By following the markings of two arrows over a bicycle, cyclists can avoid being hit by the

open door of a parked vehicle or getting squeezed next to a motor vehicle in a narrow lane.

When you see a shared lane marking, you must look out for bicyclists and make sure that

you leave them enough space when passing. Shared Lane Markings are not the same as the
bicycle symbols that are used to mark bicycle lanes.

To clarify, Montana law specifies the following for motorists:

B Motorists must grant people operating bicycles the same rights as the operators of any vehicle legitimately using
Montana roadways.

m Motorists may not intentionally interfere with the movement of a person lawfully riding a bicycle.

m Motorists may not overtake and pass a person riding a bicycle unless it can be done without endangering the
person riding on the bicycle, or those in any nearby motorvehicle.

m Motorists must yield the right-of-way to a person riding a bicycle within a designated bicycle lane.

Individuals riding bicycles on a roadway must ride in single file except when:

m Riding on bike paths or parts of roadways set aside for the exclusive use of bicycles.

m Overtaking and passing another bicycle

m Riding on a paved shoulder or on a parking lane, in which case the persons may ride two abreast.

m Riding within a single lane on a laned roadway with at least two lanes in each direction, in which case the persons
may ride two abreast if they do not impede the normal and reasonable movement of traffic more than they would
otherwise impede traffic by riding single file.

Bicyclists riding on a roadway at less than the normal speed of traffic must ride as near to the right side of

the roadway as practicable except when:

m Overtaking and passing another vehicle proceeding in the samedirection

m Preparing for a left turn at an intersection or into a private road or driveway

B When necessary to avoid a condition that makes it unsafe to continue along the right side of the roadway,
including, but not limited to: a fixed or moving object, parked or moving vehicle, pedestrian, animal, surface
hazard, or a lane too narrow for a bicycle and another vehicle to travel safely side-by-side within the lane.

m When approaching parked vehicles, many bicyclists will ride far enough away from a vehicle to avoid being
“doored.” This term describes a situation when an individual within a parked vehicle suddenly opens their car door
without checking for any bicyclists approaching from behind. Frequently, cities place bike lanes next to parking
lanes, but bicyclists may be hesitant to use the designated lane due to the danger of being “doored.”

B Most bicycles are not equipped with mirrors, so they are often not aware that a motorist is approaching from
behind. Always proceed with extra care when bicycles are in traffic. If approaching a bicyclist from behind,
assume he/she does not hear or see you in the motorizedvehicle.
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m When abicycle is traveling in your lane and you need to make a right turn, always check to make sure the bicyclist
has either stopped to let you turn, or allow the bicyclist to pass you before making the turn. Bicycles should pass
on the left, but this is often overlooked due to the bicyclist's comfort in doing so.

B Bicycles are less visible and, unlike motorcycles, are not required to have lights during daytime travel.

m Many bicyclists are under the age of 15 and many have not participated in a bicycle safety course or taken the
Montana motor vehicle test. They are therefore unaware of many rules of the road, so proceed with extra caution
when encountering youngsters on bikes.

B Treat bicyclists with respect. You share the road with bicyclists just as you do any other legitimate user of our
roadways. Do not honk your horn, yell, or swerve toward a bicyclist. This may startle the bicyclist and cause a
serious crash.

m Equipmentand Lighting Required for Bicycles
Montana law requires that bicycles be equipped as follows:

m When used at nighttime, a light on the front, which must emit white light visible for at least 500 feet to the front.

m Alight emitting a red light visible from 500 feet to the rear may be used in addition to the rear-facing reflectors,
which are required.

m  When used at nighttime, both tires of a bicycle must be equipped with retro-reflective sidewalls or reflectors
mounted on the spokes of each wheel. Spoke-mounted reflectors must be within 76 mm (3 inches) of the inside of
the rim and must be visible on each side of the wheel. The reflectors on the front wheel must be essentially color-
less or amber and the reflectors on the rear wheel must be amber or red.

m Abrake that will enable the operator to make the wheels skid on dry, level, clean pavement.

Every bicyclist is encouraged to equip his/her bicycle with a fluorescent orange flag, clearly visible from the
rear and suspended at least 6 feet above the roadway when the bicycle is standing upright.

Many vehicle/bicycle crashes could be avoided. One of the major causes of such crashes is the fact that most motor-
ists do not see the bicyclist. Think of a bicycle just as you do a vehicle while driving. Pay extra attention as you enter
streets, cross bikeways or sidewalks, and when you make turns. Watch for children on bicycles who may dart out
between parked cars or hedges. Keep in mind that bicyclists are very vulnerable.

» PARKING

m General Guidelines

Drivers are responsible for making sure that their vehicle does not become a hazard after it has been parked. Whenever
you park your car, be sure it is in a place that is (1) far enough from any travel lane to avoid interfering with traffic and
(2) visible to cars approaching from either direction.

m Always park in a designated area ifpossible.

m Always set your parking brake when you park. Leave the vehicle in gear if it has a manual transmission, or in park
if it has an automatic transmission.

m Check traffic before you open the door. Get out of the vehicle on the curbside if you can. If you must use the

street side, check for vehicles, bicyclists, and pedestrians before you get out. Shut the door as soon as you can

after getting out.

Never leave keys in a parked car. Lock the doors whenever you leave yourvehicle.

If you must park on a roadway, park your vehicle as far away from traffic as possible. If there is a curb, park as

close to it as you can. If there is no curb available to stop or park, pull over as close as practicable to the edge of

shoulder.

m Your vehicle must be within 18 inches (1.5 feet) of the curb orshoulder.
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feet. If headlights are on, they must be dimmed.

for vehicles, bicycles, and pedestrians when backing out of a parking space.

m Parallel Parking
To parallel park in an empty space that has vehicles parked in front of and behind it:

1. Use the turn indicator to signal your intention to park.

2. Position your vehicle parallel with the vehicle parked in front of the empty space and maintain
at least two feet from this vehicle. Align your rear bumper with the rear bumper of the vehicle
parked in front of the empty space (Figure A).

3. Reverse slowly until the front of the vehicle is even with the front door of the parallel car. Turn
the wheel sharply to the right and reverse slowly until the vehicle is at a 45-degre angle, and
reverse (Figure B).

4. When the front of your vehicle passes the rear of the parallel car, turn your steering wheel to
the left sharply, then gradually, while backing into the space (Figure C).

5. Straighten your vehicle’s wheels and pull forward in the space (Figure D).

m Parking on aHill

When you park on a hill, turn your wheels sharply toward the side of the road. This way, if your car
starts to roll downhill, it will roll away from traffic.

®m  When you park facing downhill, turn your wheels toward the curb (Figure A).
®m  When you park facing uphill, turn your wheels away from the curb (Figure B).
o Ifthere is no curb, turn your wheels away from the street (Figure C).

Downbhill Uphill Uphill (no curb)

Vehicles parked on a roadway or shoulder during hours of darkness must have front and rear lights visible for 500

Use your turn signal when entering traffic from a parking space. Be sure to look in both directions and doublecheck
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m No Parking Zones
There are many areas where you cannot park. Check for signs that prohibit or limit parking.

Some parking restrictions are indicated by colored curb markings:
m  White = stopping only to pick up or unload passengers

m Yellow = stopping only long enough to load or unload and you must stay with the car
m Red = do not stop, stand, or park

Do not park:

® Inanintersection

m  Within 20 feet of a crosswalk or sidewalk at an intersection

m In a construction area if your vehicle will block traffic

m  Within 30 feet of a traffic signal, stop sign, or yield sign

m  Within 15 feet of a fire hydrant

m  Within 50 feet of a railroad crossing

m More than 18 inches (1.5 feet) from the curb

m  Within 20 feet of a fire station driveway on the same side of the street, or within 75 feet of a driveway on the other

side of the street
Blocking a driveway, alley, private road, or area of the curb removed or lowered for access to the sidewalk
On a bridge or elevated structure or in a tunnel orunderpass

On the wrong side of the street
On the road-side of a parked vehicle (double parking) RES ERVED

On railroad tracks PAR KIN G

Wherever a sign says you cannot park
In a space marked for the handicapped, unless you have a handicap license plate, tag, or !

sticker (you can be fined for improper parking in Handicapped Parking Only)

PERMIT
REQUIRED
£100 FINE
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» MOTOR VEHICLE INSURANCE

m Requirements

Liability insurance is mandatory (except for motorcycles). This insurance must be in effect in the vehicle being
operated. Owners must always have insurance of at least:

0 $25,000 - Bodily Injury or Death of one person in any one accident
0 $50,000 - Bodily Injury or Death of two persons in any oneaccident
o $10,000 - Injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Under Montana law, motorists stopped for a traffic violation or involvement in a motor vehicle collision are required to
show evidence of insurance to law enforcement, in addition to displaying their driver license and vehicle registration.
Evidence of insurance must be carried in the vehicle at all times.

m Consequences

Driving a motor vehicle on Montana roads without a valid liability insurance policy is a misdemeanor punishable by a
fine of at least $250, not to exceed $500, or by imprisonment in the county jail for up to 10 days, or both; and 5
points against your driving record. A 2nd or subsequent offense is punishable by a fine of at least $350, or by
imprisonment in the county jail for up to 10 days, or both; and suspension of your license plates and registration for
90 days (180 days for 3rd or subsequent offense).

If you are involved in an accident, your license and registration can be suspended if a court finds you responsible for
the damages and you fail to pay the fine within 60 days. Suspension is automatic. It remains in effect until the fine has
been paid or 6 years have elapsed. Additionally, you will be required to submit evidence of motor vehicle insurance.

m Self-Insurers

The law also says that owners of more than 25 motor vehicles registered in Montana may qualify as self-insurers.

In the case of non-resident owners or operators who are involved in any accident in Montana, adequate insurance
written by a company licensed to do business in this state will be accepted. Non-residents owning or operating motor
vehicles in Montana are subject to all of the provisions and penalties of the Safety Responsibility Law and if they do
not comply, their driving privileges in Montana will be withdrawn. A certified copy of the record will be sent to a
nonresident’s home state if it has a law authorizing authorities to act on it.

m Montana Insurance Verification System (MTIVS)

In order to help enforce the liability insurance law, the Montana Legislature enacted legislation that authorized creation
of an online motor vehicle liability insurance verification system. Montana Code Annotated 61-6-157 directs the
Montana Department of Justice to establish a motor vehicle insurance verification system capable of confirming that
vehicle owners and operators on Montana roadways are in compliance with vehicle liability policy requirements. The
Montana Insurance Verification System (MTIVS) was implemented to fulfill this requirement.

MTIVS uses information from Montana vehicle registration records and from insurance companies that write policies in
Montana to access up-to-the-minute data to confirm if a vehicle has minimum liability insurance coverage.

Law enforcement agencies, courts, the MVD, County Treasurer offices, and the public can use MTIVS to
confirm evidence of insurance.

The ultimate goal of this system is to reduce the number of drivers in Montana who do not carry liability insurance as
required by Montana law. Uninsured drivers are a serious problem, undermining traffic safety and driving up the costs
for insured, law-abiding motorists. Real-time insurance verification will make the roads safer for everyone.

For more information about MTIVS, visit https://mvdmt.gov/vehicle-insurance-and-verification
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CHAPTER 4 QUIZ

1. Upon hearing an emergency vehicle siren, a driver must:
A. Stop quickly where heis.
B. Stop and wait for a red or green light.
C. Stop at the right side of the street or roadway.
D. Increase speed and keep out of the way of the emergency vehicle.

2. When dealing with pedestrians, a driver must:
A. Make very sure the pedestrian sees him/her.
B. Yield the right-of-way, even if the pedestrian is in the wrong.
C. Always yield the right-of-way when the pedestrian is legally entitled to it.
D. Slow down and sound the horn when entering a heavily congestedarea.

3. Upon meeting or overtaking a school bus from either direction that has stopped on the highway with
its red lights flashing, a driver must:
A. Stop before reaching the bus and not proceed until the bus has resumed motion.
B. Stop before reaching the bus and not proceed until the red lights have been extinguished.
C. Stop before reaching the bus and proceed only when all children have loaded or unloaded.
D. Stop and not proceed until the way is clear.

4. When encountering a funeral procession, adriver:
A. May not drive between the vehicles forming the procession unless authorized by a police officer.
B. May not enter an intersection to cross the path of a funeral procession as it is proceeding through a
red traffic control device.
C. Must yield the right-of-way to a motor vehicle that is part of the funeralprocession.
D. All of the above.

5. When approaching an uncontrolled intersection, a driver should:

Maintain speed and proceed.

Stop at the intersection, check all directions, and proceed when safe.

Slow down and yield to all drivers.

Take his/her foot off the accelerator, cover the brake, look left, right, and left again, and be prepared to
yield.

OCow>

6. Itis permissible to drive a motor vehicle to the left of the centerline of ahighway:
When overtaking and passing another vehicle.

When you have 500 feet of clear road ahead and to the rear.

When the shoulder of the road is rough, and the ditch is deep.

When the road is clear of vehicles coming from the opposite direction.

