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PLEASE PRINT

1 
Applicant’s Legal Name (First, Middle, Last) or Firm Name: DL/FEIN/Tribal ID/Corp. ID* 

Co-Applicant’s Legal Name (First, Middle, Last): DL/FEIN/Tribal ID/Corp. ID* 

Mailing Address: City: State: Zip Code: County: 

Residential Address: City: State: Zip Code: County: 

Email Address: Phone Number: 

2 Vehicle/Identification Number Year Make 

Model Body Style Color Weight (if applicable) Ton (If applicable) CCs (if applicable) 

Vessel MT Number Vessel Length Vessel Use Vessell Propulsion Vessel Material Vessel Type 
FT. IN. 

3  By checking this box, I confirm that I have exhausted all steps to locate the existing title or secure a replacement title for the vehicle
on this application.

Who did you acquire this vehicle from? Date Acquired Vehicle Value 

Address City State Zip 

4 
Is there a security interest or lien against this vehicle? 
 No – continue to the next applicable section.
 Yes – Complete Montana Security Interest Processing: New (MV81B) and submit a fee of $8.24 for each security interest or lien.

Please complete the appropriate section (5, 6, or 7) for vehicle type. 

5 

Declare Vehicle Condition – This applies to most vehicles excluding manufactured homes, slide-in truck campers, off-highway vehicles 
not licensed for street use, motorboats, personal watercraft, sailboats, or snowmobiles.  

“Mechanically Functional Condition” means needing only minor reconditioning; the exterior paint, trim, and interior would show 
normal wear; mostly usable “as-is”. This does not represent a “parts car” or a “non-running” vehicle. 

The vehicle meets Mechanically Functional Condition (vehicles 30 years and older do not require a Surety Bond regardless of condition): 
 Under penalty of law (§ 45-7-203, MCA) I certify this vehicle is mechanically functional condition as defined above
 The vehicle value equals or is greater than $1,000, as determined by NADA’s national appraisal guide, the buyer must obtain a

three-year bond from a surety company, authorized to do business in Montana, in an amount equal to the vehicle value pursuant
to § 61-3-208, MCA.

 The vehicle value is less than $1,000, as determined by NADA’s national appraisal guide, no bond is required.
The vehicle does NOT meet Mechanically Functional Condition: A Bill of Sale (MV24) is required to certify the condition and value of the 
vehicle.  
 Under penalty of law (§ 45-7-203, MCA) I certify this vehicle does NOT meet mechanically functional condition as defined above
 The vehicle value equals or is greater than $1,000, as determined by NADA’s national appraisal guide, the buyer must obtain a

three-year bond from a surety company, authorized to do business in Montana, in an amount equal to the vehicle value pursuant
to § 61-3-208, MCA.

 The vehicle value is less than $1,000, as determined by NADA’s national appraisal guide, no bond is required.
Note: The Motor Vehicle Division reserves the right to investigate any vehicle data. 

6 A Manufactured Home must be valued by the County Assessor. If the value of the manufactured home is over $1,000, a surety bond is 
required. I certify under penalty of law (§ 45-7-203, MCA) that the value listed below is correct. 

Assessed Date: Assessed By: Value: 

7  This vehicle is a slide-in truck camper, off-highway vehicle (not licensed for street use), motorboat, personal watercraft, sailboat, or
snowmobile. A surety bond is not required.
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8  Under penalty of law (§ 45-7-203, MCA) the statements made, and information contained on this form (page 1 and 2) are true and correct to the 
best of my knowledge, information, and belief. If signing for a business entity or trust, I have full authority to do so.

Printed Name DL/FEIN/Tribal ID/Corp ID* 

Signature (this is my legal signature) Date 

Notary Use Only Do not notarize or verify unless signed in your presence and printed name of applicant is listed. 

State of County of Signed before me on (date) Notary Stamp/Seal 

By (clearly print name of person signing form) 

Notary signature 

Instructions: 
1. Have a law enforcement officer complete a Stage 1 Vehicle/OHV Identification Number Inspection Form (MV20). For Vessels, please use the

Vessel Identification Number Inspection Form (MV20V). Visit https://mvdmt.gov/vin-inspections/ for inspection information.
• If the vehicle is in another state:

− Vehicles 10 years and newer must be inspected by a law enforcement officer and be completed in Montana.
− Older vehicles must be inspected by a sworn law enforcement officer from that state. If the state allows a third-party to inspect

vehicles as part of their title and registration process, the third party may inspect the vehicle in lieu of law enforcement. 
− The application must be accompanied by a photocopy of the law enforcement officer’s identification card or business card, or the third 

parties credential recognizing them as a third-party inspector by the state.
2. Attach Proof of purchase (e.g., bill of sale, canceled check cleared by bank, invoice, etc.).
3. Photographs of the vehicle must be submitted with a Level 1 Vehicle/OHV Identification Number Inspection (MV20) showing

• (1) the majority of the vehicle; (2) the public VIN number; and (3) for vehicle year 2011 and newer, the odometer at the time of
inspection.

• Vehicles inspected in Montana are not required to submit pictures unless the department requests verification that the vehicle has all
major component parts.

4. For vehicles 1981 and newer, a copy of the National Motor Vehicle Titling Information System (NMVTIS) data report obtained by an approved
provider found on the NMVTIS website, https://www.vehiclehistory.gov/index.html, showing title information from other states, applicable
brands, liens or stolen vehicle information. For more information on how to obtain a report, follow the link https://bit.ly/2TGRkE7/.

5. If applicable, attach completed Montana Security Interest Processing: New (MV81B) and submit a fee of $8.24 for each security interest or lien.
6. If the vehicle is not in mechanically functional condition, attach a completed Bill of Sale (MV24).
7. A Manufactured Home must be valued by the county assessor. If the value of the manufactured home is over $1,000, a surety bond is required.
8. If the vehicle is a slide-in truck camper, off-highway vehicle (not licensed for street use), motorboat, personal watercraft, sailboat, or

snowmobile. A surety bond is not required.
9. The applicant must sign Section 8 and have their signature notarized.
10. Title and Registration 

• If you wish to title and register the vehicle, take the documents outlined above to your county treasurer's office to apply for a title and 
obtain registration and license plates.

• If you wish to only title the vehicle, send the documents outlined above and applicable fees shown below directly to the Vehicle Services
Bureau:

− Applicable fees: $12.36 for light vehicles, trucks, and buses - all weighing one ton or less; $10.30 for all other vehicles (fees include 3%
administration fee per § 61-3-111, MCA)

*DL-Driver License Number; FEIN – Federal Employer Identification Number; Tribal ID – Tribal Identification Card; Corp. ID – Corporate Identification; CID – Customer Identification Number
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