The registration period and the expiration date shown on the license plates for light vehicles are determined when the vehicle is first titled and registered in Montana, § 61-3-314, MCA. Please renew your license plates during the month shown on your license plates at the County Treasurer’s office in the county you reside in.
Have a licensed physician, physician’s assistant, chiropractor, or advanced practice registered nurse complete and sign the appropriate section of the Disability Permit/License Plate Application (MV5).
Complete and sign the remainder of the form.
Mail the completed form to the Motor Vehicle Division.
Permits are valid until the last day of the month and year indicated on the permit; submit the new application prior to the expiration date. To renew: complete the three steps listed above.
Recertification of a permanent disability is not required to renew physical disability plates.
- Light Vehicle Registration and Fees (less than 1 ton)
- Motorcycle and Quadricycle Registration and Fees
- Snowmobile Registration and Fees
- Travel Trailer Registration and Fees
- Motor Home Registration and Fees
- Commercial and Heavy Vehicle Registration and Fees (more than 1 ton)
- Boat, Personal Watercraft and Motorized Pontoon Fees
- Trailer Registration and Fees
- Special Mobile Vehicles
Buying and Selling a Vehicle
As the buyer, you have 40 days from the sale date to transfer the ownership of the vehicle to you. This is done by applying for the title to and registering the vehicle at the County Treasurer’s office in your county of residence. A late fee will be charged if you wait longer than 40 days.
- MT MVD has prepared a handy checklist for you to use when selling your vehicle. View it here.
- You cannot sell a vehicle in Montana unless it is titled and registered to you first. Once your name is listed on the title as the purchaser, Montana law requires you to title and register that vehicle before you can resell it.
- You must provide the purchaser with the most current, properly signed and interest released by ALL of the owners listed on the title. See notary requirements in the next FAQ section . The bill of sale does not replace a Montana title. If the vehicle's title has been lost, destroyed, or altered you will need to obtain a new one by completing an Application for Replacement Certificate of Title (MV7). This form can be filled out on your computer and printed or printed and completed manually. Mail the completed form and all associated fees to:
Montana Vehicle Services Bureau
P.O. Box 201431
Helena, MT 59620-1431
Replacement titles can take up to four weeks to receive.
- If your title shows that there was a lien on the vehicle, you MUST provide the purchaser with a lien release. That document can only be obtained from the lending institution named as the lien holder on your title.
- Private sales are not reported to the State of Montana until the purchaser properly titles and registers the vehicle in their name(s) with MVD. Without proof of sale, you can be held liable for any parking tickets, fines, or fees acquired by the purchaser!
- Always remove your license plates. Be sure to remove your plates from the vehicle prior to handing over the keys. Do not allow the new owner to use your plates until the vehicle can be properly registered. vehicle but DON’T. It’s the purchaser’s responsibility to obtain a temporary registration permit until they can title and register the vehicle. The new owner can use the bill of sale or closed title to prove ownership to law enforcement in the interim.
If there is a business listed in either an owner selling the vehicle or as a buyer, there is no notarization requirement even if there are additional owners or buyers who are individuals.
To sell your vehicle, you must be the owner of record and have the title in your possession. If you don’t have the title, the owner of record will have to apply for a replacement title from the state where the vehicle was last titled.
If you, the seller, are not the owner of record listed on the title, that person will need to sign the replacement title over to you once it’s received. You must then title and register the vehicle in your name prior to selling it.
EXCEPTION: If the vehicle: 1) was last titled in Montana; 2) is currently registered; and 3) is being sold to a Montana resident, the seller (i.e., the titled and registered owner) can give an Application for Certificate of Title for a Motor Vehicle (MV1), Bill of Sale (MV24), or an Application for Replacement Certificate of Title (MV7) and any associated fees to the buyer. These forms are available here on the Motor Vehicle Division website. Associated fees or additional requirements are listed on the forms.
- The secured party will mail to the Vehicle Services Bureau and the owner(s)either:
- a completed RMV37 Lien Release (original document received from Lien Holder) or the generic Release of Security Interest or Lien (MV37A) or
- a security interest/lien release on the lien holders’ letterhead, signed by an authorized representative listing their capacity with the company and a complete vehicle description including the VIN.
- A new Montana title is not automatically issued once the secured parties have released their interest.