Cow>
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CHAPTER 5 — HOW TO DRIVE SAFELY

No manual can teach you how to operate a vehicle or be a safe driver. Driving requires skills you can only gain
through instruction and practice, and even then, it all depends on how you choose to apply what you have learned.

» DON'T BE A DISTRACTED DRIVER

Distracted driving occurs any time you take your eyes off the road, your hands off the wheel, and your mind off your
primary task of driving safely. Driving requires decision making and critical thinking, and 90% of driving decisions are
based on what we see.

You risk a crash when you try to do something else while you drive, and when you look away from the road ahead.
Distractions include:

Texting

Using a cell phone or smartphone

Eating and drinking

Talking to or arguing with passengers
Grooming

Reading, including maps

Using a navigation system

Watching avideo

Adjusting a radio, CD player, or MP3 player
Being drowsy, sleepy, fatigued, or stressed

Texting is the most alarming distraction because it involves simultaneous manual, visual, and cognitive distraction.
Sending or reading a text takes your eyes off the road for 5 seconds. At 55 mph, that’s like driving the length of an
entire football field while blindfolded. Arrive alive. Don’t text and drive.

All distractions endanger driver, passenger, and bystander safety, and increase your risk of crashing. What is
commonly referred to as “multi-tasking” really isn’t. Your brain is actually dealing with one task at a time but shifting
between tasks very quickly.

B Protect lives by never texting or talking on the phone while driving. Calls can wait.
B Be a good passenger, buckle your seatbelt, and speak up if the driver in your car is distracted.
m Encourage your friends and family to drive phone-free.

Most Montana cities have passed laws against texting and talking on cell phones while driving.

If there are things you think you need to take care of while you are behind the wheel, wait until you can safely pull
over to the side of the road and STOP.

m Always keep your eyes on the road and your hands on the wheel. Remember, it is not only your life in
your hands, but also all the lives of those that are affected by your choices.

m Buckle up and make sure all your passengers are buckled aswell.

Never consume alcohol and drive

m Visit http://www.distraction.gov/ for more information n“E TE!T m mt cn“m

WRESK
- ITALL
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» BASIC DRIVING

m Starting

Check the vehicle owner’'s manual for the best starting procedures for the vehicle. The procedures vary depending on
whether the vehicle has electronic ignition, and on the type of transmission. Make sure the parking brake is on before
you start the vehicle.

If the vehicle has a manual transmission, it must not be in gear, and in some vehicles, you must depress the clutch.
For a vehicle that has an automatic transmission, you must put the shift selector in “park.” The vehicle will not start
otherwise.

m Accelerating

Accelerate gradually and smoothly. Trying to start too fast can cause the drive wheels to spin, particularly on slippery
surfaces, and cause the vehicle to slide.

With a manual-shift vehicle, practice using the clutch and accelerator so that the engine does not over-rev or stall when
shifting between gears.

m Steering

Use a proper grip. Both hands should be placed on opposite sides of the steering wheel (e.g., at the 9 and 3 o’clock
positions or the 8 and 4 o’clock positions of newer vehicles equipped with airbags mounted in the steering wheel).
This position is comfortable, and on high-speed roads allows you to make turns without taking your hands off the
wheel. This may give you better control in critical situations.

Look well down the road, not just at the road in front of your vehicle. Look for traffic situations where you will need to
steer before you get to them. This way, you have time to steer smoothly and safely.

When turning corners, turn the steering wheel using the “hand-over-hand” technique; do not turn the wheel with just
the palm of one hand or you could lose control. When you complete a turn, straighten out the steering wheel by hand.
Letting it slip through your fingers could be dangerous.

WARNING

€D TRANSMISSION PARK SYSTEM
Park. Shifl the fransmeasion inke The
“park” position. Tum ey to LOCK

Do not turn or and remase
TWOD HAND BUTTON BYSTEM
remove ignition Park, This system requires wo
hands. Daprada Busion bediw ihe
key while driving sieering column. Turn key o LOCK

anid resmave.

€ Lever sysTEM
Park Depress lever Dcated near
the ignicn. Tur key 1o LOCK
and rémave.

) oNE HAND BUTTON SYSTEM
Park. Depress bumnion located near
the ignisam. Turn key o LOCK
and rmave.

O pusH i sysTEM
Park. Tum key io OFF, push in

Tum hay 1 LOCK and remass
Safety Foundation ) TURN AND REMOVE SYSTEM
3 = LaJolla, CA - 52038 Park. Tum key i LOCK and remave.
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m Controlling Speed

The best way to control your speed is to know how fast you are going. Check the speedometer often. People are not
very good at judging how fast they are going. You may be going much faster than you think. This is especially true
when you leave high-speed roads and are driving on much slower local roads.

FOLLOW THE SPEED LIMIT SIGNS, they are there for your safety. If the road or weather is bad, you may need to
drive below the speed limit.

Montana'’s standard speed limits are listed in Chapter 4 - Driving Rules on page 36.

m Stopping

Be alert so that you know when you will have to stop well ahead of time. Stopping suddenly is dangerous and usually
points to a driver who was not paying attention. When you brake quickly, you could skid and lose control of your
vehicle. You also make it harder for drivers behind you to stop without hitting you.

Try to avoid panic stops by seeing events well in advance. By slowing down or changing lanes, you may not have to
stop at all, and if you do, it can be a more gradual and safer stop.

» SEEING WELL

Most of what you do in driving depends on what you see. To be a good driver, you need to see well. The single
biggest contributor to crashes is failing to see what is happening. You must look down the road, to the sides, and
behind your vehicle, and be alert for unexpected events. At night and at other times when it's hard to see, you must
use your headlights. For example, in many crashes with motorcycles, bicycles, and pedestrians, drivers reported that
they looked but did not see them.

Drivers must be alert to what is going on around them. Many crashes occur because drivers do not pay enough
attention to their driving. Do not take your eyes off the road for more than a few seconds at any one time. For
example, if you need to look at a map, pull safely off the road before you try to look at it. Do not try to read the map
while you are driving.

If you have a mobile phone or two-way radio, avoid using it when the vehicle is in motion. Even with hands-free
equipment, talking on a phone or radio takes your attention away from driving, and can make you less likely to notice
hazardous situations. Do not drive with headphones or earbuds. They make it too hard to hear emergency horns and
sirens.

When passing a crash with emergency responders, someone getting a ticket, or other roadside activity, do not take
your eyes off the road and do not slow down to stare (often called “rubbernecking”). If you take your eyes off the road
to look at something, you could run into a vehicle that slowed or stopped in front of you. Slowing down to stare can
also increase congestion. When you pass roadside incidents, keep your eyes on the road and get past them as safely
and as soon as you can.
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m Scanning

To be a good driver, you must know what is happening around your vehicle. You must look ahead, to the sides, and
behind your vehicle. Scanning helps you to see problems ahead, vehicles and people that may be in the road by the
time you reach them, signs warning of problems ahead, and signs giving directions.

Look Ahead

In order to avoid last-minute braking or the need to turn, you should look down the road at least 10 seconds ahead
of your vehicle. By looking well ahead and being ready to stop or change lanes if needed, you can drive more safely,
save on fuel, help keep traffic moving at a steady pace, and allow yourself time to better see around your vehicle and
along the side of the road. Looking well down the road will also help you steer straighter with less weaving.

In the city, 10 seconds is about one block. When you drive in city traffic, try to look at least one block ahead. On
the highway, 10 seconds is about four city blocks or a quarter of a mile.

Here is how to figure if you are looking 10 seconds ahead:

1. Find a non-moving object like a sign or telephone pole.
2. Start counting (one-one-thousand, two-one-thousand, three-one-thousand, etc.) until you reach the object.
3. The number of seconds you counted is the number of seconds ahead that you werelooking.

You can be a safer driver by looking well ahead. You can avoid the need to stop or turn quickly. The less you have to
stop or turn quickly, the less likely you are to run into someone or have someone run into you.

By looking well ahead, you can save on fuel. Every time you have to stop quickly, it takes time and fuel to get your car
back up to speed. Drivers who look well ahead and can slow down gradually or change lanes can avoid unnecessary
braking that leads to lower miles-per-gallon.

Traffic would flow more smoothly if everyone looked well ahead. Making driving changes before the last moment gives
drivers behind you more time to react. The earlier you act, the less often someone behind you has to react quickly to
your vehicle. By anticipating driving changes, you can drive more safely, and that helps drivers behind you drive more
safely too. This also keeps traffic moving at a steady pace.

Look to the Sides

Because vehicles, pedestrians, or animals may cross or enter your path anytime, you should search and scan to the
sides to make sure no one is coming. This is especially true at intersections and railroad crossings (where you should
always expect a train).
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Intersections

Intersections are any place where traffic merges or crosses. They include: cross streets, side streets, driveways, and
shopping center or parking lot entrances. Before you enter an intersection, look both left and right for approaching
vehicles and/or crossing pedestrians. If stopped, look both left and right just before you start moving. Look across the
intersection before you start to move to make sure the path is clear through the intersection.

Before you turn left across oncoming traffic, look for a safe gap in oncoming traffic. Look to the street you are turning
into to make sure that no vehicles or pedestrians are in your path, leaving you stranded in the path of oncoming traffic.
Look one more time in the direction of oncoming traffic before you turn. Unless prohibited, you may turn left from a
one-way street onto another one-way street.

Before turning right, make sure that there is no traffic approaching from your left and no oncoming traffic turning left
into your path. Do not begin your turn without checking for pedestrians crossing where you will be turning. You may
turn right on red unless prohibited.

Do not rely on traffic signals or signs to stop cross traffic in front of you. Some drivers do not obey traffic signals or
signs. At an intersection, look left and right even if other traffic has a red light or a stop sign. Always be watchful for
red-light runners. This is especially important just after your light has turned green. This is when drivers on the cross
street are most likely to run a red light. Others who may not stop are individuals who have been drinking or other
reckless drivers.

Make sure you can clearly see crossing traffic before entering an intersection. If you were stopped and your view of a
cross street is blocked, edge forward slowly until you can see. By moving forward slowly, crossing drivers can see the
front of your vehicle before you can see them. This gives them a chance to slow down and warn you if needed.

Whenever there is a lot of activity along the side of the road, there is a good chance that someone will cross or
enter the road. Therefore, it is very important to look to the sides when you are near shopping centers, parking lots,
construction areas, busy sidewalks, playgrounds, and school yards.

Railroad Crossings

As you approach any railroad crossing, look up and down the tracks to make sure a train is not coming. Do not
assume that a train is not coming even if you have never seen one at that crossing before. That is one of the leading
causes of fatalities at railroad crossings.

At crossings with more than one track, wait until the passing train is well down the track before starting to cross.
Another train could be coming - one that might have been hidden by the one that just passed.

Look Behind

Besides watching traffic ahead of you, you must check the traffic behind you. You need to check more often when

traffic is heavy. This is the only way you will know if someone is following too closely or coming up too fast and will
give you time to do something about it. It is very important to look behind for vehicles when you change lanes, slow
down, back up, or are driving down a long or steep hill.
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When Changing Lanes

Whenever you want to change lanes, you must check that there are no vehicles in the lane you want to enter. This
means you must check for traffic to the side and behind your vehicle before you change lanes. Changing lanes
includes: changing from one lane to another, merging onto a roadway from an entrance ramp, and entering the
roadway from the curb or shoulder.

When changing lanes, you should:

m Use your turn signal to indicate your lane change or merge. The best way to alert other drivers of your intention to
change or merge lanes is by using your turn signal to indicate which lane you will be entering.

m Look into your rearview and side mirrors. Make sure there are no vehicles in the lane you want to enter. Make
sure that nobody is about to pass you.

m Look over your shoulder in the direction you plan to move. Be sure no one is near the rear corners of your vehicle.
These areas are called “blind spots” because you cannot see them through your mirrors. You have to turn your
head and look.

Light gray areas in the illustration indicate a driver’s blind spots.

m Check quickly. Do not take your eyes off the road ahead for more than an instant. Traffic ahead of you could stop
suddenly while you are checking traffic to the sides, rear or even over your shoulder. Also, use your mirrors to
check traffic while you are preparing to change lanes, merge, or pull onto the roadway. This way you can keep an
eye on cars ahead of you at the same time. Check over your shoulder just before you change lanes for traffic in
your blind spot. Look several times if you need to so as not to look for too long a period at any one time. You must
keep track of what traffic is doing in front of you and in the lane you areentering.

m Check the far lane. Be sure to check the far lane, if there is one, as someone in that lane may be planning to
move into the same lane you want to enter.

m Check for other road users. Remember that there are other road users such as motorcycles, bicycles, and
pedestrians that are harder to see than are cars and trucks. You should always be cautious when passing a
bicycle because the cyclist may have to swerve into traffic to avoid an object on the road. Be especially alert
when you are entering the roadway from the curb or driveway.

When You Slow Down

You must check behind your vehicle whenever you slow down. This is very important when you slow down quickly or
at points where a following driver would not expect you to slow down, such as private driveways or parking spaces.

When Pulling Away From the Curb
Signal, look over your left shoulder, and pull out when it is safe to do so.
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When You Back Up

It is hard for you to see behind your vehicle. Try to do as little backing up as possible. In a shopping center, try to find
a parking space you can drive through so that you can drive forward when you leave. Where backing up is necessary,
here are some hints that will help you back your vehicle safely:

m Check behind your vehicle before you get in. Children or small objects cannot be seen from the driver’s seat.

m Place your right arm on the back of the seat and turn around so that you can look directly through the rear
window. Do not depend on your rearview or side mirrors as you cannot see directly behind your vehicle.

m Back up slowly; your vehicle is much harder to steer while you are backing.

m  Whenever possible, use a person outside the vehicle to help you backup.

m Night Driving

90% of driving decisions are based upon what we see. Because vision is reduced at night, drivers cannot see as well
at night, so SLOW DOWN. Night driving requires that you take into account not only the speed limit, but the condition
of the road, car, and weather. Anytime from a half hour after sunset and a half hour before sunrise, or anytime when,
due to insufficient light conditions, persons or vehicles are not visible for 500 feet, you shall turn on your headlights.

Headlights on upper beam (bright) shall reveal persons and vehicles for 350 feet, and when on lower beam (dim) for
100 feet. At dusk or on overcast days, you should turn on your headlights. Dim your lights within 1000 feet of meeting
a vehicle and within 500 feet when following one. NEVER drive with your parking lights, as oncoming traffic may think
that you are stopped. A spotlight may be used just as long as you turn it off when approaching a motor vehicle.

When meeting traffic at night, avoid looking directly at oncoming headlights. Instead, watch the right edge of the
roadway and if an oncoming driver flicks his lights at you, check to be sure you have dimmed yours. The law not only
requires dimming for approaching traffic, but it is courteous and safer to do so.

Although sunglasses are a big help during daylight hours, they reduce your visibility dangerously at night. Even tinted
and some “photo gray” lenses can detract up to 30% of your night vision. All wearers of tinted lenses should use
caution.

If you have mechanical problems or a tire failure, be sure to slow down gently. Make no attempt to pull off the road
until your vehicle is under control. Then, move to your right, out of the traffic lane as far as safely possible. If at night,
be sure to leave your parking lights on and if your headlights are on, make sure that they are dimmed.

Avoid night driving for long distances. When you are fatigued, stop at least every two hours for a short break, open
the window or cold air vent to allow fresh air to circulate throughout the vehicle, sing or play the radio. If you become
drowsy, pull off the road and take a nap, or better yet, find a room for the night. It's better to arrive at your destination
a few hours later than never to arrive at all.
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» COMMUNICATING

Crashes often happen because one driver does not see another driver, or when one driver does something the other
driver does not expect. It is important that drivers let other road users know they are there and what they plan to do.

m Letting Others Know You Are There

Some drivers do not always pay attention to what is going on around them. It is important that other road users know
you are there.

Use Headlights

Besides helping you see at night, headlights help other people see you. If needed, flick your headlights to alert other
road users you are there. Remember to turn on your headlights whenever you have trouble seeing others. If you have
trouble seeing them, they are having trouble seeing you.

m  On rainy, snowy, or foggy days, it is sometimes hard for other drivers to see your vehicle. In these conditions,
headlights make your vehicle easier to see. Remember, if you turn on your wipers, turn on your headlights.
® Turn on your headlights when it begins to get dark. If you turn them on a little early, you will help other drivers see
ou.
[ | ¥Nhenever driving and lights are necessary, use your headlights. Parking lights are for parked carsonly.
m  When driving away from the rising or setting sun, turn on your headlights. Drivers coming toward you may
have trouble seeing your vehicle. Your headlights will help them see you.

Use Your Horn

People cannot see you unless they are looking your way. Your horn can get their attention. Use it whenever it will help
prevent a crash. If there is no immediate danger, a light tap on the horn should be all you need. Give your horn a light
tap:

When a person on foot or on a bike appears to be moving into your lane of travel.

When you are passing a driver who starts to turn into your lane.

When there is a driver who is not paying attention or who may have trouble seeing you.

When coming to a place where you cannot see what is ahead like a steep hill, a sharp curve, or exiting a narrow
alley.

If there is danger, do not be afraid to sound a SHARP BLAST on your horn. Do this when:

m Achild or older person is about to walk, run or ride into the street.
B Another car is in danger of hitting you.
m You have lost control of your vehicle and are moving toward someone.

When NOT to Use Your Horn
There are several occasions when you should not use your horn. They are:

To encourage someone to drive faster or get out of the way.
To apprise other drivers of an error.

Togreet a friend.

Around visually impaired pedestrians.

Use Emergency Signals

If your vehicle breaks down on a highway, make sure that other drivers can see it. All too often, crashes occur
because a driver did not see a stalled vehicle until it was too late to stop. If available, use your two-way radio or
mobile phone to notify authorities that you or someone else has broken down. Many roadways have signs that tell you
the CB channel or telephone number to call in an emergency. If you are having vehicle trouble and need to stop:

m If at all possible, get your vehicle off the road and away from traffic.
® Turn on your emergency flashers to show you are having trouble.
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m If you cannot get your vehicle off the roadway, try to stop where other drivers have a clear view of your vehicle. Do
not stop just over a hill or just around acurve.
m Try to warn other road users that your vehicle is there. Place emergency flares behind the vehicle. This allows other

drivers to change lanes if necessary.

200 - 300 feet

.

m If you do not have emergency flares or other warning devices, stand by the side of the road where you are safe
and wave traffic around your vehicle. Use a white cloth if you have one.

m Never stand in the roadway. Do not even try to change a tire if it means you have to be in a traffic lane.

m Lift the hood or tie a white cloth to the antenna, side mirror, or door handle to signal an emergency.

Stay Out of the Blind Spot
Drive your vehicle where others can see you. Do not drive in another vehicle’s blind spot.

m Tryto avoid driving on either side and slightly to the rear of another vehicle. Either speed up or drop back so the
other driver can see your vehicle more easily.

m  When passing another car, get through the other driver’s blind spot as quickly as you can. The longer you stay
there, the longer you are in danger of them turning into you.

m Never stay alongside a large vehicle such as a truck or bus. These vehicles have large blind spots, and it is hard
for their drivers to see you.

m Letting Others Know What You Are Doing Generally,
other drivers expect you to keep doing what you are doing. You must
warn them when you are going to change direction or slow down, by
vehicle position and eye contact. This will give them time to

react, if needed, or at least not to be surprised by what you do.

Montana Driver Manual www.mvdmt.gov kl 57



Chapter 5 — How To Drive Safely

Use Your Signals to Communicate

You should use your turn signals before you change lanes, turn right or left,
merge into traffic, pass on a highway or interstate, or park. It gives other
drivers time to react to your moves.

Get into the habit of signaling every time you change direction or lanes.
Signal even when you do not see anyone else around. It is easy to miss
someone who needs to know what you are doing.

Left Turns - Well ahead of your turn, look for any following vehicles, give
signal and move over close to the centerline.

m Signal 100 feet (1/3 city block) or 300 feet (for rural areas) and start
slowing down.

B Look and yield right-of-way to oncoming traffic.

m  While waiting to complete the turn, keep your wheels pointed straight
ahead - if you are struck from behind, you will not be forced into
oncoming traffic.

B Enter street just to the right of the center - do not cut corners.

m After completing the turn, gradually move to the center of your lane and
be sure that your signal has canceled.

Right Turns - Right turns should be made as close as practical to the right
edge of the curb or roadway.

m  Well in advance of your turn, get into the properlane.

m Signal your right turn for 100 feet (1/3 city block) or 300 feet (for rural
areas) and slow down.

m Keep as close to the right side as possible when completing a rightturn.

m Do not make a wide-sweeping turn or cross into the leftlane.

Be careful that you do not signal too early. If there are streets, driveways,
or entrances between you and where you want to turn, wait until you have
passed them to signal.

If another vehicle is about to enter the street between you and where you
plan to turn, wait until you have passed it to signal your turn. If you signal
earlier, the other driver may think you plan to turn where they are, and
they might pull into your path.

Even though vehicles are
equipped with turn and brake
lights, you must know the basic
hand signals as well.

After you have made a turn or lane change, make sure your turn signal is off. After small turns, the signals may not
turn off by themselves. Turn it off if it has not clicked off by itself. If you don't, other drivers might think you plan to turn

again.

Signal When You Slow Down

Your brake lights let people know that you are slowing down. Always slow down as early as it is safe to do so. If you
are going to stop or slow down at a place where another driver does not expect it, tap your brake pedal three or four

times quickly to let those behind you know you are about to slow down.
Signal when you slow down to:

m turn off a roadway that does not have separate turn or exitlanes.

m park or turn just before an intersection (following traffic expects you to continue through the intersection).
m avoid something in the road or stopped or slowing traffic that the driver behind you cannot see.
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» ADJUSTING SPEED

The faster your vehicle is going, the more distance it will take to turn, slow, or stop. For example, stopping at 60 mph
does not take twice the distance as it takes at 30 mph, but over three times the distance. Driving safely means
adjusting your speed to road and traffic conditions, how well you can see, and obeying speed limits.

SPEED AND STOPPING DISTANCES

MI. Total minimum stopping distances with
PER 46 ft.—= perfect 4-wheel brakes on best type of
HR. road surface under favorable conditions.
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m Adjusting to Road Conditions

There are various road conditions where you must slow down to be safe. You must slow down before a curve, when
the roadway is slippery, and when there is standing water on the road.

201 ft.=
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s 383838588

The only contact your vehicle has with the road is through the tires. How good a grip the tires have on the road
depends on the type and condition of the tires and the road.

Many drivers do not pay enough attention to the condition of their tires or to the condition of the roadway. It is
important that the tires be in good condition and have enough air in them. See the vehicle owner’s manual for correct
tire pressure.

Rural Roads

You do not have as much traction on gravel and dirt roads as you do on concrete and asphalt roads. When driving on
gravel or dirt, you must slow down. It will take you much longer to stop and it is much easier to skid when turning.

m  Gravel
Stopping or turning on loose gravel is more difficult compared to pavement because tire traction is reduced. Skid-
ding can occur as traction is lost. A “washboard” effect can occur on gravel roads. This is a series of potholes that
can affect steering and vehicle control. When driving on gravel, you must slow down. It will take you much longer
to stop and it is much easier to skid when turning.

m Dust
During dry periods of the year, gravel roads can become extremely dusty. Vision can be reduced. It is
recommended that drivers use low beam headlights to make the vehicle more visible to others.

m Narrow Bridges and Roads
Gravel or dirt roads can be narrow and have little to no shoulder. Ditches can be very steep and dangerous.
Drivers should look for narrow bridge signs and be prepared to stop for oncoming traffic.
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Curves

A vehicle can travel much faster in a straight line than it can in a curve. It is easy to go too fast in a curve. If you go too
fast, the tires will not be able to grip the road, and the vehicle will skid. Always slow down before you enter the curve
so you do not have to brake in the curve. Braking in a curve can cause the vehicle to skid.

Slippery Roads

Slow down at the first sign of rain, snow, or sleet. These all make the roadway slippery. When the road is slippery,
the vehicle’s tires do not grip as well as they do on a dry road. How slow should you go? On a wet road, reduce your
speed about 10 mph. On packed snow, cut your speed in half. Use snow tires or chains when the road has snow on
it. On ice, you must slow to a crawl. It is very dangerous to drive on ice. If you become stranded in a snowstorm, the
best thing to do is stay in the car because you are more likely to be found.

If at all possible, do not drive when the roads are icy. In some areas where there is a lot of icy weather, special
studded tires are allowed. Because these tires can cause road damage, they are not allowed in many areas or on
certain roads. Studded tires are not allowed June 1 through September 30.

Some road surfaces are slippery at certain times or places. Here are some clues to help you spot slippery roads:

m On cold, wet days, shady spots can be icy. These areas freeze first and dry outlast.

m Overpasses and other types of bridges can have icy spots. The pavement on bridges can be icy even when other
areas of pavement are not. This is because bridges do not have earth underneath them to help insulate them
against the cold.

m Ice can become wet when it is near the freezing point. This makes it more slippery than at temperatures well
below freezing.

m If it starts to rain on a hot day, the pavement can be very slippery for the first few minutes. Heat causes oil inthe
asphalt to come to the surface. It makes the road more slippery until the oil is washed off.

Water on the Roadway

When the road is wet, most tires have good traction up to about 35 mph. However, as you go faster your tires will
actually start to float on a film of water. This is called hydroplaning. In heavy rain, your tires can lose all traction with
the road at about 50 mph. Bald or badly worn tires will lose traction at much lower speeds. The best way to keep from
hydroplaning is to slow down in the rain or when the road is otherwise wet.

If it feels like your tires have lost traction with the surface of the road, you should:

m Ease your foot off the gas pedal.

m Keep the steering wheel straight; only try to turn if it's an emergency; if you must turn, do it slowly or you will
cause your vehicle to skid.

m Do not try to stop or turn until your tires are gripping the road again.

Skid Control — Look and Steer Where You Want to Go

Any road that is safe under normal conditions can be dangerous when it is wet or has snow or ice on it. High speeds
under normal conditions also increase the possibility of a skid if you must turn or stop suddenly. Skids are caused
when the tires can no longer grip the road.