- Should the owner wish to have a new title issued without the security interest showing, the owner can submit an Application for Replacement Certificate of Title (MV7), and all associated fees to the Vehicle Services Bureau. The bureau then issues a clear title. Alternatively, the customer can bring their lien release to their local county treasurer’s office and request a replacement title with the lien holder removed.
- Ask your County Treasurer for a Foreign Title Transfer (MV63). Complete and sign the form.
- Mail the form to the secured party, asking that your out-of-state title be released to your county treasurer’s office.
- When the county treasurer’s office receives the secured party’s request and the out-of-state title, you will then complete a title and registration in your local Montana county treasurers office. The New Montana title can then be sent to the out-of-state secured party if requested.
You would follow this same process if an out-of-state party is holding the title to your vehicle.
No. Montana only allows for one credential at a time. You may have only one of the following:
- Driver license with REAL ID
- Standard driver license
- ID Card with REAL ID
- Standard ID card
- Schedule an appointment
- Pre-apply for a license, permit or state ID
- New Drivers can:
- Complete driver’s education pre-application
- View graduated driver license FAQ
- Renew or replace your license or ID
- Update your address
- Sign-up for electronic notices
- Purchase driving record
- Pay outstanding fees
- View Reinstatement Requirements
- Upload reinstatement documents
- Commercial Drivers can also:
- Submit or review their Medical Examiners Certificate
- View TSA background check status
- Downgrade Commercial drivers license
- Find info on transferring an out-of-state license
- Review online driver manual
- Vehicle Registration Renewal
- Search for Vehicle Records
Registration renewals being mailed outside of Montana may have longer transit times.
Registration renewals being mailed outside of Montana may have longer transit times.
- You can apply for renewal or replacement of a license/ID online here
- If your lost license is within six months of its expiration date, you may be eligible to apply for a renewal instead of replacement.
- If you need to replace your driver license or ID card, you may either apply online, make an in-person appointment at any driver license exam station, or you may apply for a replacement license by mail by downloading, completing and mailing in the Mail-in Replacement - All Driver Licenses (21-2000) and pay any fees associated with replacing a credential.
- MVD recommends reporting stolen driver license or identification cards to local law enforcement.
- If requesting a replacement credential with REAL ID, the existing credential must already be a REAL ID.
- Prior to changing your name on a driver license or ID card, your name must be changed through Social Security for at least 48 hours. Once that is complete, you must schedule an in-person appointment at a driver license exam station.
- You will be required to provide documents that show how you went from the name on your authorized presence documentation to the new name you are requesting.
- Applications for name change must be supported by a certified copy of one of the following documents:
- Marriage certificate from the issuing government jurisdiction
- Decree or judgment granting a name change from a court of competent jurisdiction
- Divorce decree or dissolution of marriage specifying change of name
- U.S. Department of Homeland Security, Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS), certificate of naturalization (N-550, N-570) issued to the applicant
- Declaration of marriage filed with the district court clerk where the declaration was made
- Upon payment of the required fees and providing proof of name change documentation, an applicant may also apply for a replacement driver license in the legally changed name.
- To be eligible to renew your Montana driver license online or by mail, you must:
- Hold a license that was renewed or issued in-person. Statute prohibits consecutive mail-in or online renewals.
- Have a valid Montana driver license that will expire in the next 6 months, or your driver license has been expired for no more than one year.
- Your license has not been suspended or revoked in any state.
- If applying to renew your CDL you must also provide a valid MEC or MMC
or be interstate excepted and your CDL cannot have a hazardous materials endorsement.
- To renew in person:
- Bring your expiring Montana driver license. If you do not have your expiring Montana driver license with you, you must provide proof of identity.
- If your name has changed, you must bring documentation of name change.
- Bring in medical and/or eye evaluations if needed.
- If you already have a REAL ID and are renewing, you do not need to bring documentation unless your name has changed. If your name has changed, you need to bring documentation of name change.
- Be prepared to pay all associated fees. Cash, checks and most major credit cards (U.S. funds only) payment accepted.
- You will be given a temporary license and receive your new license in the mail within approximately two to four weeks.
- To renew online, click here
- To renew by mail, please send in a completed Change of Driver License Address - Electronic Record (34-0300). There is no fee for updating your electronic record. This form is available
or at any driver license station.
- If you want your new address on your standard driver license or ID card, you must make an appointment to visit a Montana driver license station and pay the associated replacement fee.
- If you are updating your address for a REAL ID credential, you must make an appointment to visit a Montana driver license station and pay the associated replacement fee.