The best skid control is prevention. By judging weather and road conditions and knowing where skids are likely to
occur, such as on curves or bridges, most skids can be avoided. In most cases, skids are caused by drivers
traveling too fast for conditions.

If your vehicle begins to slide:

m Stay off the brake - Until the vehicle slows, your brakes will not work and could cause you to skid more.

m Take your foot off the accelerator to slow and look where you want to go.

m Steer — Use quick hand-over-hand steering to turn the wheel in the direction you want the vehicle to go. As soon
as the vehicle begins to straighten out, turn the steering wheel back the other way. If you do not do so, your
vehicle may swing around in the other direction, and you could start a new skid.
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m Continue to steer - Continue to correct your steering, left and right, until the vehicle is again moving down the road
under your control.

Wildlife and Other Animals

Animals are another dangerous part of driving. Drivers can’t always predict when or where an animal might suddenly
appear in the road. Crashes involving direct hits or swerving to avoid an animal resulted in about 200 deaths
and 26,000 injuries per year, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Large animals such as
deer, bear, moose, horses, elk, and cattle were involved in many of these crashes.

Be aware and look for animals, especially at sunrise and sunset. If you see an animal, slow down and be prepared to
stop. If there isn’t time to stop or avoid the animal, do not swerve sharply. The driver’s chance of getting seriously
hurt is decreased if he/she hits the animal and avoids swerving into oncoming traffic or rolling the vehicle
over in the ditch. Deer, elk, and similar wildlife travel in herds, so always look for more animals if you see one.

m AdjustingtoTraffic

Vehicles moving in the same direction at the same speed cannot hit one another. Crashes involving two or more
vehicles often happen when drivers go faster or slower than other vehicles on the road.

Keep Pace with Traffic

Each time you pass someone, there is a chance for a collision. If you are going faster than traffic, you will have to
keep passing others. Drive with the flow of traffic, passing only as needed. The vehicle you are passing may change
lanes suddenly; or, on a two-lane road, an oncoming car may suddenly appear. Slow down and keep with other traffic.
Speeding does not save more than a few minutes. If you must exceed the speed limit to pass another vehicle, you
should not pass until you can do so legally and safely.

Going much slower than other vehicles can be just as risky as speeding. It tends to make vehicles bunch up behind
you and causes the other traffic to pass you. If vehicles are piled up behind you, pull over and let them pass when it is
safe to do so. You should drive the speed limit or consider using a slower road.

Entering Into Traffic

When you merge with traffic, try to enter at the same speed that traffic is moving. Signal your intent to merge, use
your rearview mirror, AND look over your shoulder. High-speed roadways generally have ramps to give you time to
build up speed. Use the ramp to reach the speed of other vehicles before you pull onto the road. Do not drive to the
end of the ramp and stop. This will not leave you enough room to get up to the speed of traffic. Also, drivers behind
you will not expect you to stop. If they are watching the traffic on the main road, you may be hit from the rear. If you
must wait for space to enter a roadway, slow down on the ramp so you have some room to speed up before you
have to merge. When traveling on a controlled-access highway and you observe another driver entering, you should,
whenever possible, move to your left so that they may enter safely.
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Leaving Traffic

Keep up with the speed of traffic as long as you are on the main road. If the road you are traveling on has exit
ramps, signal your intent to exit and do not slow down until you move onto the exit ramp. When you turn from a
high-speed, two-lane roadway, try not to slow down too early if you have traffic following you. Tap your brakes and
reduce your speed quickly, but safely.

Slow-Moving Traffic

Some vehicles cannot travel very fast or have trouble keeping up with the speed of traffic. If you spot these vehicles
early, you have time to change lanes or slow down safely. Slowing suddenly can cause a crash.

B Watch for large trucks and small, underpowered cars on steep grades or when they are entering traffic. They can
lose speed on long or steep hills, and it takes longer for these vehicles to speed up when they entertraffic.

m Farm tractors, animal-drawn vehicles, and road maintenance vehicles usually go 25 mph or less. These vehicles
must have a slow-moving vehicle sign on the back (see page 16).

m  When four or more vehicles are slowed up, slow-moving vehicles must turn off the roadway whenever thereis
sufficient room for a safe turnout.

m Slow-moving vehicles must drive in the extreme right lane of the roadway.

Trouble Spots

Wherever people or traffic gathers, your room to maneuver is limited. You need to lower your speed to have time to
react in a crowded space. Here are some of the places where you may need to slow down:

m Shopping centers, parking lots, and downtown areas. These are busy areas with vehicles and people stopping
and starting and moving in differentdirections.

m Rush hours. Rush hours often involve heavy traffic and drivers that always seem to be in a hurry.

m Narrow bridges and tunnels. Vehicles approaching each other are closer together.

m Toll plazas. Vehicles are changing lanes and preparing to stop and then speeding up again as they leave the
plaza. The number of lanes could change both before and after the plaza.

B Schools, playgrounds, and residential streets. These areas often have children present. Always be alert for
children crossing the street, running, or riding into the street withoutlooking.
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m Adjusting to How Well You Can See

If something is in your path, you need to see it in time to be able to stop. It takes much longer and farther to stop than
many people think. If you have good tires and brakes and dry pavement:

m At 50 mph, it can take about 400 feet to react to something you see and bring your vehicle to a stop. That isabout
the length of a city block.
m At 30 mph, it can take about 200 feet to stop. That is almost half of a city block.

If you cannot see 400 feet ahead, it means you may not be driving safely at 50 mph. If you cannot see 200 feet
ahead, you may not be driving safely at 30 mph. By the time you see an object in your path, it might be too late
to stop without hitting it. Nine out of ten crashes are caused by errors in human judgment. The following are some
elements that limit how well you can see, and tips to be a safer driver.

Darkness

It is harder to see at night. You need to be closer to an object to see it at night than during the day. You must be able
to stop within the distance you can see ahead with your headlights, which is about 400 feet. You should drive at a
speed that allows you to stop within this distance, or about 50 mph.

Rain, Fog, or Snow

Drive with headlights on so other vehicles can see you. In a very heavy rain, snowstorm, or thick fog, you may not
be able to see much more than 200 feet ahead. When you cannot see any farther than that, you cannot safely drive
faster than 30 mph. In a very heavy downpour, you may not be able to see well enough to drive. If this happens, pull
off the road in a safe place and wait until the weather clears.

Hills and Curves

You may not know what is on the other side of a hill or just around a curve, even if you have driven the road hundreds
of times. If a car is stalled on the road, just over a hill or around a curve, you must be able to stop. Whenever you
come to a hill or curve where you cannot see over or around, adjust your speed so you can stop if necessary.

Parked Cars

Vehicles parked along the side of the road can block your view. People may be ready to get out of a car or walk out
from between parked vehicles. Give parked vehicles as much room as you can. Most crashes between cars that are
parallel parked, and cars being driven on the street are caused by carelessness of the driver pulling away from the
curb.
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Sight-Distance Rule

Drive at a speed where you can always safely stop. To tell if you are driving too fast for conditions, use the “Four
Second Sight Distance Rule.” Pick out a stationary object as far ahead as you can clearly see (e.g., a sign or tele-
phone pole). Start counting (e.g., one-one-thousand, two-one-thousand, three-one-thousand, four-one-thousand). If
you reach the object before you finish saying “four-one-thousand,” you need to slow down. You are going too fast for
your sight distance. You must not drive faster than the distance you can see. If you do, you are not safe and could
injure or kill yourself or others.

4 second sight distance

You can also use the “Four Second Sight Distance Rule” at night to make sure you are not “over driving” your
headlights.

Speed Limits

You must comply with speed limits. They are based on the design of the road, the type of vehicles that use them,
and where they are located. They take into account things you cannot see, such as side roads and driveways where
people may pull out suddenly, and the amount of traffic that uses the road.

Remember, speed limits are posted for ideal conditions. If the road is wet or icy, if you cannot see well, or if traffic is
heavy, then you must slow down. Even if you are driving under the posted speed limit, you can get a ticket for
traveling too fast under these conditions.

» SHARING SPACE

You always must share the road with others. The more distance you keep between yourself and everyone else, the
more time you have to react to them. This space is like a safety cushion. The more you have, the safer it can be. This
section describes how to make sure you have enough space around you when you drive.

m Space Ahead

Rear-end crashes are very common. They are caused by drivers following too closely to stop before hitting the vehicle
ahead when that vehicle suddenly stops. There is an easy way to tell if you are following too closely. It is called the
“Three-Second Rule,” and it works at any speed.

1. Watch for when the rear of the vehicle ahead passes a sign, pole, or any other stationary point. Count the
seconds it takes you to reach the same spot.

2. Count (one-one-thousand, two-one-thousand, three-one-thousand).
3. You are following too closely if you pass the mark before you finish counting.
4. If so, drop back and then count again at another spot to check the new following distance. Repeat until you are

no closer to three seconds away.
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There are situations when you need more space in front of your vehicle. In these situations, you may need a four-
second following distance to be safe.

m On slippery roads - As you need more distance to stop your vehicle on slippery roads, you must leave more space
in front of you. If the vehicle ahead suddenly stops, you will need the extra distance to stop safely.

m  When the driver behind you wants to pass - Slow down to allow room in front of your vehicle. Slowing also will
allow the pass to be completed sooner.

m  When following motorcycles - If the motorcycle should fall, you need extra distance to avoid the rider. The
chances of a fall are greatest on wet or icy roads, gravel roads, or metal surfaces such as bridges, gratings, or
streetcar or railroad tracks.

m  When following drivers who cannot see you - The drivers of trucks, buses, vans, or vehicles pulling campers or
trailers may not be able to see you when you are directly behind them. They could stop suddenly without knowing
you are behind them. Falling back allows you more room to seeahead.

m  When you have a heavy load or are pulling a trailer - The extra weight increases your stopping distance.

m When itis hard for you to see - When it is hard for you to see ahead because of darkness or bad weather, you
need to increase your following distance.

m When being followed closely - If you are being followed closely, you should slow down, encouraging the vehicle
behind you to pass, or pull off on a turnout and allow them to pass.

m  When following emergency vehicles - Police vehicles, ambulances and fire trucks need more room to operate.

m  When approaching railroad crossings - Leave extra room for vehicles required to come to a stop at railroad
crossings, including transit buses, school buses, or vehicles carrying hazardous materials.

m When stopped on a hill - Leave extra space when stopped on a hill. The vehicle ahead may roll back when it
starts up.

m Space Behind

It is not always easy to maintain a safe distance behind your vehicle. However, you can help keep the driver at a safe
distance by keeping a steady speed, and signaling in advance when you must slow down.

Stopping to pick up or let off passengers - Try to find a safe place out of the flow of traffic to stop.

Parallel parking - If you want to parallel park and there is traffic coming behind you, then put on your turn signal, pull
next to the space, and allow following vehicles to pass before you park.

Driving slowly - When you must drive so slowly that you slow down other cars, pull to the side of the road when it is
safe to do so and let them pass. There are “turnout” areas on some two-lane roads you could use. Other two-lane
roads sometimes have “passing lanes.”

Being tailgated - Every now and then, you may find yourself being followed closely or “tailgated” by another driver. If
you are being followed too closely and there is a right lane, move over to the right. If there is no right lane, wait until
the way is clear then reduce speed slowly. This will encourage the tailgater to drive around you. Never slow down
quickly to discourage a tailgater, all that does is increase your risk of being hit from behind.

m Spacetothe Side
You need space on both sides of your vehicle to have room to turn or change lanes.

Avoid driving next to other vehicles on multi-lane roads. Someone may crowd your lane or try to change lanes and
pull into you. Move ahead or drop to the back of the other vehicle.

Keep as much space as you can between yourself and oncoming vehicles. On a two-lane road this means not
crowding the center line. In general, it is safest to drive in the center of your lane.

Make room for vehicles entering on a roadway that has two or more lanes. If there is no one next to you, move over a
lane.

Keep extra space between your vehicle and parked vehicles. Someone could step out from a parked vehicle or from
between vehicles, or a parked vehicle could pull out.
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Give extra space to pedestrians, especially children. They can move into your path quickly and without warning. Do
not share a lane with a pedestrian or bicyclist. Wait until it is safe to pass in the adjoining lane.

“Split the Difference Rule.” Split the difference between two hazards - for
example, steer a middle course between oncoming and parked vehicles.
However, if one is more dangerous than the other, leave a little more space
on the danger side. For example, if the oncoming vehicle is a tractor-trailer,
leave a little more room on the side that the truck will pass.

When possible, take potential hazards one at a time. For example, if you
are overtaking a bicycle and an oncoming vehicle is approaching, slow
down and let the vehicle pass first so that you can give extra room to the bicycle.

m Space to Merge

You need a gap of about four seconds anytime you want to merge with other traffic. If you move into the middle of a
four-second gap, both you and the vehicle that is how behind you have a two-second following distance. You need a
four-second gap whenever you change lanes, enter a roadway, or your lane merges with another travel lane.

Do not try to merge into a gap that is too small. A small gap can quickly become even smaller. Enter a gap that gives
you a big enough space cushion to be safe.

If you want to cross several lanes, take them one at a time. Like going up or down stairs one step at a time, it is safest
and easiest to merge one lane at a time. It is very difficult to determine that all the lanes are free and safe to cross. If
you try to wait until all the lanes are clear, you could tie up traffic and even cause a crash.

m Spaceto Cross or Enter

When you cross traffic, you need a large enough gap to get all the way across the road without stopping. When you
enter traffic, you need enough space to first turn and then get up to speed.

Stopping halfway across is only safe when there is a median divider large enough to hold your car. Do not stop in a
divider where part of your vehicle is sticking out into traffic.

If you are turning left, make sure there are no vehicles or pedestrians blocking your path. You do not want to be
caught waiting for a path to clear while being stuck across a lane that has an oncoming vehicle bearing down on you.

Even if you have a green light, do not start across the intersection if there are cars blocking your way. If you are
caught in the intersection when the light changes to red, you will block other traffic. You can get a ticket for blocking an
intersection.

Never assume another driver will share space with you or give you space. Do not turn just because an approaching
vehicle has a turn signal on. The driver may plan to turn beyond you or may have forgotten to turn the signal off from
a prior turn. This is particularly true of motorcycles; their signals often do not cancel by themselves. Wait until the
other driver actually starts to turn and then go if it is safe to do so.

m Space forPassing

Whenever signs or road markings permit you to pass, you will have to judge whether you have enough room to pass
safely. Do not count on having enough time to pass several cars at once. Be safe. As a general rule, only pass one
vehicle at a time. At a speed of 55 mph, you need about 10 seconds to pass. That means you need a 10 second gap
in oncoming traffic and sight distance to pass. You must judge whether you have enough space to pass safely.
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At 55 mph you will travel over 800 feet in 10 seconds. So will an oncoming vehicle. That means you need over 1600
feet or about one-third of a mile to pass safely. It is hard to judge the speed of oncoming vehicles at this distance.
They do not seem to be coming as fast as they really are. A vehicle that is far enough away generally appears to be
standing still. In fact, if you can really see it coming closer, it may be too close for you to pass. If you are not sure, wait
to pass until you are sure that there is enough space.

Hills and curves - You must be able to see at least one-third of a mile or about 10 seconds ahead. Anytime your view
is blocked by a curve or a hill, you should assume that there is an oncoming vehicle just out of your sight. Therefore,
you should treat a curve or a hill as you do an oncoming vehicle. This means you should not start to pass if you are
within one-third of a mile of a hill or a curve.

Intersections - It is dangerous to pass where a vehicle is likely to
enter or cross the road. Such places include intersections, railroad
crossings, and shopping center entrances. While you are passing,
the vehicle you are passing can block your view of people,
vehicles or trains. Also, drivers turning right into the approaching
lane will not expect to find you approaching in their lane. They
may not even look your way before turning.

Lane restrictions - Before you pass, look ahead for road conditions
and traffic that may cause other vehicles to move into your lane. You might lose your space for passing because of:

m People or bicyclists near the road.
m Anarrow bridge or other situation that causes reduced lane width.
m A patch of ice, pothole, or something on theroad.

Space to return - Do not pass unless you have enough space to return to the driving lane. And do not count upon
other drivers to make room for you.

Before you return to the driving lane, be sure to leave enough room between yourself and the vehicle you have
passed. When you can see both headlights of the vehicle you just passed in your rearview mirror, it is safe to return to
the driving lane.

m Spacefor Slow-Moving Vehicles and Animals

Slow-Moving Vehicles

The slow-moving vehicle emblem, a fluorescent or reflective orange triangle, must be displayed on the rear of
vehicles drawn by animals, and most farm vehicles and construction equipment. The United States Postal Service
also requires these orange safety-triangles to be displayed on all rural mail delivery vehicles. Use caution when
approaching a slow-moving vehicle and be sure it is safe before you pass.

Livestock and Draft Animals and Horse-Drawn Vehicles

Always give the right-of-way to an animal that someone is leading, riding, or driving. Animals are easily scared by
motor vehicles. When you get near an animal or horse-drawn vehicle, be careful and do the following:

m Slow down.

Stop if the animal or vehicle is coming toward you or is crossing your path. Allow the animal to pass.

If the animal or vehicle is traveling in the same direction as you, allow plenty of room to pass safely. Drive at a
reasonable speed.

Do not honk your horn or make a loud noise.

If the animal you are passing looks scared, pull your vehicle to the side, and stop.

Proceed only when it's safe.

Stop if a rider or driver signals you to do so.

This applies to horses, cattle, and any other draft animals.
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Horseback Riders

Horseback riders are subject to, and protected by, the rules of the road. They also must ride single file near the right
curb or road edge, or on a usable right shoulder, lane, or path.

The law requires you to exercise due care when approaching a horse being ridden or led along a road. You must
drive at a reasonable speed, and at a reasonable distance away from the horse. It is illegal to sound your horn when
approaching or passing a horse.

m Space for Special Situations
There are certain drivers and other road users you should give extra room to. Here are some of them.

Those who cannot see you

Anyone who cannot see you may enter your path without knowing you are there. Those who could have trouble
seeing you include:

Drivers at intersections, or driveways, whose view is blocked by buildings, trees, or other cars.
Drivers backing into the roadway or backing into or pulling out of parking spaces.

Drivers whose windows are covered with snow or ice or are steamed-up.

Pedestrians with umbrellas in front of their faces or hats pulled down.

People who are distracted

Even when others can see you, allow extra room or be extra cautious if you think they may be distracted. People who
may be distracted include: delivery persons, construction workers, children, and drivers who are not paying attention
to their driving, e.g., talking or texting on their cell phone, eating, putting on makeup, playing music too loudly, etc.

People who may be confused
People who are confused may cause an unsafe situation. People who may be confused include:

m Tourists, or others who do not seem to know where they are going.
m Drivers who slow down for what seems like noreason.
m Drivers looking for street signs or house numbers.

Drivers in trouble

If another driver makes a mistake, do not make it worse; for example, drivers who pass you when they do not have
enough room. Slow down and let them return to the driving lane safely. If another driver needs to suddenly change
lanes, slow down and let them merge. These gestures will keep traffic moving smoothly and safely.
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CHAPTER 5 QUIZ

1. Atdusk or on overcast days, you should:
A. Drive with your four-way flashers on.
B. Drive with your parking lights on.
C. Not turn any vehicle lights on.
D. Turn on your vehicle lights.

2. You should be cautious when passing a bicycle because:
A. You are going faster than the bicycle.
B. The bicycle always has theright-of-way.
C. Oncoming traffic may not see you pull out to pass.
D. The cyclist may have to swerve into traffic to avoid an object on the road.

3. In order to avoid last-minute braking, or the need to turn, you should look down the road atleast:
A. 2 seconds ahead of your vehicle.
B. 4 seconds ahead of your vehicle.
C. 10 seconds ahead of your vehicle.
D. 15 seconds ahead of your vehicle.

4. Driving at night requires increased caution because:
A. Traffic is faster at night.
B. There is a larger volume of traffic at night.
C. Adriver cannot see as well atnight.
D. Accidents occur more frequently at night.

5. Other than by your turn signals, other motorists can sometimes determine your intention to turn by:
A. Your vehicle positions and eye contact.
B. The turning of your wheels.
C. Youslowing up at the corner.
D. The actions of the car behind you.

6. A good rule to remember for passingis:
A. Pass on the right whenever possible.
B. Drive with the flow of traffic, passing only asneeded.
C. Tryto get to the front of any line of slow moving traffic so that you can see better.
D. Always flash your lights and sound your horn to alert the other driver.

7. “Hydroplaning” is best described as:
A. Your tires pushing water out of their paths.
B. Yourtires actually floating on a film of water.
C. Your tires causing sheets of water to splash on passing vehicles.
D. Yourtires throwing water to the rear, causing problems for following vehicles.

8. If you become stranded in a snowstorm, the best thing to dois:
A. Get out of the car and go for help.
B. Lay down in the car and go to sleep.
C. Keep the windows rolled up tight, keeping the engine running at alltimes.
D. Stay in the car, as you are more likely to be found.
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CHAPTER 6 — PHYSICAL REQUIREMENTS

Driving safely is not always easy. In fact, it is one of the most complex things that people do. It also is one of the few
things we do regularly that can injure and kill us. It is worth the effort to be a careful driver.

Being a safe driver requires a lot of skill and judgment. This task is even more difficult when you are just learning to
drive. Driving can easily take all the ability you have. Your ability to be a safe driver depends on being able to see
clearly, not being overly tired, not driving while on drugs, being generally healthy, and being emaotionally fit to drive; in
other words, it means being in “shape” to drive safely.

» VISION, HEARING, & FATIGUE

m Vision
Good vision is a must for safe driving. You drive based on what you see. If you cannot see clearly, you will have trouble
identifying traffic and road conditions, spotting potential trouble, and reacting in a timely manner.

Vision is so important that Montana requires that you pass a vision test before you get a driver license. This test
measures that you have at least 20/40 vision in at least one eye, with or without corrective lenses.

Because it is so important for safe driving to see well, you should have your eyes checked every year or two by an
eye specialist. You may never know you have poor vision unless your eyes are tested.

If you need to wear glasses or contact lenses for driving, remember to:

m Always wear them when you drive, even if it is only to run down to the corner. If your driver license says you must
wear corrective lenses and you are not and you happen to be stopped, you could get aticket.

B Tryto keep an extra pair of glasses in your vehicle. Then if your regular glasses were to break or be lost, you can
drive safely. This also can be helpful if you do not wear glasses all the time. It is easy to misplace them.

m Avoid using dark glasses or tinted contact lenses at night, even if it helps with glare. The problem is that they cut
too much light - light that you need to seeclearly.

Other important aspects of vision are:

* Side Vision

You need to see “out the corner of your eye.” This lets you spot vehicles and other potential trouble on either side of
you while you look ahead. Because you cannot focus on things to the side, you also must use your side mirrors and
glance to the side if necessary.

» Judging Distances and Speeds

Even if you can see clearly, you still may not be able to judge distances or speeds very well. In fact, you are not alone;
many people have problems judging distances and speeds. It takes a lot of practice to be able to judge both. It is
especially important in knowing how far you are from other vehicles and judging safe gaps when merging, and when
passing on two lane roads.

* Night Vision

Many people who can see clearly in the daytime have trouble seeing at night. All people have more trouble seeing at
night than in the daytime. Some drivers have problems with glare while driving at night, especially with the glare of
oncoming headlights. If you have problems seeing at night, don’t drive more than is necessary, and when you do, be
very careful.

* Hearing

Hearing can be helpful to safe driving. The sound of horns, a siren, or screeching tires can warn you of danger.
Hearing problems, like bad eyesight, can come on so slowly that you do not notice it. Drivers who know they are
deaf or have hearing problems can adjust and be safe drivers. They learn to rely more on their vision and stay alert.
Studies have shown that the driving records of hearing-impaired drivers are just as good as those drivers with good
hearing.
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e Fatigue

When you are tired, you cannot drive as safely as when you are rested. You do not see as well and you are not as
alert as when you are rested. It takes you more time to make decisions and you do not always make good decisions.
You can be more irritable and can get upset more easily. Lastly, when you are tired you could fall asleep behind the
wheel and crash. Here are tips to help prevent you from getting tired on a long trip:

Try to get a normal night’s sleep before youleave.

Do not leave on a trip if you are already tired. Plan your trips so you can leave when you arerested.

Eat lightly. Do not eat a large meal before you leave. Some people get sleepy after they eat a big meal.

Take breaks. Stop every two hours or so, or when you need to. Walk around, get some fresh air, and have

some coffee, soda, or juice. The few minutes spent on a rest break can save yourlife.

Plan for plenty of time to complete your trip safely.

0 Try not to drive late at night when you are normally asleep. Your body thinks it is time to go to sleep and will
try to do so.

o Never drive if you are sleepy. It is better to stop and sleep for a few hours than to take a chance you will stay

awake. If possible, switch off with another driver and you can sleep while they drive.

O O0O0Oo

(e}

» DRINKING & DRIVING

Alcohol is involved in approximately 40% of fatal crashes. Alcohol consumption, even small amounts, increases your
chances of being in a crash.

No one can drink alcohol and drive safely, even if you have been driving for many years. New drivers are more
affected by alcohol than experienced drivers because new drivers are still learning to drive.

Because drinking alcohol and driving is dangerous, the penalties are very tough. People who drive after drinking
risk getting heavy fines, higher insurance rates, loss of license, and even jail sentences.

m Why is Drinking and Driving So Dangerous?

Alcohol reduces all of the important skills you need to drive safely. Alcohol can be absorbed through the walls of the
stomach and can affect your brain within one minute. In your brain, alcohol affects those areas that control judgment
and skill. This is one reason why drinking alcohol is so dangerous - it affects your judgment. Good judgment is
important to driving. But in this case, judgment helps you to know when to stop drinking. In a way, it's like alcohol puts
good judgment on hold. You do not know when you have had too much to drink until it is too late. It is a little like a
sunburn: by the time you feel it, it is already too late.

Alcohol slows your reflexes and reaction time, reduces your ability to see clearly, and makes you less alert. As the
amount of alcohol in your body increases, your judgment worsens and your skill decreases. You will have trouble
judging distances, speeds, and the movement of other vehicles. Finally, you will have trouble controlling your vehicle.

m If You Drink, When Can You Drive?
The best answer is: If you drink alcohol, do not drive. Even one alcoholic beverage can affect your driving.

Many factors play a part in determining how impaired a person will become when consuming alcohol: the amount
consumed; how fast it is consumed; a person’s body weight; food intake; and a person’s general health. The average
person’s body will process one alcoholic drink in one hour. Alcohol can still accumulate in your body even if you
are drinking at a rate of one drink per hour.

One alcoholic drink is: 1-1/2 ounces of 80-proof liquor (one shot glass), straight or with a mixer; 12 ounces of
commercial beer (a regular size can, bottle, mug, or glass); or a 5-ounce glass of wine. Microbrews and craft beers
often contain more alcohol than a 12-ounce commercial beer. Specialty drinks can have more alcohol in them and are
the same as having several normal drinks.

There are ways of dealing with social drinking situations. Arrange to go with two or more people and agree that one
of you will not drink alcohol. You can rotate among the group being a Designated Driver. If available, you could take
public transportation or a cab.
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m AlcoholandthelLaw
You are not allowed to buy or consume alcohol unless you are 21 years of age or older.

If you are arrested for drinking and driving, the penalties are severe. You can be arrested for driving with a blood
alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or more, or while driving under the influence. BAC is the percentage of alcohol
in your blood, and is usually determined by a breath, blood, or urine test. The BAC for a driver under 21 years of
age is 0.02.

If a police officer asks you to take a test, you must do so. You can lose your driver license if you refuse to take a
BAC test. If you are found guilty of an alcohol violation and it is your first conviction, you will be fined from $300 to
$1000, plus court charges; you could be sentenced to 1 to 60 days in jail; and your license will be suspended for six
months.

For second and subsequent convictions, the penalties are much worse.

Open Containers

Montana law also prohibits the possession of an open alcoholic beverage container by a person in a motor vehicle.
Open alcoholic beverage containers, including bottles, cans, jars or other receptacles containing any amount of an
alcoholic beverage must be kept:

m In alocked glove compartment or storage compartment;

m In atrunk, luggage compartment, truck bed or cargo compartment; or

m Behind the last upright seat or within a closed container kept in an area not normally occupied by the driver or
passenger of any motor vehicle that is not equipped with atrunk.

There are exceptions within the law for:

m Containers with an unbroken seal and none of the original contents removed;
m Open containers stored within the living quarters of a camper, travel trailer or motor home; and
m Passengers transported by a hired driver within a bus, taxi, orlimousine.

But remember, it is an offense to unlawfully possess an open alcoholic beverage container within the passenger area
of a motor vehicle on a highway.

m ReportaDrunk Driver

In December 1981, the Governor, the Attorney General, and officials from the Montana Highway Traffic Safety Divi-
sion, the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division and the Montana Highway Patrol inaugurated the “Report A Drunk Driver”
program. Nationally over 23,000 deaths occur yearly as a direct result of a drinking or drunk driver. In Montana,
50% of all traffic fatalities are alcohol related, and over 2100 injuries are the result of a drinking or drunk driver. The
problem is immense and the “Report A Drunk Driver” program is designated to help rid the road and highways of
your NUMBER ONE Kkiller.

The program is very simple. All it requires is everyone’s concern and a phone call. All citizens who suspect a person
of driving while intoxicated are asked to call their local law enforcement agency or the Montana Highway Patrol and
give a description of the vehicle and the direction in which the suspected vehicle is traveling. You do not have to give
your name. Law enforcement personnel will attempt to make contact with the suspect vehicle, and if probable cause
can be determined a stop and possible arrest will be made.

The program works. Current statistics show that law enforcement officials are able to make contact with 37% of those
suspected of driving under the influence, and of those contacted, 71% are being arrested for drunk driving. Two
drinking drivers are being arrested each day in Montana as a direct result of this program. If you see someone you
suspect of driving while intoxicated, or need to report an accident, you may call toll free

1-800-525-5555.

REPORT A DRUNK DRIVER
1-800-525-5555
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» OTHER DRUGS & DRIVING

Besides alcohol, there are many other drugs that can affect a person’s ability to drive safely. These drugs can have
effects like those of alcohol, or even worse. This is true of many prescription drugs or even many of the drugs you can
buy without a prescription. Drugs taken for headaches, colds, hay fever or other allergies, or to calm nerves can make
a person drowsy and affect their driving. Pep pills, “uppers,” and diet pills can make a driver feel more alert for a short
time. Later, however, they can cause a person to be nervous, dizzy, and unable to concentrate, and they can affect
your vision. Other prescription drugs — including medical marijuana - can affect your reflexes, judgment, vision, and
alertness in ways similar to alcohol.

If you are driving, check the label for warnings about its effects before you take a drug. Drug warnings about operating
heavy machinery mean DO NOT DRIVE YOUR CAR OR TRUCK. If you are not sure if it is safe to take the drug and
drive, ask your doctor or pharmacist about any side effects. Never drink alcohol while you are taking other drugs. The
drugs could multiply the effects of alcohol or have additional side effects of their own. These effects not only reduce
your ability to be a safe driver, but the effects could cause serious health problems, even death.

lllegal drugs are not good for your health and affect your ability to be a safe driver. For example, studies have shown
that people who use marijuana — even with a prescription - make more mistakes, have slower reflexes, have more
trouble adjusting to glare, and get arrested for traffic violations more than other drivers.

» HEALTH

Many health problems can affect your driving - a bad cold, infection, or a virus. Even little problems like a stiff neck, a
cough, or a sore leg can affect your driving. If you are not feeling well and need to go somewhere, let someone else
drive. You should decide each time you drive if you are physically able or mentally capable of driving safely.

m Some health conditions can be very dangerous

Epilepsy
A person suffering from epilepsy needs a physician to attest in writing that the person’s condition has stabilized and
would not likely interfere with a person’s ability to safely operate a motor vehicle.

Diabetes

Diabetics who take insulin should not drive when there is any chance of going into shock. Such a situation could
result from skipping a meal or snack, or from taking the wrong amount of insulin. It also might be a good idea to have
someone else drive during times when your doctor is adjusting your insulin dosage. If you have diabetes, you also
should have your eyes checked regularly for possible night blindness and other vision problems.

Heart Condition

People with heart diseases, high blood pressure, or circulation problems may be in danger of a blackout, fainting, or
a heart attack; and, if the condition is untreated, should not drive a motor vehicle. If a doctor is treating you for a heart
condition, ask if the condition could affect your driving safely.

» EMOTIONS

Stress can lessen your concentration on the driving task and emotions can have a great effect on your driving safely.
You may not be able to drive well if you are overly worried, excited, afraid, angry, or just down.

If you are angry or excited, give yourself time to cool off. If necessary, take a short walk, but stay off the road until you
have calmed down. If you are worried or down about something, try to keep your mind on your driving. Some find
listening to the radio helps. If you are impatient, give yourself extra time for your driving trip. Leave a few minutes
early. If you have plenty of time, you may not tend to speed or do other things that can get you a traffic ticket or cause
an accident.
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» SENIOR DRIVERS

Most older drivers enjoy the use of their cars, and they handle them with skill. There is no reason why they should not
continue to drive as long as they are in good health and keep up to date with traffic laws.

Unfortunately, the passing years take their toll on the best of us and sometimes they do it so gradually that we are not
aware of the change.

Deterioration of vision, hearing, and reaction time develops almost unnoticed until we find ourselves faced with an
emergency that we are no longer equipped to handle. The result is an accident that the driver could easily have
averted a few years, or even months, earlier.

This is one of the reasons that the accident rate of drivers 65 and over, in terms of miles traveled, is exceeded
only by the rate of drivers under 24 years old. Frequently reported errors made by older drivers include inattention,
failure to drive in the proper lane, failure to signal or to observe stop signs and signals, and unreasonably slow driving
on busy highways.

m Considerations for Senior Citizens

Drivers over 65 should recognize it is necessary to exercise constant care to ensure their own safety and that of others
on our streets and roads. Traffic conditions today demand more of every driver than they did ten or twenty years ago.

These are the problems that face an older driver in today’s traffic:

B As age increases, hearing and eyesight are lesskeen.

m Judgment is slower. It takes longer to recognize traffic situations and to make the necessary decisions.

m Physical dexterity is weakened. Older people don’t have the same ability to act with speed and decisiveness in an
emergency.

m Older drivers are more susceptible to injury and death. What would have been a minor accident some years ago
could mean injury or death now.

m The older driver is apt to forget that the volume of traffic is increasing all the time, and that new rules and
regulations are being continually introduced.

m To address these age-related issues, please consider the following points.

They are all intended to make your driving safer for you and your family.
Get your doctor’s advice about your driving. If your doctor advises you to avoid heavy or fast traffic or night
driving, follow that advice.

m There are forms on https://mvdmt.gov/forms-driver-license/ to help medical professionals assess your physical
ability to safely operate a motor vehicle. See 32-1800 Recommendation for Re-Exam; 20-1900 Driver Medical
Evaluation; and 22-1801 Report of Eye Examination.

Keep yourself fit and well; drive only when you feel up toit.

Don't drive after taking medications unless your doctor says it's safe to do so.

Be alert at the wheel. Try to anticipate any sudden or unsafe actions by other drivers, pedestrians, or children.
Keep up to date on traffic laws and rules of safe driving.

Plan every trip—short or long—before you set out. Avoid heavily traveled or high-speed routes. Stay away from
routes or zones that bother you.

Don'’t obstruct faster-moving traffic by unreasonably slow driving. If you are impeding traffic behind you, pull off
the road and allow it to pass. Better still, choose another route or a less-busy time of day or week.

Keep your car and its equipment in safe condition. Take your car in for regular checkups.

Keep your windshield, headlights, and your glasses clean. Dirt on any of these surfaces interferes with your
driving vision—especially at night.

m Wear your seat belt on everydrive.
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Here's a chance to check your own driving skills. These are common causes of trouble among
older drivers. If two or three of the points apply to you, you should take the necessary steps to
correct them.

1. Do you need two or three tries when parallel parking?

2. Have you had difficulty in distinguishing between objects, such as a hydrant and a small child, when driving at
night?

3. Does the glare from headlights of approaching cars cause prolonged discomfort to your eyes at night?

4. Do you have trouble maintaining the pace of other cars or do they seem to be passing you all the time?

5. Does it take you a long time to get going again after the light has turned green?

6. Are you getting an increasing number of minor scrapes (such as from your garage door) and dents on your car?
7. Are you missing stop signs, important highway signs, and other traffic indicators?

8. Do you find yourself becoming confused when unexpected or unfamiliar things happen while you're driving?

9. Do you have trouble making out objects that are a few feet away and those that are many yards away?

10. When a car is approaching you on the road, do you have trouble judging how far away it is at a given moment?
11. When you are looking straight ahead in the driver’s seat, do you have difficulty seeing the sides of theroad?
How many of these questions can you honestly answer with a “no?” For your own protection and that of others,

please consider your driving abilities if you have had trouble with any of them.

m Giving Up Driving

Choosing to give up your privilege to drive is a difficult decision. There are many factors to consider when deciding
whether to continue driving, such as no longer being comfortable at the wheel, feeling that driving is becoming too
risky, concerns that your health or medications are adversely affecting your driving, having a close call or serious
crash, and worries about getting lost. Your decision is important because it not only involves your independence, but
also your safety and the safety of others on the road.

Drivers who think they are no longer able to drive safely can turn their licenses into any driver exam station. If you turn
in your license before it’s eligible for renewal (more than six months before it expires), you can receive an
identification card at no charge. If you give up your license during the renewal eligibility period (six months before
expiration), the standard ID card fee will apply.

If you have concerns about a driver’s ability to safely operate a motor vehicle, visit the Forms website on
https://mvdmt.gov/forms-driver-license for Recommendation for Re-Exam (32-1800).
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CHAPTER 6 QUIZ

1. Your body gets rid of:
A. Three alcoholic drinks an hour
B. One alcoholic drink an hour
C. Two alcoholic drinks an hour
D. None of the above

2. Tohelp relieve fatigue on a trip, it is a good idea to:
A. Stop for a rest every two hours
B. Do arm exercises every hour
C. Drive with one eye open at atime
D. Change feet on the gas pedal

3. The main reason why drinking alcohol and then driving is so dangerous is that it affects your:
A. Coordination
B. Vision
C. Judgment and skill
D. Reflexes

4. Stress can affect your driving by:

Lessening your concentration on the driving task
Decreasing your chances of an accident
Causing you to go to sleep at the wheel

Making you more aware of others aroundyou

o>

5. What is the number one killer on Montana’'sroads?
A. Poor or unkempt roads
B. Inclement weather/driving conditions
C. Drunkdrivers
D. Excessive speed
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CHAPTER 7 EMERGENCIES, CRASHES, &
ENFORCEMENT STOPS

All drivers find themselves in an emergency situation sooner or later. As careful as you are, there are situations that
could cause you a problem. If you are prepared, you may be able to prevent any serious outcomes.

» VEHICLE EMERGENCIES

There is always a chance of a vehicle problem while driving. You should follow the recommended maintenance
schedule listed in the vehicle owner’'s manual. Following these preventative measures greatly reduces the chance
your vehicle will have a problem. Following are some possible vehicle failures and what you can do if they happen.

m Brake Failure

If your brakes stop working:

m  Pump the brake pedal several times. This often builds up enough brake pressure to let you stop.

m If that doesn’t work, use the parking brake. Pull on the parking brake handle slowly so you will not lock the rear
wheels and cause a skid. Be ready to release the brake if the vehicle does start to skid.

m If that doesn’t work, start shifting to lower gears and look for a safe place to slow to a stop. Make sure the car is
off the road. Do not drive the vehicle withoutbrakes.

m TireBlowout

If a tire suddenly goes flat:

m Hold the steering wheel tightly and keep the vehicle going straight.

m Slow down gradually. Take your foot off the gas pedal and use the brakes lightly.
m Do not stop on the road if at all possible. Pull off the road in a safe place.

m Power Failure

If the engine dies while you are driving:
m Keep a strong grip on the steering wheel. The steering may be difficult to turn, but you can doit.
m Pull off the roadway. The brakes will still work, but you may have to push very hard on the brake pedal.

m Headlight Failure

If your headlights suddenly go out:

m Stay calm, visualize the road.

Take your foot off the accelerator, beginbraking.

Try the headlight switch a few times and turn on the high beams.

If that does not work, turn on the emergency flashers, turn signals, or fog lights if you havethem.
Pull off the road as soon as is safely possible.

m Gas Pedal Sticks

If the motor keeps going faster and faster:
m Keep your eyes on the road.

Quickly shift to neutral.

Apply steady pressure on the brake.
Pull off the road when it is safe to do so.
Turn off the engine.
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m Driftor Run offthe Road

If your vehicle’s right wheels leave the pavement:
m Take your foot off the accelerator and steer parallel to the road.
m When slowed down, ease back on the road when it's safe. Keep both hands on the steering wheel and steer into
the road’s right lane with a small left quarter turn of the steeringwheel.
m Brake when you are back on pavement.
B Stay in the lane. Panicked drivers over-steer across the road and crash head-on or roll off the other side. Wearing
seatbelts can increase your chances of surviving.

» AVOIDING COLLISIONS

When it looks like a collision may happen, many drivers panic and fail to act. In some cases, they do act, but do
some- thing that does not help reduce the chance of a collision. There almost always is something you can do to
avoid the crash or reduce the results of the crash. In avoiding a collision, drivers have three options: (1) stop, (2) turn,
and (3) speed up.

m Stopping Quickly
Most new vehicles have ABS (Anti-lock Braking System). Be sure to read the vehicle owner’s manual on how to use
the ABS. The ABS system will allow you to stop without skidding. In general, if you need to stop quickly:

With ABS: If you have an anti-lock braking system and you need to stop quickly:

B Press on the brake pedal as hard as you can and keep pressing onit.

B You might feel the brake pedal pushing back when the ABS is working. Do not let up on the brake pedal. The
ABS system will only work with the brake pedal pusheddown.

Without ABS: If you must stop quickly and you do not have an anti-lock braking system:

You can cause the vehicle to go into a skid if you brake too hard.

Apply the brakes as hard as you can without locking them.

If the brakes lock up, you will feel the vehicle start to skid. Quickly let up on the brake pedal.

As soon as the vehicle stops skidding, push down on the brake pedal again. Keep doing this untilthe vehicle has
stopped.

m Turning Quickly

In most cases, you can turn the vehicle quicker than you can stop it. You should consider turning in order to avoid a
collision.

Make sure you have a good grip with both hands on the steering wheel. It is best to have your hands at about 9
o'clock and 3 o’clock positions (8 o’clock and 4 o’clock in newer vehicles equipped with airbags on the steering
wheel). Once you have turned away or changed lanes, you must be ready to keep the vehicle under control. Some
drivers steer away from one collision only to end up in another. Always steer in the direction you want the vehicle to

go.

With ABS - One aspect of having ABS and electronic stability control (ESC) is that you can turn your vehicle while
braking without skidding. This is very helpful if you must turn or stop or slow down.

Without ABS - If you do not have ABS, you must use a different procedure to turn quickly. You also step on the brake
pedal, but then you let up and turn the steering wheel. Braking will slow the vehicle some, and it puts more weight on
the front tires, and this allows for a quicker turn. Do not lock up the front wheels while braking or turn so sharply that
the vehicle can only plow ahead.

Another consideration is that generally it is better to run off the road than to crash head-on into another vehicle.
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m Speeding Up
Sometimes it is best or necessary to speed up to avoid a collision. This may occur when another vehicle is about to

hit you from behind or the side and there is room in front of you to get out of danger. Be sure to slow down once the
danger has passed.

» PROTECT YOURSELF IN COLLISIONS

You may not always be able to avoid a collision. Try everything you can to keep from getting hit. If nothing works,
try to lessen any injuries that could result from the crash. The most important thing you can do is to use your lap
and shoulder belts. Other than your safety belts, there are a couple of other things that could help you prevent more
serious injuries.

m Hitfrom therear

If your vehicle is hit from the rear, your body will be thrown backward. Press yourself against the back of your seat and
put your head against the head restraint. Be ready to apply your brakes so that you will not be pushed into another
vehicle. Your lap and shoulder belts will help minimize your vulnerability to injury.

m Hitfromtheside

If your vehicle is hit from the side, your body will be thrown toward the side that is hit. Side air bags will help in this
situation, but you still need your lap and shoulder belts to help minimize your vulnerability to injury. Your lap and
shoulder belts are needed to help keep you behind the wheel. Get ready to steer or brake to prevent your vehicle from
hitting something else.

m Hitfrom the front

If your vehicle is going to be hit from the front, try to turn your vehicle in such a way to avoid a direct, head-on
collision. This may help to minimize potential bodily harm and damage. If your vehicle has an airbag, it will inflate.
Your seatbelt should help minimize vulnerability to injury.

» ACCIDENTS

Do not stop at an accident unless you are involved, or emergency help has not arrived yet. Keep your attention on
your driving and keep moving, watching for people who might be in or near the road. Never drive to the scene of an
accident, fire, or other disaster just to look. You may block the way for police, firefighters, ambulances, tow trucks, and
other rescue vehicles.

No matter how good a driver you are, there may be a time when you are involved in a crash.

m If you are involved in an accident, you must stop.

m If you are involved in an accident with a parked vehicle, you must try to locate the owner.

m If any person is injured or killed, the police must be natified.

m Itis a crime for you to leave a crash site where your vehicle was involved if there is an injury or death before
police have talked to you and gotten all the information they need about the crash.

You should carry a basic emergency kit that has flares and first aid supplies in your vehicle.

m Atthe accidentscene

m Stop your vehicle at or near the accident site. If your vehicle can move, get it off the road so that it does not
block traffic.

m Do not stand or walk in traffic lanes. You could be struck by another vehicle.

m Turn off the ignition of wrecked vehicles. Do not smoke around wrecked vehicles. Fuel could have spilled and fire
is a real danger.

m If there are electrical wires down, do not go nearthem.

B Make sure that other traffic will not be involved in the crash. Use flares or other warning devices to alert traffic of
the accident.
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If someoneisinjured

Get help. Make sure the police and emergency medical or rescue squad have been called. If there is a fire, tell
the police when they are called.

m Do not move the injured unless they are in a burning car or in other immediate danger. Moving a person can
make their injuries worse.

m First, help anyone who is not already walking and talking. Check for breathing, then check for bleeding.

m If there is bleeding, apply direct pressure directly on the wound with your hand or with a cloth. Even severe
bleeding can almost always be stopped or slowed by using pressure on the wound.

m Do not give injured people anything to drink, not even water.

B Tohelp prevent an injured person from going into shock, cover them with a blanket or coat to keep them warm.

m Report the accident

m Get the names and addresses of all the people involved in the accident and any witnesses. Also, make sure to get
the names and addresses of any injured persons.

m Exchange information with other drivers involved in the crash. Name, address, driver license number, vehicle
information (license plate, make, model, and year of vehicle), and insurance company and policy number.

m Record any damage to the vehicles involved in the crash.

m Provide information to the police or other emergency officials if requested.

m Should the accident involve a parked car, try to find the owner. If you cannot, leave a note in a place where itcan
be seen with information on how the owner can reach you and the date and time of the accident.

® You must report an accident immediately to law enforcement if anyone is injured or killed, or property damage is
$500 or more. You must report to the Highway Patrol if there is an injury, a death, or property damage of $1,000
or more to one person’s property. Accident forms are at law enforcement agencies or available from most
insurance agents. You must file the report within 10 days of the accident. If you are injured and unable to
complete the report, someone can file it for you.

m Driverresponseto emergency vehicles

The drivers of other vehicles must yield the right-of-way and, when possible and safe, pull over and stop at the right
edge of the road when they see or hear an emergency vehicle approaching from any direction.

These are the different types of emergency signals used by law enforcement and emergency vehicles:

m Police vehicle: Siren and/or red or blue flashing or rotating lights or flashing or rotating amber lights.
m Authorized Emergency Vehicle: Siren and/or flashing or rotating red lights or flashing or rotating amberlights.

Montana state law, with respect to § 61-8-346, MCA, requires that all non-emergency vehicles, in the presence of
an emergency vehicle making use of audio and visual signals, yield the right-of-way and shall immediately drive
to a position parallel and as close as possible to the right-hand edge or curb of the road.

On highways with a posted speed limit of 50 MPH or more, vehicles in a lane directly next to a stationary emergency
or police vehicle displaying emergency signals must slow down to a speed of at least 20 miles below the posted
speed limit. When possible, vehicles should switch to a lane farther away from the lane that the stationary vehicle is
in.
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Chapter 7— Emergencies, Crashes, & Enforcement Stops

» ENFORCEMENT STOPS

If a law enforcement officer pulls you over:

Acknowledge the officer’s presence by turning on your right turnsignal.

Turning on your signal lets the officer know that you recognize his or her presence. An officer may become
alarmed if you fail to recognize him or her and might perceive that you have a reason to avoid yielding or that you
might be impaired.

Move your vehicle onto the right shoulder of theroad.

The officer will guide you using the patrol vehicle. Do not move onto the center median. Do not stop in the center
median of the interstate or on the opposite side of a two-lane road. This places both the driver and the officer in
danger of being hit by oncoming traffic.

Stop in well-lit areas when possible. Pull your vehicle as far off the road as possible. When it's dark, look for
locations that have more light such as areas with streetlights, near restaurants, or service stations.

End your cell phone conversation and turn off yourradio.

The officer needs your full attention to communicate with you to complete the enforcement stop in the least
amount of time needed.

Remain inside your vehicle unless otherwise directed by theofficer.

Never step out of your vehicle unless an officer directs you to do so. During an enforcement stop, the officer’s
priorities are your safety, the safety of your passengers, and the officer's own safety. In most situations, the
safest place for you and your passengers is inside your vehicle. Exiting your vehicle without first being directed
by an officer can increase the risk of being struck by a passing vehicle and increase the officer’s level of feeling
threatened.

Driver and passengers should place their hands in clear view, for example, on the steering wheel, on top
of your lap, etc.

During an enforcement stop, an officer’s inability to see the hands of the driver and all occupants in the vehicle
increases the officer’s level of feeling threatened. Most violent criminal acts against a law enforcement officer
occur through the use of a person’s hands, such as the use of a firearm, sharp object, etc. If your windows are
tinted, it is recommended that you roll them down after you have stopped your vehicle on the right shoulder of the
road and before the officer makes contact with you.

Montana Driver Manual www.mvdmt.gov \. 81



Chapter 7 — Emergencies, Crashes, & Enforcement Stops

CHAPTER 7 QUIZ

1. What should you do if your vehicle's right wheels leave thepavement?
A. Stop quickly
B. Pull all the way off and wait until it is safe to get back on theroad
C. Accelerate and steer back on the road quickly
D. Take your foot off the gas and when you are slowed down, ease back on the road when it is safe to doso

2. What should you do if your accelerator sticks whiledriving?
A. Reach down and attempt to pull itup
B. Shift to park
C. Shift to neutral and apply steady pressure on the brake
D. Turn the engine off

3. When involved in an accident as adriver:
A. Do not exchange information with otherdrivers
B. Exchange all information with otherdrivers
C. Deny responsibility for the accident
D. Let the other driver report the accident

4. When approaching an accident scene, youshould:
A. Keep your attention on your driving
B. Keep moving
C. Stop if you are involved or if emergency help has not arrived
D. All of the above

5. Ifinvolved in an accident, a driver should:
A. Stop their vehicle at or near the scene
B. Do not stand or walk in traffic lanes
C. Turn off the ignitions of wrecked vehicles
D. All of the above
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CHAPTER 8 — PENALTIES & DRIVING RECORDS

» LOSING YOUR LICENSE

Many people get into serious trouble with their driver license because they do not learn or understand the
responsibilities of having a license. A license is a privilege and can be suspended, revoked, or cancelled when
the driver breaks the law.

Impaired driving, distracted driving, driving with a suspended or revoked license, and being a minor in possession are
examples of choices that can cause you to lose your license.

To learn more about penalties, visit_https://mvdmt.qgov/suspensions-revocations/ Additional information is on the
Montana Department of Transportation website www.mdt.mt.gov/safety; look for Safety Information and Traffic Safety
Programs.

» YOUR DRIVING RECORD

Your driving record maintains important details about: your application for a driver license, the examination process,
the subsequent issuance, denial, revocation, suspension or cancellation of a license, driver performance, and any
other action taken in response to unsafe driver performance or other legal requirements.

A record features information in five major categories:

personal history information
licensing information
conviction/accident history
driver license sanctions

motor vehicle accident history

For instructions on how to request your driving record, visit https://mvdmt.gov/driving-records/

or call the Montana Motor Vehicle Division Customer Care Center at 1-406-444-1772.
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Chapter 9 - Other Services

CHAPTER 9 - OTHER SERVICES

» VOTER REGISTRATION

You can register to vote at any Montana driver exam station. The voter registration form will be forwarded to the
proper election administrator and a voter registration card will be mailed to you. If you were registered to vote, but
did not vote in the last presidential election, you should fill out a voter registration card to make sure your registration
stays valid. You may visit the Montana Secretary of State “My Voter Page” at https://app.mt.gov/voterinfo/ to check if
you are registered to vote, check your voter registration address, and to find the location and direction to your polling
place.

» SELECTIVE SERVICE

Young men who are at least 15 years old and not older than 26 are required to register with the Selective Service in
compliance with the federal Military Selective Service Act, 50 App. USC 453. An individual must be able to fulfill those
registration requirements when applying for an instruction permit, basic driver license, CDL, or Montana ID card.

If under 18 years old but at least 15 years old, an individual must be able to be registered by the selective service
system upon turning 18 years old. An individual will have the opportunity to register when filling out an application at a
Montana driver licensing exam station.

» ORGAN & TISSUE DONATION

There are several reasons to be an organ and tissue donor, including to:
m save another’s life

m improve someone’s life

m contribute to the advancement of medical science

You can become an organ and tissue donor by:

B requesting to have it marked on your driverlicense

m going to the organ donor website at www.donatelifetoday.com

m calling, toll-free, 1-877-275-5269

Be sure to discuss your participation with your relatives, physician, and friends.

If you want to make changes to your donation wishes or decide you no longer want to be an organ and tissue donor,
visit the website at www.donatelifetoday.com or call the toll-free number at 1-877-275-5269 to update or deactivate
your record.

A minor who is at least 15 years old can request an organ donor designation on his/her driver license. Parent,
guardian, or responsible adult authorization is not required.

» LIVING WILL

If you are 18 or older, you can choose to have your driver license indicate that you have a living will.
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Quiz Answers

QUIZ ANSWERS

Chapter 1 - The Driver License
1.C
2.D
3.B

Chapter 5 - How to Drive Safely

5A
6.B
7.B
8.D

Chapter 2 - Motor Vehicle Equipment

1.D
2.C
3.C
4.C

Chapter 6 - Physical Requirements

1.B
2.A
3.C
4. A
5.C

Chapter 3 - Signs, Signals, & Markings

1.B 5.D
2.D 6.C
3.C 7.D
4.D

Chapter 7 - Emergencies, Crashes,
& Enforcement Stops

agrwODNE
oOwWwOOo

Chapter 4 - Driving Rules
1.C 5. D
2.B 6. A
3.B
4.D
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Additional Resources

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES

» DROWSY DRIVING

Drowsy driving is common on U.S. roads and represents a highly pervasive threat to public health and transportation
safety. Driving while drowsy can have the same consequences as driving while under the influence of drugs or
alcohol. Drowsiness can impair the ability to drive safely, even if the driver does not fall asleep. Drowsy driving usually
occurs at high speeds making it difficult to avoid a crash. A recent AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety study showed
13% of crashes in which a person was hospitalized and 21% of crashes in which a person was killed involved a
drowsy driver.

After being awake for 18 hours straight, driving skills are the same as someone under the influence of drugs or
alcohol. Driving drowsy can increase your crash risk. You often cannot react in time to apply brakes or steer away
from a potential crash. Crashes related to drowsy driving can be very serious, leading to death or severe injuries. If
you drive while drowsy, you may become slower to respond to road and traffic conditions. You may struggle to
process complex information coming from different places at once. You may become careless when making driving
decisions, have trouble paying attention, or actually fall asleep while driving.

More information available at www.aasmnet.org

» EMERGENCY NOTIFICATION SYSTEM (ENS) FOR RAILROADS

According to Operation Lifesaver website: “This is a sign, posted at or near a crossing,
which lists a telephone number along with a US DOT number. The ENS is used to notify
the railroad of an emergency or warning device malfunction.”

More information available at oli.org/training/presentation-highway-rail-crossing-
questions-and-answers

» CHILD SAFETY: HEATSTROKE

According to National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s (NHTSA) website: “Heatstroke is one of the leading
causes of non-crash-related fatalities among children. Vehicle heatstroke occurs when a child is left in a hot vehicle,
allowing for the child’s temperature to rise in a quick and deadly manner. Heatstroke begins when the core body
temperature reaches about 104 degrees, and the thermoregulatory system is overwhelmed. A core body temperature
of about 107 degrees is lethal. Unfortunately, even great parents can forget a child in the back seat. Other risk factors
include caregivers who aren’t used to driving kids, or whose routine suddenly changes.”

More information available at nhtsa.gov/road-safety/child-safety

» TRUCKERS AGAINST TRAFFICKING

According to the Truckers Against Trafficking’s (TAT) website: “Truckers Against Trafficking recognizes that members
of the trucking industry and individual truckers are invaluable in the fight against the heinous crime of human
trafficking. As the eyes and ears of our nation’s highways, truckers are in a unique position to make a difference and
close loopholes to traffickers who seek to exploit the U.S. transportation system for their personal gain.”

More information available at truckersagainsttrafficking.org
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Additional Resources

» REAL ID CHECKLIST

For a current list of acceptable documents, visit https://mvdmt.gov/real-id/.

Name, Date of Birth & Authorized
Presence

Provide ONE

¢ Government Certified US birth certificate
¢ Valid unexpired US Passport
¢ Certificate of Naturalization
¢ Certificate of Citizenship
¢ Consular report of birth abroad
¢ Permanent Resident Card,
form 1-551

Don't have one of these documents?

See Below

Name & Date of Birth

Provide ONE

¢ Valid unexpired out-of-state REAL ID driver license or ID

¢ Form I-766 or Form |-688B unexpired employment authori-
zation document

¢ Unexpired foreign passport with valid unexpired US em-
ployment authorization document, accompanied by a form
1-94 or I-551 stamp

Authorized Presence

Provide TWO, may be the same type

¢ Valid unexpired out-of-state REAL ID driver license or ID

¢ Form |-766 or Form |-688B unexpired em ployment
authorization document

¢ Documentation issued by a federal agency demonstrating
authorized status

¢ Unexpired foreign passport with a valid unexpired US
employment authorization document, accompanied by a
form 1-94 or I-551

Montana REAL ID Checklist (In-person visit required)

m.ﬂmt N *May not apply to all customers

Name Change Documents

(If your current legal name doesn’t match the documents you submit. you must prove ALL legal name changes.)

Provide ONE document per name change during your lifetime
¢ Government certified marriage license

¢ Government certification of marriage

¢ Government certified declaration of marriage

¢ Government certified domestic partnership registration

¢ Certificate of Naturalization

¢ Certificate of Citizenship

& Court order granting a name change

¢ Court certified dissolution of marriage

¢ An equivalent documentation of dissolution from
a court of com petent jurisdiction

¢ An equivalent documentation of marriage or domestic
partnership from the issuing government jurisdiction

Important: MVD cannot accept an affidavit of common law marriage Important: MVD will accept foreign document
when translated

Visit our website for requirements at httpsy//mvdmt.qov/real-id/

Step 3

Montana Residency

All documents must have your name, current physical address (P.O. Boxes are not accepted), and be unexpired or dated
within one year.

Provide TWO, may be the same type

¢ Valid Montana driver license or ID

% Montana recognized tribal identification
¢ Bank statement

o Certified court documents

Expired Montana driver license or ID

Expired Montana REAL ID

Federally recognized tribal identification

Rental agreement or rent receipt

School transcript or report card

Tax document

Utility bill

Vehicle registration or title

Voter registration

For people without a permanent residence, a written

(court order, judgment, subpoena, warrant, etc.)
¢ Credit card statement

% First class mail with postmark

¢ Insurance policy

¢ Montana hunting/fishing license or permit

<

<

4

Lo BRI R =R R R R

Mortgage document
Pay stub
Phone bill

statement on a letterhead from a Montana social services
agency verifying residency status and descriptive address

Finished with Step 1A? Go to Step 2, if applicable.

If you are unable to provide a document from Step 1 or 2, you may request an exception at an MVD exam station. You must complete a form, have a good reason for the exception, and give ad

20-0060 (1123

Social Security Number - You no longer need to provide proof of your Social Security Number (SSN); however,

you will need to know your SSN so it can be verified at the time of your appointment. The name on file with the

Social Security Administration must match your legal name.

alternative documentation.
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History Of The Montana License Plate

HISTORY OF THE MONTANA LICENSE PLATE

What would lead to the need for license plates began in 1891 when the Second Legislative Assembly passed an act
establishing taxation on all property in the state (with exceptions). In 1913, the Legislature recognized motor vehicles
as property and in 1919 provided for the specific classification of automobiles, motor trucks, and other power-driven
vehicles.

Taxation on motor vehicles was put into effect in 1913 for the purpose of raising revenue for the construction,
maintenance, and improvement of public highways. A license fee of $5 to $20 was charged depending on the
horsepower of the vehicle.

Registration of vehicles, including all identifying features of the vehicle and the name and address of the
owner, was also put into effect in 1913. A Registrar of Motor Vehicles was designated, and it became his
responsibility to assign a distinctive number to be displayed on the front and rear of each vehicle. These numbers
were issued in numerical sequence as the registrations were received. Since the state was not yet providing a license
plate, many vehicle owners would inscribe the registration number on a piece of leather or other article and attach it to
their vehicle.

Montana began issuing license plates in 1914. The first plate displayed only the plate number. The 1915-1916
plates displayed “MON,” the year, and the plate number. A prefix number was assigned in 1926, which designated
population centers as they existed in 1914. The first prison-made plates were issued in 1928, and “MONTANA”" was
spelled out; plates prior to 1928 were manufactured out of state. Approximately 127,215 plates were manufactured in
1928. In 1933, the prefix number was revised to designate the county in which that vehicle was registered. The words
“PRISON MADE” were stamped into plates during the years 1939-1957.

The state map, which outlines the standard issue license plate of today, was first found on the 1933 orange and
maroon plate, and the bison skull was first added for a single year in 1938.

The “Treasure State” slogan was first used in 1950 and changed to the popular “Big Sky Country” slogan in 1967.
That would be used until 2010 when “Treasure State” was reintroduced.

During 1944, license plates were manufactured from pressed soybean fiberboard due to a shortage of steel caused
by the war. Goats, cows, and mice reportedly enjoyed the taste of these plates, with some vehicle owners losing their
plates to a snack for the animals.

Steel was replaced by aluminum in 1960. New resources initiated another change in 1967 when reflective materials
were introduced. Adhesive registration decals were first used in 1968, replacing the metal insert tags dating to
1954,

Montana currently offers five standard-issue plate designs and over 190 specialty and collegiate plates.

For the complete history of license plates in Montana, visit https://mvdmt.gov/license-plate-
information/license-plates-history/.

For general license plate information, visit https://mvdmt.gov/license-plate-information

To see the specialty license plates, visit_https://mvdmt.gov/license-plate-lookup/.

To see alist of license plate and title and registration statistics and collected fees,
https://mvdmt.gov/by-the-numbers/.
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Montana Department of Justice
Motor Vehicle Division
Driver Services Bureau

302 North Roberts
P.O. Box 201430
Helena, MT 59620-1430

MVD Customer Care Center

1-406-444-1772
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Go online to www.mvdmt.gov
for comprehensive, up-to-date information regarding:

Fees

Required documents

Driver licensing requirements

Driver exam station hours and locations

County Treasurer office locations and phone numbers

Schedule an Appointment
Online: www.cars.dojmt.gov/

Phone: 1-406-444-1772
TTY 1-406-444-1987

MONTANA DRIVER MANUAL

The Montana Department of Justice, Motor Vehicle Division attempts to provide accommodations for any known
disability that may interfere with a person participating in any service, program, or activity of this document and
auxiliary aids will be provided upon request. For information, please contact the Motor Vehicle Division.

20,000 copies of this public document were published at an estimated cost of $0.21 per copy, for a total cost of
$4294.42 for printing and $0.00 for distribution.

Revised November 2023
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